We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price, clean room”
Review of Hillside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillside Motel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great price, clean room”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A typical motel just a couple of miles from the Shenandoah National Park. Our room was clean with all the basic necessities, and also free wifi. It is a good choice if the lodging inside the park is full.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSM001, Owner at Hillside Motel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you so much! Our staff works hard to ensure our guests have clean, comfortable rooms. We are so happy that you had an enjoyable stay at the Hillside Motel here in Luray. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    52
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
45
45
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed 1 night at Hillside during a trip through the Shenandoah Valley area to see the fall foliage. The 2 double bed room was pine paneled and the furniture and bedspreads were dark in color and somewhat dated. It was like a motel from yesteryear. But everything was clean, and the owner was friendly. There was a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, tv, and free wifi. I saw the outside pool but the weather was too cool for swimming. An ice machine was located by the office and chairs were on the porch to enjoy the pretty view. The room rate was economical for the area, and it was conveniently located to Luray Caverns and the Skyline Drive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GinH53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

I have driven by this property many times when visiting Shenandoah National Park but never stayed there until this weekend. I love little motels where you can park in front of your door and don't have to drag luggage up a lot of steps. The room was spacious and spotless and quiet. The water was hot...a plus after hiking all day. There was a microwave and fridge in the room and a full size coffee maker, although I think you have to supply your own coffee because I did not see any. This was not a big deal to me as the room was pleasant and economical and close to the Park and Luray Caverns. Is the decor a little dated? Probably, but it was well cared for and clean. When my grand-daughter forgot a cherished stuffed animal it was rescued and held for us to pick up on the way back. I will definitely be staying there again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank GerriS63_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vestal, New York
Level Contributor
183 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Defintely no frills but well located near entrance to the national park. Room was very basic but clean. Only issue was that the toilet only flushed when it wanted to apparently (in other words, not all the time - it behaved when I tried to show the problem to the proprietor). Still a good value and option for the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rjr0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed overnight at the Hillside recently while working on a trail maintenance crew in Shenandoah National Park. The reception at the Hillside was very friendly and professional, both on the phone for the reservation and in person at check-in. My room was spotlessly clean and in perfect condition; it looked like it had been renovated yesterday. Everything functioned and was in order: bathroom, fridge, microwave, television. The free WiFi reception was excellent, as was my cell phone signal (there was no land-line phone in my room; may be the same in other rooms). Great value in comparison with staying in the lodges in the national park - about half the cost. Luray is five minutes drive to the west; Skyline Drive is ten minutes drive to the east. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank StWinefridesWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahoskie
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Friendly, quaint, and very clean. Great value no frills. Would definitely stay again. oOld days gone by hotel but well maintained and very clean. Quiet location with nice friendly staff. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

It was like going back in time staying here, but in a good way. Very simple room, but it had what you needed with no frills. Views from your porch are beautiful, location is great for the national park etc. The pool is really nice for kids, and the staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming, and it was the best value for money we came across on our visit to the usa.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debbiemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
3.4 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#2 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
3.3 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
15.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Motel

Property: Hillside Motel
Address: 1460 US 211 East, Luray, VA 22835-4634
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family ran (3rd generation) family friendly motel. We are nestled between the Blue Ridge and Massanutten Mountains. Only minutes from the Thornton Gap entrance of the Skyline Drive. We are conveniently located near all there is to do, see and enjoy in the Shenandoah Valley! Please contact us for all of your traveling needs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing