We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#2 Really?”
Review of Hillside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillside Motel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This is a low budget inn. All rooms face a 4 lane highway. 1 very small window. Very small TV. Wifi was not working, nor was the pool open. The bed had a rubber sheet on it that was noisy. I got my money back and went down the road to the Days Inn which for the same amt if money was much better.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
4  Thank Angiebaby60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSM001, Owner at Hillside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We truly value the opinions of our customers. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission.

You are correct that our WiFi was down the weekend you visited. It was communicated to you during the reservation that service had been called and WiFi would not be available during your stay. We are truly sorry for any misunderstanding in regards to the WiFi.

As for the pool, there was no inquiry about that during the reservation but our webpage clearly states that the pool is under renovation. The pool is expected to be open by the end of June.

Our beds have cotton quilted bed padding , along with 100% cotton sheets for the comfort of our guests. We are not familiar with the “rubber sheet” that you refer too.

Our televisions are standard size of 24 inches and upgraded this year providing Direct TV Satellite service. We are located directly on US Hwy 211 East, along with the other hotel that you decided to stay at due to the pool not being open.

When you requested your money back, we provided a full refund with no hassles. We are truly sorry that you weren't satisfied.

If you come back to our motel I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly again, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

This motel was built in 1942 according to the owners who are the 3rd generation to run this quiet little place. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was huge and could have fit another bed in it if you had to. For the price it was a great place to stay for the night.

Room Tip: All rooms are in a straight line so the end rooms tend to be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSM001, Owner at Hillside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

We appreciate you taking interest and sharing a little history of our family operated motel. We do our best in trying to provide our guest with the best comfort on their travels. Again, thank you so much for the positive review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you are looking for a great central location between the Luray Caverns and the entrance to Shenandoah National Park Skyline Drive, this is your spot.
Stayed Friday and Sunday night over Memorial Day Weekend and had a very good stay. The cost is the best in the area and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Rooms are very basic, but do come with DirecTV and a mini fridge, for the low price it's perfect!
Wifi is complimentary as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BCon17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSM001, Owner at Hillside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

We appreciate your kind words and delighted that you were happy with your stay at the Hillside Motel. If you are ever in the area again, we hope you choose us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A typical motel just a couple of miles from the Shenandoah National Park. Our room was clean with all the basic necessities, and also free wifi. It is a good choice if the lodging inside the park is full.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSM001, Owner at Hillside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you so much! Our staff works hard to ensure our guests have clean, comfortable rooms. We are so happy that you had an enjoyable stay at the Hillside Motel here in Luray. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed 1 night at Hillside during a trip through the Shenandoah Valley area to see the fall foliage. The 2 double bed room was pine paneled and the furniture and bedspreads were dark in color and somewhat dated. It was like a motel from yesteryear. But everything was clean, and the owner was friendly. There was a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, tv, and free wifi. I saw the outside pool but the weather was too cool for swimming. An ice machine was located by the office and chairs were on the porch to enjoy the pretty view. The room rate was economical for the area, and it was conveniently located to Luray Caverns and the Skyline Drive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GinH53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I have driven by this property many times when visiting Shenandoah National Park but never stayed there until this weekend. I love little motels where you can park in front of your door and don't have to drag luggage up a lot of steps. The room was spacious and spotless and quiet. The water was hot...a plus after hiking all day. There was a microwave and fridge in the room and a full size coffee maker, although I think you have to supply your own coffee because I did not see any. This was not a big deal to me as the room was pleasant and economical and close to the Park and Luray Caverns. Is the decor a little dated? Probably, but it was well cared for and clean. When my grand-daughter forgot a cherished stuffed animal it was rescued and held for us to pick up on the way back. I will definitely be staying there again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
8  Thank GerriS63_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Defintely no frills but well located near entrance to the national park. Room was very basic but clean. Only issue was that the toilet only flushed when it wanted to apparently (in other words, not all the time - it behaved when I tried to show the problem to the proprietor). Still a good value and option for the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rjr0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
3.4 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,021 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
59 reviews
2 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
15 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
5.5 mi away
Shenandoah Lodge
Shenandoah Lodge
#6 of 9 in Luray
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Motel

Address: 1460 US Highway 211 E, Luray, VA 22835-4634
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family ran (3rd generation) family friendly motel. We are nestled between the Blue Ridge and Massanutten Mountains. Only minutes from the Thornton Gap entrance of the Skyline Drive. We are conveniently located near all there is to do, see and enjoy in the Shenandoah Valley! Please contact us for all of your traveling needs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing