We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cabin in the woods”
River access cabin with beautiful mountain views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
River access cabin with beautiful mountain views
Go fishing or canoeing right from the property (you cannot see the river from the house) Large jetted hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
95 reviews
River access cabin with beautiful mountain views
Go fishing or canoeing right from the property (you cannot see the river from the house)
Large jetted hot tub
Spacious living room with large fireplace and flat screen, hi-def TV
Tournament size pool table in basement
Tournament size ping pong & foosball tables
Full kitchen including a dishwasher
2 large bedrooms, each w/ queen bed and hi-def TV
2 large bedrooms, each w/ queen bed and hi-def TV
Beautiful yard between the cabin and the river
Picnic table down by the river (you cannot see river from house)
Unlimited firewood
The right equipment for a nice stay
Screened in porch for evening mountain views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 95 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Ammar A
1 review
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 29 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

I have always wanted to spend Thanksgiving in the mountains. We chose the house based on the amenities and scenery. I was very pleased with the house. There are a few things that might be misleading, but they did not bother me. The river is not right behind the house, but it's just a short walk and when you're at the mountains one expects to explore and breathe the fresh air. The kitchen had everything you needed but very worn out and used, could use new stuff. It is in a residential neighborhood meaning you can't just walk out and walk around, unless you stay in backyard area. There are 2 dogs that ran up on us, apparently they live in neighborhood. Over all it was a nice stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2017
Thanks for the feedback, Ammar. I'm a bit confused by the 3 stars here. As the guest points out, the house and yard are nice and comfortable and everything is as advertised. The property has direct river shoreline (though the house is not right next to the water) and we do not say otherwise. I'm glad you had a nice time, but I think 3 stars is a bit misleading?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fantastic cabin in the woods”
Reviewed 21 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This cabin is just as described and perfect for a getaway in the mountains. We loved hiking nearby waterfalls in Skyline Drive. We enjoyed staying in the cabin by the fireplace. We played pool and ping pong downstairs. We walked our dogs by the water everyday. The hot tub at night was an extra treat. This cabin is clean, comfortable, and fully equipped with everything you'd ever want. I also loved the bear cub pictures inside. Perfect and we will be booking this cabin again and again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deerbeavi...
Spotsylvania, Virginia
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The cabin was everything and more than me and my wife expected, Very clean, and easy to get to, Excellent spot for anniversary

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wvpresser
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Break from reality”
Reviewed 25 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed here for a week in October. We really enjoyed our stay and had a great family vacation. It was very quiet and we enjoyed the break. The cabin was wonderful and the two bedrooms were perfect for our family. Our son enjoyed having his own room and his own tv. We had no issue with walk to the river and we fished & used the canoes. We used the red wagon to take our gear down to the water which worked well. The screened porch was nice because there were lots of gnats outside. We enjoyed sitting out there and watching the birds & deer. The ping pong table and pool table were big hits. Had lots of fun with those. We did hike at the State park nearby. Nice trails and fishing at the park. The a/c worked well as did the fireplace. Loved the hot tub. I did do a lot of cooking because there aren’t a lot of restaurants nearby. Staff was wonderful and provided a blow dryer and a no slip bath mat upon request.
We were a little concerned about the neighborhood dogs - one that was off leash. We were just super careful with our dog to avoid any issues.
But great location & property. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2017
Hey thanks for telling others and the kind words! We hope you do come back! We'll see you next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
retas1025
Warrenton, Virginia
1 review
“Bear Bluff”
Reviewed 6 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Recently rented this cabin for the weekend and it was great! Clean, great river access, fire pit was very nice, will definitely be back and would recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2017
Winston, thanks for telling others. When you come back, ask us about a repeat guest discount!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken V
Slinger, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Photos embellish cabin”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Rented this cabin for 4 nights while visiting the area. Love the remote location. The river can not even be seen from the cabin. The photos are misleading. The place could use a good cleaning including the blinds. Washer left a bad smell in our clothes. The enclosed porch is unusable given one screen is out and the door is cockeyed. We made it work but not worth the price in my eyes.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2017
This is a dishonest review based on bad assumptions that Ken made ahead of time. There is not a single photo that is misleading. The photos we show are exactly what is there. The photos of the river are exactly what the river looks like when you walk down to the river's edge. Nowhere do we say or imply that "the river can be seen from the cabin", nor do the photos show that. We are careful to say that it's a "river access" property" and the house is not river front. We also say that to guests who ask about renting in the area. Ken made some false assumptions ahead of time and didn't ask any questions or look at the information/mapping we provide. We haven't change photos since creating this listing 8 years ago, so why haven't other guests/reviewers mentioned that the photos are misleading? We know about the porch having a missing screen - that just happened and is scheduled to be replaced soon. In terms of cleanliness, again that is a dishonest assessment. We pride ourselves on our cleaning - simply read our almost 500 other reviews across all our cabins. We are routinely complimented on cleanliness.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Has everything you need for a great stay!”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Bear Bluff is convenient to great attractions: 30 mins from Front Royal and both entrances to Skyline Drive (Thornton Gap and Front Royal), 20 mins from Shenandoah River Outfitters, 10 mins from caverns and downtown Luray. Also convenient (20-30 mins) to takeout places, restaurants, Walmart, grocery, etc, in both Luray and Front Royal.

The setting is peaceful, bucolic, and is set back along a series of gravel roads. One of my favorite things to do was have breakfast out on the screened in porch and just relax and take in the view. We routinely saw blue jays, deer, and bunnies. It was so quiet.

It's about a 300 yard walk along the back of the property to the river (private access), where there are canoes, a firepit (there's also a firepit just a few steps outside the backyard), a picnic table, and lovely views of the river. Pack bug spray, though! There's a good gap in the trees on either side of the backyard so we could stargaze (we went during the Perseid meteor showers and had a great view...saw part of the Milky Way, too).

The cabin is clean and comfortable, and has everything you need! Full kitchen (pots, pans, utensils, paper towels, all the appliances you'd expect), comfy beds, linens/towels, washer/dryer, and more TV/DVD players (3) than we have in our own house! Fireplace in the living room. Plenty of firewood in a dry location under the screened in porch.

The cabin also has roomy spaces for relaxing: dining, living, and rec room areas. There are board/card games (under the coffee table), foosball, ping pong, and billiards tables in the rec room, a full binder of DVDs with all kinds of movies to choose from, a hot tub, and two grills (gas and charcoal). There's also wifi, which wasn't something we thought we'd appreciate until we realized our cell phones weren't getting enough of a signal to work properly, so it was good to be able to jump on the wifi. Also a landline phone was available for our use, which was nice.

Just a few hiccups during our stay: one of the screens had blown out in the wind before we got there and they didn't have time to fix it in between guests, so we rigged a cover for the opening so we could sit out at night (mosquitoes love me, unfortunately). Terri (manager/housekeeper) was awesome, coming out and helping us put it up...she came out originally to kill the wasp nest that was on the porch...I'm a chicken when it comes to those things, LOL.

Also, watch your step on the front deck, the surface is badly warped and splintered. Don't walk barefoot on there. I got a painful splinter in my foot just walking the few steps from the front door to the hot tub in my bare feet. I imagine they'll be replacing that during the off season. The proprietors strike me as very on-top of stuff, and they have been very friendly/responsive to our questions leading up to our stay.

The clothes dryer was also giving us trouble and not starting, but my husband's guessing it is an issue with the door sensor. If the touch pad doesn't respond (it gives a little buzz but doesn't start when you push "start"), try re-opening the door and giving it a hard close again. Another time we got it to work by uplugging it and then plugging it back in.

But these are minor things compared to all the wonderful amenities the cabin provides. It's a great value for the price. We had a very enjoyable stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Kathy, what a wonderful review - thank you! Very kind words, but also some great feedback for us to work on. The screen has already been fixed and we'll address the deck boards ASAP.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing