We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing Retreat”
River access cabin with beautiful mountain views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
River access cabin with beautiful mountain views
Go fishing or canoeing right from the property (you cannot see the river from the house) Spacious living room w/ fireplace and hi-def TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
84 reviews
River access cabin with beautiful mountain views
Go fishing or canoeing right from the property (you cannot see the river from the house)
Spacious living room w/ fireplace and hi-def TV
Tournament size pool table in game room
Beautiful king master bedroom with armoire & HDTV
Large hot tub with 40 jets
Full kitchen including dishwasher
Tournament size ping pong & foosball tables
Huge campfire pit
2nd bedroom with queen and twin beds & HDTV
3rd bedroom with queen and twin bunks & HDTV
Fully laundry service
2 large canoes w/ oars and life jackets
Outdoor grill
Unlimited firewood
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kellie F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing Retreat”
Reviewed 23 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I took our 2 dogs here for a little rest and relaxation and were joined by my teenage daughter later in our stay at Bear Meadows. The cabin was spacious and comfortable. Upon arrival the gas fireplace was not working so we called and a very nice woman(I think her name was Terry) who responded to the cabin within the hour and although she was not able to fix it she arranged to have the handy man out the next morning(at our request) to get it up and running. He did get it running but the remote on the wall didn't ever really work completely. We had to turn it on and off using the switch inside the fireplace. The river was quite a distance from the house so unfortunately you couldn't see it or hear it but we did enjoy walking the dogs down for exercise and playtime. Just be aware there are other dogs in the area that are allowed to wander off leash. The property was private and we made good use of the hot tub out on the deck, which was very clean and a good size. Loved the large fire pit and made good use of it. The cabin itself was also clean other than the blinds which could definitely use a dusting. It was nice that linens were included as many rentals do not offer that. A note regarding trash removal, the transfer station is closed on Sundays so you will have to leave $5.00 per bag of trash. Overall we had a nice peaceful vacation at the cabin and would recommend this rental to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Walking to river, hot tub and fire pit
Liked least: Worrying that other dogs were allowed to run free in the neighborhood
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2016
Kellie, thanks for the feedback. We were very happy to have you and your family (and the 2 dogs)! We will continue working on the fireplace to get it working better from the switch, it's already on our To Do list. You are right about the trash removal. We typically waive the fee if guests are checking out on Sunday. I apologize that we missed it in your case! Please contact us about that during the next business day and we'll adjust it for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duke1114
Warrenton, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My wife and I took our two dogs to Bear Meadows for a week long quiet getaway. We could not have been more impressed. The property is gorgeous, the walk to the river a real treat. We saw deer, fox, and even a Bald Eagle. One or two snakes by the river but not in any way a problem. We spent quite a bit of time playing in the River and doing some fishing.

The cabin itself is nicely furnished and very well equipped. We took full advantage of the kitchen and especially the grill. One or two minor issues (be careful closing the back door! It is hard to shut). But overall extremely pleasant and comfortable.

We also took full advantage of the Jacuzzi on the back deck, although be prepared for lots of bugs, it is afterall in the mountains.

We have rented cabins in the past, but we are already planning our next trip to Bear Meadows. It met and exceeded every one of our expectations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private setting and access to the river
Liked least: deck is a little small
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birdie B
Bellevue, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun riverfront retreat”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My family stayed at Bear Meadows vacation home in August. The house and grounds were immaculate and very comfortable, but not luxurious. We enjoyed the two canoes, pool table, ping pong table, and hockey table. I got out of cooking dinner AND cleaning up afterwords by beating my husband and son at table hockey. We had to portage the canoes over a few rocky spots but it was not difficult. We canoed up river about two miles where the river got deep, stopped to swim and fish (smallmouth) in the crystal clear water, and slowly drifted back with the current, taking in the AMAZING mountain views. Then we sat in the hot tub and enjoyed a glass of wine while the sun set. Perfect.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinJe...
1 review
“Great location. Fun. But needs a good cleaning.”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent 10 days here in July 2016. Lots of great things to say from everyone in our family. River is about a 5 minute walk from the house but they provide a wagon to lug your things down with you. There's a picnic table by the river and another by the house. Tubing was fun. Washer and dryer in the house was a great benefit although the washer leaks water on the floor. Foosball table is in the maater bedroom and in great shape. The outdoor metal "garage" has a great pool table and a ping pong table that needs some help. Still works well enough for
fun. The garage lights weren't working but when we notified the mgr, he had an electrician out on the first business day. Lights were working before we even got out of bed. However within a few hours they died again. Mgr provided a set of temporary lights. The building got a lot of water inside during rain storms but doesn't get on game tables. There's a small A/C but it didnt keep up during the upper 90s July temps. Garage was 90-100 degrees. House ac works wonderfully though.
The only complaint was cleanliness. We were able to clean it with Clorox wipes in about 20 minutes and just avoided certain spots. Not a huge deal and we would still stay here again. We thought the kitchen sink was filthy but it is just stained (its plastic). The outdoor plastic trash can was broken which made the raccoons happy. Cleaning up that mess had us face to face with maggots the first day we arrived. Maybe a metal can with a strapped on lid would help. Toothbrush holder in the master bath is growing some fungus. You can easily just not use it and the rest of that bathroom seemed clean. We cleaned the other bathroom when we arrived.
Again, other than the cleanliness the house and location are great.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
Thanks for the great feedback, Jennifer. We ran into a couple problems with electrical while you were there. We will work hard to address the issues you ran into. We actually did a cleaning inspection with housekeeping the morning you arrived and had a small list of items that we went over with them to address. You were arriving in a few hours so we didn't have time for them to hit them all, but we've seen the things you've mentioned. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawan S
Springfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Couldn't get any better”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was my second time booking a reservation with Shenandoah Rentals(Cardigan Cabins). These guys never fail to impress you with their excellent hospitality. Beautiful place to stay with all amenities. Hot Tub/Canoes/Bicycles/Firepit/Gameroom etc.. Nothing else I could have asked for. Had a perfect vacation with friends and family !!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrus L
Waldorf, Maryland
2 reviews
“Awesome Place. I would/will visit again.”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My wife and I went here for our 2nd anniversary. We chose this location for the canoes, bikes, and the hot tub. The canoes were down by the river. We didn't canoe because there was a small drop which caused the current to flow away from our location. My wife (who's a nervous Nancy) was worried SHE couldn't paddle against the current. I didn't think it was that bad but anyway. The inside was nice and clean and organized. It had one of the satellite cable services with many channels. Plenty of DVD movies to watch. The master bed was very very comfortable. The hot tub was awesome. There were instructions for any and everything you operated there. Hot tub, fireplace, grille, etc all had instructions on how to operate. We didn't open the storage where the bikes were. The only things that kept this from being a 5 is the main driveway is a bit steep. You can tell someone already ran in to the garage with their car. This leads to the garage where the pool table and ping pong table are not being fully insulated. both of those issues are really no biggie but need to be mentioned. Some of the attractions they have listed in their binder are out of date. The businesses either no longer exist or the numbers have been changed. The binder itself needs to be replaced. The middle ring is broken and makes turning pages annoying. Lastly, in a literal sense, yes the property ends at the river. No one mentioned that it is (roughly) 0.2mi or about 300-400 meters away from the house. Not a big issue because the canoes are down by the water already. The fire pit is nice. They supplied enough wood for our 2 night stay. I would definitely recommend this place and I will be staying there again in the future. They mention that you can't GPS to the place. I had no issue using my cell phone (on Sprint Network using Google Maps) to get there. I also have a 2010 vehicle with GPS in it that was able to map it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The amenities. (Fire place, fire pit, hot tub, grille)
Liked least: Distance from the water.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2016
Andrus, thanks for the great feedback. We'll replace that binder and older sign materials. Re: garage door... We are fully aware of the car hitting garage door incident (trust me - frustrating issue) and have been working on doing R&D on the fix. It's been a difficult process because the garage's original manufacturer doesn't sell replacement parts (yay!). So we've been figuring out how to get those pieces of trim elsewhere. At any rate, glad you enjoyed the stay and see you next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean H
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
“Wonderful Holiday Getaway”
Reviewed 31 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

The house was wonderful. It was cozy, clean, and everything was available. Wifi was super fast, Hot tub was nice, heater and fireplace kept us warm, unlimited amount of DVDs kept us up at night, TV in each room was a plus for privacy at times, and most of all, we loved the fire pit and loads of wood to burn all night long.

Shower water was a bit weak especially when more than one shower was running. The game room could use extra care (ie. ping pong table was wet and hundreds of dead bugs were not swiped off).

Our 3 night stay was just wonderful. Our family had such wonderful time. We can't wait to visit again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Fire pit, Hot tub, Bikes, Waterfront
Liked least: Shower, Gameroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing