We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gander Island Cabins
Ranked #8 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We just got home from our stay in the Goose cabin and I can't say enough about how nice this place was. It's located just a few minutes from downtown Luray and the caverns and the view is amazing. The cabin itself is very homey and both mattresses (in the bedroom and the loft) were very comfortable. My only recommendation would be to change the shower head in the bathroom; it didn't have very much water pressure. Overall, my family and I really enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning this summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anhunt617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, PA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Lovely cabins. Very clean. A fun and different place to stay rather than just a plain old motel! Kids loved the "loft"!! My only very small complaint would be that the linens were not put on the beds. You pay extra for linens...which was totally OK with me......but I would have figured that paying for them would include having the beds made up when we got there. Would have been a nice touch, but like I said minor......Other than that highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: Nice alternative to a motel in Luray, VA!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irelands7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Recently stayed in Gander Island Cabins in Luray and had a great time. We visit the area several times a year and this is the 4th or 5th cabin we have stayed in and found it to be our favorite so far.

Price was fair and cabin was nice and clean and just as advertised. Love the layout and it is close to all attractions in Luray (Caverns, Main Street, National Park). If you are looking for a cabin in the area, I would recommend this one.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RVA_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher48, Owner at Gander Island Cabins, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank You for such a great review! We try to advertise how centrally located we are to all the attractions,and you really hit the point home for us.We try not to price gouge and be fair in our rates,we look at what a motel would cost and then add the fact that you have a nice hot tub,river front,fire place,etc and came up with a number,we want to thank you again for recognizing these points.Reviews from the kind folks that stay with us keep us on top,Thanks Again and we welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed at the Gander Island Cabins for two nights and absolutely loved it! The cabins are on a cute farm road and right along a river. When we got in and checked the cabin out, I noticed that there were no linens like I had asked for. I called them, and within a half hour, Lisa was down to give them to us. She was really nice and very helpful. The cabin itself was great. They have satellite television, a fully equipped kitchen (minus an oven), and a great jacuzzi. The location was perfect for hiking in Shenandoah National Park and to go out to restaurants at night if you don't want to cook. Although it was just the two of us, the cabin would be fantastic for a group of people. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgely, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed for just one short night in October and had a wonderful experience. I booked with Lisa over the phone, while she was on vacation no less. Booking was easy and I received confirmation via email which was nice.

The cabins are located a few miles out of the town of Luray on a wonderful piece of property overlooking the river. Very quiet and nice.

The cabin was wonderfully cozy. You walk up to a deck with a couple of rocking chairs and welcome signs. Inside, you first enter into a living/dining area complete with a small table, futon, and tv. There is a cool little loft with a decent double bed. It has a nice little kitchenette and bathroom- all you need to "camp". The bedroom is in the back of the cabin furnished with a comfortable queen sized bed and a romantic and warm furnace in the corner! I almost forgot!- there is a nice, new hot tub located under the cabin. It was perfect for the fall weather.

The other thing I really liked was the guest book which offered hiking, dining, and activity ideas- a nice touch.

I wish we had been able to stay another night!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_and_B618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2011

I really can't say enough good things about this cabin! First of all, the service we received with timely, friendly, accommodating emails from the owners- Lisa and David, was highly appreciated. They're dog-friendly and although their website says the minimum stay is 2 nights, they will often allow one-night visitors if there isn't anyone else booked for the cabin, which was super nice considering other cabins we had looked at were going to make us pay more for just a one night stay.
I wish we had been able to stay longer though. The cabins are located right on the river, and are equipped with canoes so bring your lifejacket if you want to take it out! Each cabin (there are 2) also has horseshoes, a volleyball net, campfire, AWESOME, clean private outdoor Jacuzzi, hot shower, big,comfy queen-size bed, a kitchen stocked with pots, pans, dishes, glasses, coffee maker, fridge, stove, etc, a loft with a smaller bed, a futon, and Satellite tv! Everything was very clean, so clean you wouldn't know that a dog had stayed in the cabin before you!
The cabins are located on the Gander's property (the street is even named after them) right off the 211 (which runs directly through the Shenandoah Ntnl Park) and is just a 5 minute drive to the Luray Caverns and the beautiful, quaint downtown area of Luray. If you go downtown, be sure to check out the Main St. Bakery. It was FANTASTIC. Oh, and the cabins also offer restaurant and activity ideas in their welcome books inside the cabin. Although it only has 3 reviews on Trip Advisor, they have their own notebook (inside the welcome book) FULL of reviews from past visitors. Visitors also gave great trail trip reviews and restaurant tips in their welcome book.

All in all, our stay was fantastic. We really lucked out finding this place. Thanks so much to Lisa and David for providing such comfortable, private lodging with a personal touch!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliciaInCartagena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

A bit of a gamble, with only one Tripadvisor review before us. But it was absolutely wonderful. Cabin was lovely, simply amazing to sit on the deck looking at and listening to the stream (river?), and feeling so removed from everything and relaxed. Having our own hot tub for the weekend was great - not like a hotel where you never know who's going to join you, and then it closes at 10pm. We sat in the hot tub reading for hours.

It's totally quiet -- exactly what we wanted this weekend. There's just the one other cabin, and a beautiful farm on the other end of a big field. You're far enough from the main road that all you're thinking about is the field and water and trees. But just a couple minutes drive away from conveniences like groceries, restaurants, and the fun stuff like the caverns. (Luray Caverns were great, Endless Caverns were closed for the winter, and Shenandoah Caverns -- with all their add-on attractions -- were enjoyably cheesy). The Chinese place in town was tasty, but definitely not what we're used to. And the Mexican place, Jaliscos, over in New Market - really good and really cheap!

Full size refrigerator, kitchenette with everything we needed, bed was pretty comfortable, plenty of hot water, everything was super clean. There's a loft area with another bed, and the futon in the living room, if you're bringing the fam.

We can't wait to go back and experience it in a different season. Just can't wait.

OH and I almost forgot. It's pet friendly, which is great for some people I know. But we're actually pretty allergic, so when I made the reservation I asked Lisa if she thought we'd be okay because of pets being there all the time. She said she'd make sure. Not only were we okay, but while we were sitting out on the deck on morning, Lisa came to clean the other cabin, and stopped over to say hi and make sure we were fine with our allergies. I was super impressed.

PS - there's a guestbook in the cabin, FULL of notes from happy guests. Can't understand why they didn't share their experiences here, too.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vf-mf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
4.2 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
985 reviews
6.7 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
4.3 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
133 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
8.8 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gander Island Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gander Island Cabins

Property: Gander Island Cabins
Address: 1039 Ganders Dr, Luray, VA 22835-5030
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing