We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable, Friendly, Value”
Review of Hillside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillside Motel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable, Friendly, Value”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed overnight at the Hillside recently while working on a trail maintenance crew in Shenandoah National Park. The reception at the Hillside was very friendly and professional, both on the phone for the reservation and in person at check-in. My room was spotlessly clean and in perfect condition; it looked like it had been renovated yesterday. Everything functioned and was in order: bathroom, fridge, microwave, television. The free WiFi reception was excellent, as was my cell phone signal (there was no land-line phone in my room; may be the same in other rooms). Great value in comparison with staying in the lodges in the national park - about half the cost. Luray is five minutes drive to the west; Skyline Drive is ten minutes drive to the east. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank StWinefridesWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    53
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
45
50
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ahoskie
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Friendly, quaint, and very clean. Great value no frills. Would definitely stay again. oOld days gone by hotel but well maintained and very clean. Quiet location with nice friendly staff. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

It was like going back in time staying here, but in a good way. Very simple room, but it had what you needed with no frills. Views from your porch are beautiful, location is great for the national park etc. The pool is really nice for kids, and the staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming, and it was the best value for money we came across on our visit to the usa.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debbiemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We went to Luray last weekend for a race and we wanted to bring our dog. It was difficult to find a reasonably-priced place that allowed dogs and didn't have a 2-night minimum. The reviews of area hotels were pretty awful - and they were quite expensive. Hillside had some good reviews and was MUCH less expensive ($65 vs $300!) so we gave it a go and were pleasantly surprised. We had a nice, quiet room near a large field which was perfect for the pup. There were chairs and tables outside each room and it was very relaxing to sit outside with a book or have dinner. The room was a decent size and even had a little refrigerator and microwave. The bathroom was quite large and spotless. The hotel is right on Hwy 211 which is a pretty major road but it wasn't very busy or loud. The pool was small but looked nice, there was also a play area for kids and a picnic table. Overall, the perfect spot for an overnight trip to Luray. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tintin423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

No disappointments from our recent stay. The place may look like "Bates Hotel", but the people are extremely nice and clean.
We had everything we needed. 1 queen bed with a nice, firm mattress. Bathroom that was clean. Micro/Fridge/Ice Machine near by. $65 wasn't a bad deal. I'd stay here again.
Again, the people who work there were top notch friendly. Good people!

Room Tip: We stayed in an "end" unit. We didn't hear a peep from anybody.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djbleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

One of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. Conveniently located next to the Shenandoah National Park. Also, a short trip into town has a bunch of excellent breakfast diners (try Uncle Buck's) and other attractions. Finally its less then 10 minute drive away from the Luray caverns.

The rooms were clean everyday. The pool is very nice and the staff is amazing. I locked myself out of the room one night and they had it open with in about 5 minutes even though the owner had to drive down from his house.

About the only complaint could be the rooms are a little dated and the shower was very strong (almost painful at times). Still, we had a fridge, microwave, and coffee. I could easily look past the small things.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TehMightyPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

This motel may not look like much from the outside but don't be fooled, it is great! It is so clean and the staff was so helpful in accommodating our large group on a moments notice. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this place over the other chains in the area. The location is great too! Hillside Motel saved my weekend with a great place to stay! Oh, the pool is really clean too. These people obviously care.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mshake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
3.4 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
985 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
2.0 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
47 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
14.6 mi away
Quality Inn Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Motel

Property: Hillside Motel
Address: 1460 US 211 East, Luray, VA 22835-4634
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family ran (3rd generation) family friendly motel. We are nestled between the Blue Ridge and Massanutten Mountains. Only minutes from the Thornton Gap entrance of the Skyline Drive. We are conveniently located near all there is to do, see and enjoy in the Shenandoah Valley! Please contact us for all of your traveling needs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing