We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Loved It!”
Review of The Mimslyn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mimslyn Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was our first trip to the Mimslyn, and we couldn't have been more pleased. Paul, Brenda, and Patrick were so pleasant and attentive. Yes, the room and bath were cozy, but the hotel overall is so quaint that a little coziness was not an issue. Breakfast in Circa '31 was a real treat and we enjoyed our dinner, and the music, at the Speakeasy downstairs. The pool is definitely small, designed more for a quick dunk than for swimming laps, but the hot tub is a plus. Although we didn't need them, we were happy to see the lift chairs which made it possible for those with disabilities to enjoy the water, too. We are ready to revisit the Mimslyn whenever time permits.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for being our guest; we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate your comments on our wonderful dining options, relaxing pool and friendly staff.
We are pleased to hear that you are already anticipating the opportunity to stay with us again and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,017)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is was our third stay at the Mimslyn Inn. (I'm sorry, I forgot to update my last review. Our stay was great the last time after having a rocky interaction prior to our arrival.) I received an email in advance of our stay, which was new. It is a nice touch. We booked a suite for two nights for some alone time after having spent a week with family in NC. The suite was wonderful and the beds are very comfortable. So, despite what is to follow, I highly recommend the Mimslyn. Our only disappointment was with the service we received in the Speakeasy restaurant. We tend to be casual and comfortable as regards dining, so the main restaurant isn't usually for us. The food was good but the service on the first night was awful. The wait staff was pleasant but were slow to nonexistent for us. The second day we sat at the bar because we thought we might fair better. Again, the food was great but the service was lacking. There were very few patrons but the bartender kept disappearing and was not able to get out order right, like he wasn't really paying attention. This is totally different from our experiences on our last two visits. Coming back in January and I am looking forward to it. We may have to dress for dinner and try the more formal restaurant. Also, hope to try the spa for the first on that visit.

Room Tip: Ask the staff for descriptions. They are your best resource depending on the view and other preferen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience at The Mimslyn Inn with other travelers. It is always a pleasure to hear from returning guests and we are delighted that most aspects of your stay met or exceeded your expectations. We truly appreciate your recommendation to others as well as your kind words on our comfortable beds and spacious suites.
Please accept our sincere apologies that you were disappointed with the service you received in the Speakeasy Bar and Restaurant. We are mindful of your comments and look forward to the opportunity to replace this experience with a positive one on your next visit. We are pleased to hear that also you plan to try Circa '31 and The Seasons Spa during your next visit in January. We look forward to welcoming you back for that visit, or sooner should your travels allow. Thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Tonight we dined outside where we were served by a young lady named Rachel and a man named Alex. Both restaurants were incredibly busy, and there seemed to be only two - three servers out on the patio. Rachel was exceptional. Though we could tell she was incredibly busy, she was very attentive and polite. She still managed to ask us about our day and where we are from (Maryland) despite having a plethora of things to do. We appreciate good service and food and both were fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoseMarieW08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Mimslyn Inn. We are delighted to read your kind comments on the service you received and look forward to sharing your compliments with our staff. We look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We needed a hotel in the area for one night and the Mimslyn, with a Groupon deal was fine.
The hotel staff were charming, helpful and fun! The Groupon room, although small, was clean and decorated in standard reproduction old Americana. The bathroom, quite small (only had amenities for one although we booked a standard double.) The pool is very small and the area around the pool is cramped, no laps here and not that inviting. After reading the iffy reviews of the food served, we dined in town. Luray has "good enough" restaurants and cafes, nothing worth reviewing. The ubiquitous paninis and weak coffee. The Mimslyn serves food on the veranda of the hotel which is right on the large parking lot and the view is of streets and the usual depressed landscape you see in the rural areas of America. Like the pool area, not appealing. A veranda in the back with a view of the lovely lawn and gazebo area would have been a nicer alternative. We went to town which is a quaint strip with the usual junk stores posing as antique shops. Like the American strip mall, little towns with any attractions (Luray caverns) seem to all look and feel the same. Seeing confederate flags that fly everywhere surrounding the area is somewhat is disconcerting. I guess the Civil War is still being fought down there. But I diverge, the rural south isn't my usual stomping ground but if you need a nice place to stay in the area and you have a discount coupon (not a deep discount, more like $16, but hey every dollar counts these days) the Mimslyn will do nicely.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that doesn't face the main road or sits right over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tirza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for giving The Mimslyn Inn a try during your recent visit to our area. It was a pleasure to read your comments about our charming, helpful and fun staff and we are glad to hear you were comfortable in your room.
Most of our guests consider the town of Luray to be charming and quaint and we are disappointed to hear that you were not impressed. Should your travels permit a return visit (and we hope they do!) our knowledgeable staff will be happy to help you find additional options for things to do in our area from hiking and outdoor adventure to a drive along the beautiful Skyline drive or a day at the Spa in our own Seasons Spa. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed at the hotel in the first week of August (4th) and really liked the property. The place is just great the staff is very friendly, specially Paul who was very helpful and informative about the area. Room was very comfortable, we should have stayed another day but had to go for other engagements. Visit to Luray caverns was very good. It is a bit far for visitors from up north like Canada, otherwise will make a point to go there more often.
Would be nice to have a bar fridge in the room as well as WIFI.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good ( I think)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vinesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

We are delighted that you chose to stay with us during your visit to the Shenandoah Valley here in Virginia. Thank you for your kind comments on our charming property, comfortable rooms and great staff. Thank you, too, for your feedback regarding services you feel we should add. It is always helpful to know how we are doing from the point of view of our guests. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time your travels bring you this far south!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Second visit here. Great place to stay with kids. Had large room with king size bed and sofa bed. Nice pool and hot tub. Lots of space for kids to run around. Friendly and helpful staff. Only slight negative was very slow and expensive room service.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

It was a pleasure to have you return to the Mimslyn Inn with your family for another visit! We are delighted to hear that this visit lived up to your expectations and we appreciate your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back and providing you with the same pleasant accommodations again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I've stayed at other locations in Luray, but this is by far the best. I'm a native resident that moved away but return often. Annually, I return to celebrate a reunion that was started by my mother and her friends. It dates back to when I was a toddler. The Mimslyn has hosted our dinner dance on some occasions but I've also enjoyed staying there. 5up come and enjoy the valley and rest your head on the hill and rock in a front veranda chair looking out at the mountain chain sipping a glass of red ;-)

Room Tip: Rooms facing north on the front side. You get to see the sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank F P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your comments and for the beautiful picture you shared. It was our pleasure to host your reunion dinner dance in the past and we always look forward to having you stay with us. We look forward to your next visit, be it for a glass of wine, dinner or overnight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
58 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
1.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#5 of 9 in Luray
140 reviews
6.8 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mimslyn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mimslyn Inn

Address: 401 W Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1024
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price Range: £76 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mimslyn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refined Georgian Revival inn is only 3 minutes to the Luray Caverns, gardens and museum, and 10.6 miles from the Thornton Gap Entrance of Shenandoah National Park. Each of the 45 rooms has been individually decorated with relaxing color schemes, beautiful fabrics, rich patterns, classic furnishings and modern amenities. Pillow-top bedding provides exceptional comfort. Large windows with natural light illuminate most rooms, allowing the vivid landscape of the outdoors to be seen. In addition to a fine-dining restaurant, Circa '31 and meeting facilities, the inn has a fitness center, a spa and an art deco-inspired cocktail bar known as The Speakeasy. There are also gardens, a gift shop and an art gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Mimslyn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing