We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Getaway”
Review of The Mimslyn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mimslyn Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I live about 2.5 hours from Luray and decided to take up the offer on Living Socia. for the one-night stay and whiskey dinner. Driving up to the Inn, we noticed how beautiful it was and when we entered we were in for another treat. The customer service is amazing, as soon as we walked in we were warmly greeted. The room we had was smaller than expected, but not much was needed for just one night. The bed was extremely comfortable with a great view of the mountains. It is minutes away from Luray Cavens and not too far from Skyline Drive. The BEST part of the hotel besides the service was the food. For dinner, we ate downstairs at the speakeasy, which is a nice casual restaurant with live music. Our waiter was very friendly and helped us on the whiskey choices (which were incredible) For breakfast, we had a voucher for the Blue Ridge Breakfast, that included more than we expected. It was a nice getaway at a place where we felt welcomed, if I venture off to Luray again I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ebony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (994)
There are newer reviews for The Mimslyn Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 994 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

Our stay at Mimslyn was part of a Copper Fox whiskey dinner package: Dinner and whiskey tasting, overnight stay and breakfast the next morning. Our experience exceeded our already high expectations. The Mimslyn staff was both professional and cordial from our initial greeting to our farewell. While the Inn itself has been restored to what must have been the splendor of its glory days, it is the staff that takes the experience to its highest level. Make time to enjoy all aspects of the property, from the inviting lobby to walking the grounds.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Garry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed at Mimslyn Inn with a Living Social coupon that included dinner and breakfast. Everything about our stay was great. The room was comfortable, clean, well furnished and included free wifi. This hotel is not large, but it has a style and character of a bygone era that was very memorable. We were also very impressed with the quality of our meals. The Speakeasy restaurant even had live entertainment during our dinner. We were also very pleased with the great breakfast. This wasn't your typical continental breakfast, but a delicious meal.

My wife and I both agreed that the Mimslyn Inn is a place we want to stay at again. I think the stay was made even more positive by the staff. Everyone we encounter was professional and showed a real interest in seeing to our every need. The staff obviously took pride in the Mimslyn Inn. The only thing that I would change about the Mimslyn Inn would be to make it pet friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WayneZ760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

From the moment we arrived until 2 days later when we departed the staff showed the utmost in quality service. We stayed in a Historic room which was small but well appointed. The furniture and carpeting had old world charm. We were given a corner room so had 2 windows. We were told the hot tub was working when we called to make reservations only 2 days prior to arrival. Unfortunately, upon arrival the hot tub was not working. The check in staff apologized stating it was being worked on and gave us a voucher for a complimentary breakfast in the Circa 1931 beautiful dining room. By the next day we did get to experience the outdoor hot tub at dusk...breathtaking view. I very highly recommend this gracious Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paula09282014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Very disappointing; the room was very small - the bed post stuck out so much you had to twist your body to get around it; very small bathroom. Restuarant was also disappointing as the menu on the web site was not accurate at all; the choices were poor. Service was also slow and uneven, and it was not due to being busy. The muffin served in lobby was probably a few days old.

Room Tip: probably need to get the suite
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed at the Mimslyn Inn during a very cold week in February. The hotel was quiet, cozy and comfortable. The service was excellent. We can't wait to return to try their Sunday Brunch on the second or fourth Sunday of next month!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My best friend got married at the Mimslyn Inn this past December. I was blown away at how beautiful it was. The staff did an amazing job turning the ceremony space into the reception space while the guests had cocktail hour in the reception lobby, which is quite large. My husband and I did not stay at the inn but we did get to see some of the rooms. They were lovely. Also the food that was prepared by the inn for the wedding was delish! We stay with friends when we are in Luray but will be going to the inn to eat.

Room Tip: The two room suites were very nice, large with a sitting room and a separate bedroom.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meandyoubabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
50 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
1.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
0.1 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mimslyn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mimslyn Inn

Address: 401 W Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1024
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price Range: £122 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mimslyn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refined Georgian Revival inn is only 3 minutes to the Luray Caverns, gardens and museum, and 10.6 miles from the Thornton Gap Entrance of Shenandoah National Park. Each of the 45 rooms has been individually decorated with relaxing color schemes, beautiful fabrics, rich patterns, classic furnishings and modern amenities. Pillow-top bedding provides exceptional comfort. Large windows with natural light illuminate most rooms, allowing the vivid landscape of the outdoors to be seen. In addition to a fine-dining restaurant, Circa '31 and meeting facilities, the inn has a fitness center, a spa and an art deco-inspired cocktail bar known as The Speakeasy. There are also gardens, a gift shop and an art gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mimslyn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing