We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of The Mimslyn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mimslyn Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Approaching and entering the beautiful Mimslyn, you're tempted to look around for Jay Gatsby. The period building and decor is lush and inviting, with a pianist playing the grand piano in the lobby every evening adding a classy touch. The lobby staff is friendly, though the staff in the two restaurants tend to make themselves scarce. Our standard room was small but comfortable, with a "garden view" which was actually a "large modern hospital next door" view.

We'd heard rumors that the third floor was haunted. Though we stayed on the third floor, I'm disappointed to report we didn't see any ghosts. There was, however, a mysterious third floor disruption of the hotel's wifi signal, which the staff could not explain, so who knows? Maybe ghostly spirits were at fault...

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank sunflowerM0M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,012)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 1,012 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel last week for a friend's wedding. The couple had reserved the hotel including its banquet facilities, for their ceremony. The food was good. The setting is quaint. The building is lovely though a bit worn (some chipped paint in our room, thin walls making it easy to hear neighbors, etc). The hotel staff was very friendly, but seemed overwhelmed trying to serve all of the wedding guests and there were some long delays in getting food and breakfast service some days. We found a great package deal that gave us breakfast at the hotel and tickets to the local caverns.

Room Tip: choose a higher floor to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mangosforaweek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Mimslyn Inn is located top of small hill & is impressive as you drive up the curving drive. Nicely landscaped, nice views of surrounding area. Lobby area is beautiful with "Gone with the Wind" staircases cascading into the lobby. Main dining room is off the lobby. we were there with "Groupon" coupons that included $10 discount on dinner. but restaurant is only open week-end nights & Sunday brunch. Also has a bar with smaller meals tucked away in the basement. They accepted the $10 discount. had breakfast in dining room, but waitress not able to tell me what ingredients were in the food. (I require gluten-free foods,.) she wouldn't ask the chef when I asked her to inquire. Obviously not a good experience.
Rooms are EXTREMELY small - especially the bath room. Can't imagine a large man being comfortable in these rooms. we have stayed in many inns and B&Bs throughout United States. this one does not rank near the top of our list.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had traved to the Mts for a weekend on our anniversary. No special plans just sometime away for the two of us. We happened to come across Inn for lunch. We ate on the front porch very nice. Something about eating outside & also great views from porch. We will return.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Donnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Perfect for a weekend romantic retreat! My girlfriend and I checked in on Friday afternoon and left on Saturday. She told me a hundred times how much she loved the place and that she will remember it for her whole life. And also the main course of the dinner was "the best steak she's ever had". No wonder they apparently hold a lot of weddings. The hotel is beautifully situated on a hill. Would totally recommend this place to a friend.
And if you need some extra experience, the famous Luray Caverns are literally 1 minute drive away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulVer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Great food great service and great atmosphere!I was very happy I took sis for her birthday and so was she.Solving the murder was tough but also fun even though we were wrong. I do hope they have another one the whole family wants to go to next one!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed one Saturday night at the Inn, basically because both lodges in Shenandoah park were full. We got the last room at the Mimslyn, too so you can see how popular this area is during the fall. The Mimslyn is beautiful. It's small but everything is really lovely. Our room was nice. We had two double beds, which we really don't like but since it was the last room we didn't have a choice. The room was well appointed and clean. One of our curtains, however, had two huge tears in it! You get bathrobes in your room, which you usually only see in really good hotels. We also had a fireplace but it's fake. I think we would have enjoyed our night there much more if there hadn't been a wedding reception going on at the Inn that night. If your plans are flexible I'd advise that you ask if there's a reception or other large party scheduled and if there is, come another time. The reception pretty much took over the entire lobby and the lobby bar. We wanted to have a drink at the lobby bar but it wasn't possible. We had dinner at their casual restaurant, The Speakeasy, and we were really looking forward to the live entertainment they had told us about when we booked. However, because of the reception, there was no entertainment. We overheard the bartender tell another patron that when there's a reception they don't have the entertainment because they have limited parking and a lot of the locals come for the bands. You also need to look in the little envelope your keys come in because there's a 10% discount ticket for the restaurants. We didn't see this until we were checking out when it was too late. We had breakfast in the dining room and it was very nice. The food was good as was the service. It was kind of a chilly weekend so we couldn't take advantage of the verandah but it would be lovely to sit out there with a drink. We're leaving the area, otherwise I think I'd give the Mimslyn another try, making sure first there was no reception going on!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
56 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
1.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mimslyn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mimslyn Inn

Address: 401 W Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1024
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price Range: £118 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mimslyn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refined Georgian Revival inn is only 3 minutes to the Luray Caverns, gardens and museum, and 10.6 miles from the Thornton Gap Entrance of Shenandoah National Park. Each of the 45 rooms has been individually decorated with relaxing color schemes, beautiful fabrics, rich patterns, classic furnishings and modern amenities. Pillow-top bedding provides exceptional comfort. Large windows with natural light illuminate most rooms, allowing the vivid landscape of the outdoors to be seen. In addition to a fine-dining restaurant, Circa '31 and meeting facilities, the inn has a fitness center, a spa and an art deco-inspired cocktail bar known as The Speakeasy. There are also gardens, a gift shop and an art gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mimslyn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing