We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic style and Southern charm in a lovely location.”
Review of The Mimslyn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mimslyn Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We arrived at almost 11pm for a two-day business-related stay (the driving distance was such that my husband asked me along as a second driver,) and were startled by the friendly welcome, even at a late hour. The architecture of the Mimslyn was also striking and beautiful -classic columns, a perfect driveway, hardwood floors and a beautiful spiral staircase all made it seem more like a beautiful museum than a working business. We checked in and found a delightfully cozy room, with the softest bed imaginable, all the modern conveniences (including a clever little CD-alarm clock, wireless internet and a handsome little desk,) and a shower of unusual luxury. Even the tiny soaps were top-shelf and the towels as soft as what you'd find on wedding registries. The up-to-date flat-panel TV was also very cleverly installed in a piece of practically-period furniture with drawers beneath that kept up the atmosphere until the very moment it came time to turn on the news, and once opened, we were delighted to find a nice high-def LG model instead of the shabby CRTs one sees in most hotels.
The whole experience was a little like the movies 'Somewhere in Time' and 'Gone With The Wind' crossed and mixed, puzzlingly enough, with 'Chicago' -the Speakeasy restaurant in the Mimslyn's basement is subtly and cleverly themed to a 1930s atmosphere with sumptuous modern food. Our server was astonishingly efficient and friendly, the kitchen prepared my husband's favorite dish exactly the way he likes it (not an easy task,) and the live music was a surprising bonus to an already superlative venue. There are beautiful backlit stained-glass windows there and remarkably good service, which we had, by the second night of our stay, come to notice at the Mimslyn, but to our astonishment, the prices were also quite reasonable, even remarkable given the quality of the food.
Best of all, the staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and to help in any way they could, from providing local-area directions to offering good advice and information about the town of Luray. What had begun as a simple job interview became our introduction to a truly beautiful small town with wonderful people, and I simply cannot wait to bring relatives to visit us in Luray so that we can treat them to a stay at the Mimslyn Inn also. (After the excellent rest and friendly encouragement from the Mimslyn and its' staff, he got the job!) This is truly an amazing hotel experience, not to be missed, and I'd recommend it to anyone. (Also, finding out that the same family runs the Bavarian Inn near our in-laws in Shepherdstown, WV was also a thrill -we'll have to try it next!)

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have a good view.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spidercat42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (993)
There are newer reviews for The Mimslyn Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

809 - 815 of 993 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2011

We celebrated our 36th anniversary with a beautiful weekend stay at the Inn. Justin, Asst Gen Mgr, graciously welcomed us back (our daughter got married there last fall) and the staff was accommodating as always. We enjoyed meals in both in the Circa '31 and Speakeasy; the food was excellent and so was the service. Definitely a place we'll return again. Thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gielam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We recently stayed at the Hotel for some time with our granddaughter Julianna. Thank you for such a fun stay. The staff was very courteous, the breakfast brunch yummy. The live music at night was great, my granddaughter and I had shirley temples and enjoyed the music. The room was fantastic and what a view.

Room Tip: call 24 hrs in advance to have outdoor heated for.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phargro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We like to spend an overnight near home from time to time. We found a deal for this hotel in the Washingtonian Magazine and belong to the National Trust of Historic Places so we decided to try it. It was a very nice hotel. Great 2 room suite and 2 restaurants.
The buffet breakfast lunch and were very good and reasonable and the setting was very pretty. The service at the front desk and in the restaurants was outstanding.
If I had to give one criticism, it would be about the decorations. I didn't care for the cardboard pictures on the walls and it could use a few plants.
Other than that, I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend and probably stay there again in the summer or fall.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celia1477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

This was my second stay at Mimslyn in six months and I will definitely return. Rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. Complimentary breakfast coffee and pastries are great. Buffet lunch in Circa 31 is excellent; husband rated all his meal in Speakeasy as excellent; I was disappointed in some of my selection. Room on front has fabulous view of Massanutten Mountains but is adjacent to noisy roomtop units. Next time I will ask for another location.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nrcase1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

This was a girls' weekend get away for four of us. We spent two nights at the Mimslyn and had a fabulous time! Our group of four gets away like this 3 - 4 times a year. We have had a variety of experiences on these trips over the years, most of them great, but none better than what we experienced at Mimslyn. The staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating (and we did ask for quite a bit). Our room was very nice and the hotel restaurant and spa were great. The wait staff was very friendly and helpful and the Sunday Brunch was amazing! Thanks Mimslyn for contributing to our weekend in such a positive way!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saddleview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

This hotel is absolutely fantastic. The rooms are huge, the price is very reasonable. Everything was so comfortable. I had only one complaint: the room was advertised as having a fireplace, but it turned out it was a fake (and cheap) "fireplace" with just a hot air vent on it. We were really disappointed by that aspect. Had we not been misled to believe it was a real fireplace, it would have been fine.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muchADEW64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
49 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
1.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
0.1 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mimslyn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mimslyn Inn

Address: 401 W Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1024
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price Range: £123 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mimslyn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refined Georgian Revival inn is only 3 minutes to the Luray Caverns, gardens and museum, and 10.6 miles from the Thornton Gap Entrance of Shenandoah National Park. Each of the 45 rooms has been individually decorated with relaxing color schemes, beautiful fabrics, rich patterns, classic furnishings and modern amenities. Pillow-top bedding provides exceptional comfort. Large windows with natural light illuminate most rooms, allowing the vivid landscape of the outdoors to be seen. In addition to a fine-dining restaurant, Circa '31 and meeting facilities, the inn has a fitness center, a spa and an art deco-inspired cocktail bar known as The Speakeasy. There are also gardens, a gift shop and an art gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mimslyn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing