We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ants and Musty Smell” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mimslyn Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Mimslyn Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Rydal, PA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Ants and Musty Smell”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2005

We had the unfortunate experience of staying at the Mimslyn Inn for two nights. We would have checked out after one night, but our daughter was not feeling well and we didn't want to travel until she was feeling better. Frommer's guidebook had described it as a grand old inn with wear and tear here and there. It should have said wear and tear EVERYWHERE. We are not picky travelers, often staying at inexpensive chain hotels. But, this place had ants, so we had to change rooms. Musty smell everywhere. The rugs and furniture were from the 1930's. The restaurant served greasy food, with no fresh fruits or vegetables. Staff was apathetic. Would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank speechmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    263
    75
    31
    16
See reviews for
176
560
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2004

Based on a few other reviews I'd expected something a bit better. With just a 1 day visit, my only staff interaction was with the front desk, and the person who checked me in (and took my phone reservation) was pretty indifferent - certainly not friendly and welcoming. The lobby area is very pleasant and impressive. Just don't expect the rooms to be impressive. The room was clean and all the fixtures worked fine. Perfectly adequate, nothing more. Can't comment on their restaurant, as I ate elsewhere.

Quick word to the wise: I didn't notice any ramps and there are big steps into the hotel. Glad I was able bodied and not wheelchair bound.

Helpful?
1 Thank RFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2004

My family and I just returned from an impromptu trip to the Mimslyn Inn. It was recommended to me by another hotel in the area that did not have room for the Memorial Day weekend when we wanted to come to Luray. We are grateful for the recommendation, because the experience of the stay at the Mimslyn was fantastic for the entire family. The staff was kind and welcoming, the food was the best in town and the value of the price of the family room package with tickets to Luray Caverns was impressive. If you're looking for family fun and relaxation, this is the place to be.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2004

I was married at the Mimslyn and spent two nights there, as did most of my family. I found the entire Inn, from the dining room to the suites, charming. Another visitor mentioned the door keys- they were in the midst of changing all the locks when we arrived. The staff was nothing but friendly, kind, courteous, accommodating and understanding. Love that southern hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2003
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2003

the grand old mimslyn inn is not so grand as of the first week of may 2003. we had reservations for two nights and cancelled within 10 minutes of arrival.the rooms were musty smelling and we found out that every key unlocked every room. when we confronted the manager she told us that she knew of the problem but couldn't elaberate. well, that's when we checked out.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2003

When I made a reservation for a two-night stay, I was told there would be an evening event one night and so dinner would be served in a different location. Little did I know that this would translate into late-night parties two nights in a row...we were told, "Well, we told you there was an event when you made the reservation." In the end, we had to sleep with the bathroom fan on to block the noise. The second night, we were turned away from dinner after we arrived at 8:29; although the door to the restaurant was open and others were enjoying their meal, we were told that the kitchen closed at 8:30 and therefore we could not stay. Front desk staff when we checked out didn't seem particularly bothered by either of these experiences. I consider myself a pretty easy-to-please traveler, but the customer service at the Mimslyn was really a disappointment.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2002

We just completed a 2-week trip stopping at a different place almost every night. I had to come back and write about the Mymslyn Inn first as it was definitely the best experience we had on our journey! Although there is work to do and work underway to reneovate this grand inn it was gorgeous and the staff was wonderful. On a Thursday night we had the place about to ourselves since thier main business is weddings and conventions. The front porch is a great place to relax and enjoy evening drinks or morning cofee. Our total bill was a little over $100 and INCLUDED our 2 tickets to Luray Caverns, (a value of $32), AS WELl AS a complete, "off the menu" breakfast in the luxurious dining room. The entrance to Luray is about 2 blocks away and an entrance to Skyline Drive is about 10-15 minutes away. I highly recommend this experience!!!!

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mimslyn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mimslyn Inn

Property: The Mimslyn Inn
Address: 401 W Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1024
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mimslyn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refined Georgian Revival inn is only 3 minutes to the Luray Caverns, gardens and museum, and 10.6 miles from the Thornton Gap Entrance of Shenandoah National Park. Each of the 45 rooms has been individually decorated with relaxing color schemes, beautiful fabrics, rich patterns, classic furnishings and modern amenities. Pillow-top bedding provides exceptional comfort. Large windows with natural light illuminate most rooms, allowing the vivid landscape of the outdoors to be seen. In addition to a fine-dining restaurant, Circa '31 and meeting facilities, the inn has a fitness center, a spa and an art deco-inspired cocktail bar known as The Speakeasy. There are also gardens, a gift shop and an art gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Mimslyn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing