We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Appearance - Some Disappointments”
Review of The Mimslyn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mimslyn Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Appearance - Some Disappointments”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

A nice historic hotel, friendly staff, decent food and a nice bar. A few disappointments though - while we had a nice suite, the view of the loading dock and staff smoking area detracted significantly, so be sure to know what your view is before booking a room here. Also, the continental breakfast and coffee that are offered for free in the morning - no wonder it is free - it is awful. The coffee had no taste at all, like drinking water, and the pastries and breads put out are such that they are touched and handled by everyone partaking of them, yuck!!!!

Room Tip: Definitely ask what view you will have before selecting a room - our view was awful, it shouldn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    265
    80
    32
    17
See reviews for
187
577
26
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We recently stayed at the Historic Mimslyn Inn in Luray, Va. It is a beautifully restored inn that is cared for by an attentive and welcoming staff. Dining on the front porch was very relaxing after an afternoon of visiting the caverns which are just down the road. Our only regret is that we only stayed for one night and did not get to enjoy all of the amenities such as the pool, terrace room on the third floor and entertainment in the Speakeasy. Next time!

Room Tip: Nice amenities in the room. We had a quiet corner room facing the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHM1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you so much for the very nice review title "Gem of Luray" - what an honor! We are so happy to hear that our staff was so attentive and welcoming during your stay. Our staff truly does enjoy welcoming guests to the inn as if they were a guest in their own home. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed an evening dining on the front porch. This is a favorite activity of many of our guests!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, so you can have the opportunity to enjoy all of our amenities. The Skyline Terrace is a wonderful location in the inn to enjoy your morning cup of coffee, or an afternoon reading a good book or playing board games with the family. The Speakeasy offers great entertainment throughout the week...be sure to check out our entertainment schedule on our website.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Mimslyn Inn in early June. I enjoyed sitting on the front porch and sipping a glass of Virginia wine! The rooms are small and the bathrooms are tiny--but that is to be expected in a hotel of this "vintage". If you plan on spending time in your room, upgrade to a suite. The location is great! We were able to drive the Parkway, visit a winery, and return back to the Inn in time for a light meal on the porch. I would recommend it to anyone planning to stay in this part of Virginia.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wahoo1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the area! Many of our guests love the convenience of being so close to Luray Caverns, Skyline Drive, local wineries and all of the great local outdoor adventures! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the end of your day relaxing on the front porch with a glass of VA wine! That is what a visit to The Mimslyn is all about!

Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. We also appreciate you recommending The Mimslyn to others traveling to the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

If you wish to step back in time, let's say 100 years, this is the place. It really feels like the roaring twenties, and in mint condition. We stayed only one night so we would have short drive to Luray Caverns the next morning, and really didn't do the Mimslyn the time it deserved. The current owners have lovingly restored this property to it's former glory but has all the modern features current travelers desire. The staff is plentiful and well trained, the rooms are large and in pristine shape, the grounds beckon you to stroll about and take in the lovely mountain views. We are so glad we didn't stay in a modern property as the Mimslyn fits into the lovely area just perfectly and gave the kids an opportunity to see what travel was really like when you took your time and staying in a hotel (more like a large B & B) was something special. The local Morgan Auto club was having a drive in, so fantastic older cars at ever turn just added to the magic. We had five traveling so we all stayed in one room, not uncomfortable and well priced. The staff was top notch, ask for Steve if you have any local questions, gave great advice on restaurants and routing. This is the perfect property to just sit back and relax, or use the Inn as a wonderful base of operations to make day trip to all the Shenandoah Valley has to offer.

Room Tip: We had a room on the front over looking the entrance with mountain views. Windows painted shut? (so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind and detailed review of your experience with us at The Mimslyn Inn. We are so thrilled to hear that you had such a nice experience with us. Our owners took great care during the restoration of the inn to ensure that the historic character and charm of the inn was not compromised. It was also very important to them to ensure that the inn offers modern amenities and conveniences to ensure that our guests have a comfortable stay. What a treat for you and your family to stay with us when the Morgan Auto Club was visiting....we look forward to their visit each year as it certainly adds to the historic charm of the inn!

Thank you for the nice compliments about the service that you received from our staff, particularly Steve. He is a wonderful ambassador for the hotel and loves welcoming our guests and assisting them with area information so they can make the most of their visit to the Shenandoah Valley!

We hope you will return to stay with us again soon....so you have the time to enjoy all that The Mimslyn Inn and the Shenandoah Valley has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The Mimslyn is a grand old hotel that was once in the country, but the town of Luray has grown to surround it, though it's a ten-minute walk to Luray's historic section. A major expansion of the county hospital blocks what was must have been a sumptuous view west, though front rooms still have mountain views of varying quality. We had a corner room with two windows overlooking mountains and town east and north, which was tiny but clean and comfortable. The bath could use another shelf for toiletries. The amenities are wonderful, the kind one finds in much more elegant places, but there's barely space for one's own toiletries on the single shelf.

At the back of the hotel, away from the highway, the large garden is pleasant and hammocks are inviting, but the constant thump of the air conditioning compressor, and the (temporary) hospital construction, are distracting.
The pool and jacuzzi looked pleasant, though they were well within earshot of the compressor, as was the charming third-floor terrace overlooking the garden.
The hotel offers free coffee, juice, and truly excellent breads and muffins from 7 AM. The Circa 31 restaurant breakfasts are good value if you don't go for the larger orders.

What boosts this up to a four from three stars is the service. We were somewhat cranky, but the staff responded with grace. The room was spotless. The hotel, for whatever reason, doesn't put out local guides, but our breakfast server was happy to print out information about local attractions such as the spectacular-- and accessible-- Storybook Walk on Massanutten en route to New Market. Luray itself has a lovely greenway walk along a creek downtown but its main attractions are its limestone caverns and carillon.

Room Tip: The hotel offers "historic" rooms and three levels of suites. The "historic" roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed here because of its proximity to Shenandoah National Park. The location turned out to be pretty good.

I expected more for the price of the hotel. It is nice, but the room was tiny, and bathroom was so small that I think could stand in the middle and touch all four walls. The bar in the basement was lively with live music, and the food was okay. The staff was friendly and very accommodating.

The hotel provided delicious muffins, juice and coffee each morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at The Mimslyn Inn on a mid-week Living Social special, that included a wine tasting. The Inn itself is of 1890's vintage and has a lovely traditional feel while the amenities are decently updated. Lobby is attractive. The rooms, while small, are comfortable and clean. There is a Very Small workout area in the basement with a few machines. The outdoor pool is sun-heated, but, again, clean and pleasant. The Jacuzzi was very comfortable!

The staff was unfailingly friendly, though they were a bit confused at times relating to the time and venue of the included wine tasting. Still, after being bounced around a little and slightly inconvenienced, the staff was extremely apologetic and offered gratis breakfast the next morning as recompense!

The Formal Restaurant (Circa 31) is only open on the week-ends, but the Speakeasy Pub is on the premise and very comfortable (separately reviewed.) There are plenty of decent eating options within an easy walk.

Overall it was an extremely pleasant two-day getaway and I would not hesitate to recommend the Inn to anyone headed that way!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diplokeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thanks so much for your review of your stay at The Mimslyn. We are so happy that you took advantage of our Living Social special! We are happy to hear that you appreciated the historic charm of the inn. Our owners completed a complete restoration of the inn several years ago. While doing so, it was very important for them to maintain the historic character of the inn, while also ensuring that they added modern amenities to ensure our guest's comfort. It sounds like you may have stayed in one of our Historic Rooms. On your next visit, you may want to consider one of our Blue Ridge Suites, Skyline Suites or Roosevelt Suites - which are a bit larger and have additional amenities. Thank you so much for the kind words about the friendliness of our staff. We would like to apologize again for the confusion with the wine tasting details.

Again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and for recommending us to others. We hope to welcome you back again soon! If you are a wine lover, we think that you would really enjoy our weekend wine dinners. Check our website for more details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
41 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#5 of 9 in Luray
131 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mimslyn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mimslyn Inn

Property: The Mimslyn Inn
Address: 401 W Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1024
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mimslyn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refined Georgian Revival inn is only 3 minutes to the Luray Caverns, gardens and museum, and 10.6 miles from the Thornton Gap Entrance of Shenandoah National Park. Each of the 45 rooms has been individually decorated with relaxing color schemes, beautiful fabrics, rich patterns, classic furnishings and modern amenities. Pillow-top bedding provides exceptional comfort. Large windows with natural light illuminate most rooms, allowing the vivid landscape of the outdoors to be seen. In addition to a fine-dining restaurant, Circa '31 and meeting facilities, the inn has a fitness center, a spa and an art deco-inspired cocktail bar known as The Speakeasy. There are also gardens, a gift shop and an art gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mimslyn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing