We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delicious mess”
Review of Triple Crown BBQ

Triple Crown BBQ
Ranked #2 of 38 Restaurants in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A delicious mess”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

There is something to be said for doing a simple item extremely well. Real family business with a bunch of kids running around. No fuss bbq with excellent smoked chicken and delicious sauces. Real ten napkin fare...and I wouldnt have it any other way.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    48
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A diamond in the rough!”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

This place is incredible! We had the pulled pork and it was lean and smokey...yummy! My husband raved about the baked beans. It is easy to see why this is number one!

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
“Great visit, wonderful staff”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a fantastic time here and staff/owners were great!! We shared the sampler platter and it was wonderful. The pulled pork was so tender and the ribs fell off the bone. The selection of sauces allowed us to vary to taste (Carolina style vs sweeter)
More over we were there during the closure of the park and the owner/staff were amazing, giving us suggestions of other places to go/hike which were spot on!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ge0rgesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“I drive from DC for the BBQ”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I have been to this place numerous times, and the bbq never fails to impress me. Pulled pork and ribs are awesome. Also have amazing smoked turkey in the fall. The best part is the plethora of amazing homemade bbq sauces. Mustard-based bbq sauce - yes please!!

In addition to mind-blowingly awesome bbq the owner is super friendly. Just overall a fantastic experience that I go out of my way to have (two hours to be exact!!).

The sweet potato pie is a must try too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I have had bettter I have had worse”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

It is very close to Luray caverns. You will be eating outside. We had three pulled pork sandwiches and one sausage. The pulled pork itself is good but the bun and bbq sauce are nothing special. The service was good and the staff were friendly. A combo meal of sandwich, chips, and drink is about $9.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Triple Crown BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing