We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed and recommended!”
Review of Gathering Grounds

Gathering Grounds
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$11
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Now open at our new location!! We offer a unique dining experience: serving breakfast, gourmet sandwiches, soups and salads with a full-service espresso bar, homemade pastries and pies in a relaxing atmosphere. Wine and beer - on and off. Open 7 days a week.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed and recommended!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

After visiting Luray Caverns and doing a little shopping in downtown Luray, a local shop owner recommended this place to us for lunch. Our older teenage daughters LOVE coffee shop cafes so they were excited to try this one. Everyone raved about our visit there. First of all, it's so charming inside - the library card catalog wall (complete with working ladder) is an amazing element, and impressed our avid readers and there are just interesting things to look at throughout the restaurant. The server was friendly and efficient and the food and drinks - WOW!! DELICIOUS!! If we're ever back in the Luray area, we will definitely visit again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckyone2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    146
    35
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and charm!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The cafe has a quaint feel to it with nods to local and French culture.

We had the soup & salad lunch special. The tomato basil soup was very flavorful, but a bit too salty. The sandwiches were well balanced and served on fresh bread. Next time, I'd love to try one of their many flavors of homemade pie.

They have a nice selection of local microbrews and Old Dominion ginger ale and root beer, of course.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quaint cafe”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We went here for lunch and had sandwiches. Our meals were very fresh and tasty. The unsweetened iced tea is a must! Definitely recommend for breakfast or lunch. Also, a great atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cvallstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good lunch spot in Luray”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Quaint and charming spot to grab lunch after the caverns. Avoiding the noon rush is advised as staffing seems light. Good smoothies and cookies.

Helpful?
1 Thank st10394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Va based
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food but slow at times”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Gathering Grounds is the kind of place you want to go for a relaxing late morning or early lunch. They have great specials and I have never been disappointed and the accommodate special requests. Nice selection of beers and good coffee. house wines could use an upgrade. Watch out if the place is crowded. Service gets a little slow then.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lobo1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gathering Grounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing