We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hillside Motel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Luray
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Skyland(Shenandoah National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
57
55
20
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
55
20
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsskyline driveshenandoah national parkreasonable ratesneeded a place to staymicrowave and coffee makerbig bathroomthornton gapdirect tvconvenient locationnice poolbeds were very comfortableadjoining roomswould stay here againgreat rateno hot watersmall fridgefront porch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This was a lovely little place to spend the night!

The staff was excellent! Rooms were VERY VERY CLEAN! It was quiet (even though it was off a main road) and the rooms had air conditioning and cooled off quickly. Couldn't ask for more in a motel.

Great little motel and great price! :)

Room Tip: Call ahead! Make sure you call before 8:30pm if you are staying that night. They leave the office by 9pm but if you are after that time, they will make arrangements to get you your room even though the office is closed.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillsideMotelLuray, Manager at Hillside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hillside Motel. The staff works hard and takes pride ensuring the rooms are clean and comfortable for the guests. We hope if you are ever back in the area you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have been staying at the Hillside for the past 12 years when we do our volunteer work in the National Park. Always clean and comfortable at a reasonable price. The owners and staff are very friendly and willing to accommodate any request.

Room Tip: Have stayed in most of the rooms but enjoyed numbers 1 and 19 the best.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Glenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillsideMotelLuray, Manager at Hillside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you so much for the kind words. We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Drove up to Shenandoah National Park on a last minute whim. Tent and sleeping bag in trunk but decided to check options. Camping = $20 + setting up tent and not very comfortable air mattress. Park Lodge = $140. Days Inn = $90. Hillside Motel = $60. No it is not fancy, but it is more than good enough. Road noise was died down later in the evening and the bed was acceptable. I had a good nights rest and was able to hit the hiking trails at sunup the next morning.

No, it does not come close to a fancy or even a chain hotel in comforts or amenities. But it costs 1/3 less and is a whole lot better than sleeping on the ground in a tent. I will definitely be back for more weekend hiking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WoodbridgeVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillsideMotelLuray, Manager at Hillside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Hillside Motel. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your stay. Looking forward to seeing you again on your next hiking adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This is a low budget inn. All rooms face a 4 lane highway. 1 very small window. Very small TV. Wifi was not working, nor was the pool open. The bed had a rubber sheet on it that was noisy. I got my money back and went down the road to the Days Inn which for the same amt if money was much better.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
4  Thank Angiebaby60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSM001, Owner at Hillside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We truly value the opinions of our customers. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission.

You are correct that our WiFi was down the weekend you visited. It was communicated to you during the reservation that service had been called and WiFi would not be available during your stay. We are truly sorry for any misunderstanding in regards to the WiFi.

As for the pool, there was no inquiry about that during the reservation but our webpage clearly states that the pool is under renovation. The pool is expected to be open by the end of June.

Our beds have cotton quilted bed padding , along with 100% cotton sheets for the comfort of our guests. We are not familiar with the “rubber sheet” that you refer too.

Our televisions are standard size of 24 inches and upgraded this year providing Direct TV Satellite service. We are located directly on US Hwy 211 East, along with the other hotel that you decided to stay at due to the pool not being open.

When you requested your money back, we provided a full refund with no hassles. We are truly sorry that you weren't satisfied.

If you come back to our motel I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly again, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This motel was built in 1942 according to the owners who are the 3rd generation to run this quiet little place. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was huge and could have fit another bed in it if you had to. For the price it was a great place to stay for the night.

Room Tip: All rooms are in a straight line so the end rooms tend to be a little quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSM001, Owner at Hillside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

We appreciate you taking interest and sharing a little history of our family operated motel. We do our best in trying to provide our guest with the best comfort on their travels. Again, thank you so much for the positive review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews