We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last minute choice and well worth it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mimslyn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mimslyn Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaser
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Last minute choice and well worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

Were traveling to Luray Caverns and wanted something nicer than the standard motel. Found this hotel on a recommendation from the Virginia Information Bureau when we entered the state on 81S. Called and they were more than happy to accomodate us as they had a vacant 2 room suite. With 3 kids, it made it much more comfortable. We arrived 4 hrs later and were pleasantly suprised how beautiful the hotel is. It's I believe a AAA 3 star but I'd give it a 3-4 star. It is beautiful, has a terrific menu in the main dining room. We did NOT eat there as we have 3 small kids and it wasn't appropriate. We actually asked for our meals at the pool with the kids and they accomodated us. Brought our food out with our adult beverages which made for a nice evening. The room was terrific, very well appointed, and beautiful decorations. Terrific bed. Excellent water pressure, very nice amenities in the bathroom. Boys loved the robes. They slept on the pullout and didn't complain. When we needed ideas on what to do, they were more than acccomodating. We were about 2-3 miles from the caverns. We went into town and had a great look around. I would definitely go back with the family or alone with my wife. Appreciate the free wifi and complimentary coffee, juice, and muffins in the lobby.

Room Tip: They offer AAA discounts
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PBANDJLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    263
    74
    31
    16
See reviews for
176
559
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Finksburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

I absolutely love the Mimslynn in, it is so inviting and a step back in time, with elegance, charm,hospitality, and grandeur.

I stay at least once per month while visiting Page Memorial Hospital, the location is outstanding, The service in the Speakeasy and Circa 31 is excellent, love the breakfast!
One of these days I'd like to enjoy their brunch.

When in and around Luray, you must stop to enjoy the Inn, I highly recommend it.
bhanis-Finksburg Md

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcuisina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

This is our third visist in 2 years and we have always enjoyed staying here. The staff is great the rooms are nice and the food and entertainment is good.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EWCAWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

We thought it would be great to stop for an overnight on our way from DC to NC. The reviews were good and the place looked nice. I don't know if management has changed or we were just really unlucky....

The two people at the front desk seemed overwhelmed by the phones and checking in the bride for a wedding party so we had to wait 10 minutes to check in despite the fact that only one person (the bride) was checking in. Even some customer service - like we will be with you soon (they finally said that after we commented on what is the problem?) would have gone a long way here.

The room was on the second floor towards the back, near the pool (we asked for a quieter location). At 1 am the room alarm clock went off, which scared us to death until we figured out what it was. Basic housekeeping should be to make sure these are turned off - especially at a place like this, which boasts about their service. Then there was this music (which we finally figured out was piped in through speakers to the pool and that isn't TURNED OFF AT NIGHT!!) which was quite loud in our room. We called three times to the front desk about it and nothing was ever done. Needless to say we didn't sleep well. We complained about the alarm clock and the music when we checked out so they gave us a 10% discount. Nice gesture, but not enough to make up for a horrible night.

Don't stay here if you want a quiet, pleasant retreat in the Shenandoah Valley.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank elleg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stateof NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

My family was in Luray over the Memorial Day weekend to attend a very special wedding. We stayed at the Mimslyn for two of the three nights-- in a Roosevelt Suite and in a Historic Room. (The hotel was booked so for one night we stayed at a lovely Inn, which I will also post a review for) The hotel is beautifully decorated and well cared for. The rooms are spotless and we appreciated that the housekeeping staff obviously takes great pride in their work. Customer service is a top priority for all of the staff—professional yet personable. We ate at the Circa ’31 for breakfast, a lunch buffet and Sunday Brunch. There were a variety of food choices, everything we tasted was delicious, and the prices were very reasonable. There is a small fitness center and a spotless outdoor pool and hot tub. The grounds and gardens are beautiful. We especially enjoyed sitting on the grand porch rocking away thinking about the history that this hotel has been a part of. We would highly recommend this hotel and are planning to return to see the Caverns, spend more time in the Park and at the Mimslyn. My only "complaint" is that they need more rooms!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KandA2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

We have stayed in the wonderful suites before but for this one night opted for a 3rd floor historic room. It was nicely appointed with a comfortable queen bed. Our room, although a bit small, had full length windows (not many do) which made for a nice airy feel. The hotel is very pretty, has very nice furnishings and a very friendly & helpful staff. We enjoyed a cocktail from their small bar out on the terrace under the arbor. The front veranda has several seating areas for relaxing and enjoying the mountain view. For dinner, we ate downstairs in the Speakeasy as usual. The food was very good, again as always, and there is a nice selection in all price points. There was a singer/guitar player which we enjoyed listening to. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMaher8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, KS
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

We found this hotel while on the road. We did not have reservations and were passing thru. We spoke to someone who was staying at the Days Inn and recommended to not stay there. We also bypassed the Best Western (right across the street) due to ratings here. I am glad we got to stop here. This is a Historic Hotel that is outstanding for the price.
All of the staff was great. They were friendly, informative and very helpful. We ate at the restaurant in the Hotel for dinner. It was like a 4 star for the price of a 3 star. They had thinks like Sheppard’s pie, French onion soup and other specialties. The breakfast buffet was only $10 a person and was outstanding with about anything you could want.
The rooms were spotless and have antique style furniture. The rooms are smaller but it is an older hotel so that is to be expected. It was all updated very nice.
If passing by this is worth the trip off the I-81 for the few miles just to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kccode1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
1.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
6.8 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mimslyn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mimslyn Inn

Property: The Mimslyn Inn
Address: 401 W Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1024
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mimslyn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refined Georgian Revival inn is only 3 minutes to the Luray Caverns, gardens and museum, and 10.6 miles from the Thornton Gap Entrance of Shenandoah National Park. Each of the 45 rooms has been individually decorated with relaxing color schemes, beautiful fabrics, rich patterns, classic furnishings and modern amenities. Pillow-top bedding provides exceptional comfort. Large windows with natural light illuminate most rooms, allowing the vivid landscape of the outdoors to be seen. In addition to a fine-dining restaurant, Circa '31 and meeting facilities, the inn has a fitness center, a spa and an art deco-inspired cocktail bar known as The Speakeasy. There are also gardens, a gift shop and an art gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Mimslyn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing