We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best ever!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Camino
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best ever!”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We felt like we had known Hank and Wiley for years! Loved the bed and breakfast, the room was great and the breakfast was amazing. When we arrived Wiley showed us around and then the guys gave us some good tips for dinner. The room we stayed in was perfect, and if anyone forgets anything it is in the room, they have thought of everything. It was nice and quite never even heard noise in the kitchen when breakfast was eing made. The sticky buns are to die for! Thanks Hank and Wiley for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    872
    12
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
630
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

When planning our road trip to include Luray, my fiance and I wanted to try the B&B experience for the first time, but were a little unsure of what to expect, so we decided to book the Rosebud Cottage at Piney Hill.

I must say, this was THE best part of our vacation, hands down. Hank and Wiley are the most welcoming, helpful folks I have ever met while traveling. They showed us all of our dining and entertainment options and even gave us some really, really good insider tips on hiking the Shenandoah National Park. And their cooking is to die for!!!! Both of our breakfasts and afternoon treats were absolutely amazing!

The cottage itself is perfect for those that want the B&B atmosphere but with a little more privacy. Breakfast is delivered to you each morning to eat at your own convenience in the cottage kitchen. The cottage has a great vibe and was extremely clean - I felt like I was at home! We especially enjoyed sipping coffee and watching the bulls from our back porch with the mountains in the background. Hank and Wiley also have a huge DVD/VHS collection for you to choose from, as well as a jacuzzi (which we didn't use, but looked awesome).

Overall, I would definitely recommend coming here if you're in the Luray area since I highly doubt you will get this level of service and comfort anywhere else. These guys are the best!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank migratialcoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic, CT
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Everything positive about this place has pretty much already been expressed. Hank and Wiley were simply head and shoulders above most B+B hosts, and that's saying a lot! They even thought to provide us with information in keeping with our passion for Civil War history. It's a great location from which to bicycle as well. I'd love to keep this place a secret, especially the perfect and peaceful Rosebud Cottage, but I'm happy for their success. If you are looking for a quiet retreat, this is it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frohstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Hank & Wiley welcomed us in off our motorcycle, and did EVERYTHING possible to make us feel true Southern Hospitality. From lush breakfast to a dessert in our room at the end of the day, this place knows great food. For atmosphere, the pastoral views of mountains and farms, and the moonlit jacuzzi were treats after enjoying the great area FULL of things to do. Great conversation and the pair's wealth of experiences in the area made our trip a true delight. If all that was not enough, a truly beautiful and comfortable room (the W.R.) made rekindling our 24 year old relationship a dream.
Hank and Wily are truly gifted in making everyone feel at ease, and special.
Can't imagine staying ANYWHERE else in the area, and will recommend to everyone. <3

Room Tip: All rooms are perfection, cabins get breakfast delivered from what we saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katharine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

S took me to Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast and we stayed in Rosebud cottage for 2 nights. It totally was one of our greatest travel experiences.

Breakfasts,amazing.(LOVE LOVE LOVE THEM!)
Room decoration, cozy & stylish.
Surroundings, like an oil painting!!! (This place didn't feel like it's running just a business, but providing their guests an experience of living in an oil painting.)
BTW,
As a huge cat lover, I loved the time with a 3 legged cat who would come to the back door in the mornings and waited for her treat.

:-) and yes, this, is my perfect V A C A T I O N.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d4doris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delran, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed at Piney hill for 2 nights and had the most wonderful time! Chose this place after reading all the wonderful reviews and it totally lived up to our expectations! We stayed in the Mark Ruffner room, which had a wonderful decor and was well kept! Hank and Wiley are great hosts and amazing chefs. Everything that came out of their kitchen was truly delicious! Also they suggested us some nice places for lunch/ dinner. The location was perfect.. away from all the hustle bustle! This place is highly recommended for the above reasons!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Venkata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Hank and Wiley are the best innkeepers we've stayed with. It was my wife's birthday, and they helped me plan out our dining/fun and baked a delicious cake. The breakfast was amazing, to boot! We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We loved the Mark Ruffner Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
5.0 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
935 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
31 reviews
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
130 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
7.7 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1048 Piney Hill Rd, Luray, VA 22835-6350
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luray VA Bed & Breakfast and Cottage Rentals in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. Home of the Luray Caverns. We are nestled on a 2 acre hilltop in the country, minutes from Shenandoah National Park with spectacular views of the Skyline Drive. We offer 2 luxury cottages in a private setting as well as 3 standard guest rooms in the main house. A full country style breakfast is served each morning. This peaceful country haven is the perfect place for a get-away whether romantic, relaxing or adventurous. Enjoy area hiking, wineries, canoeing, horseback riding, fishing, antique shopping, skiing, exploring area caverns, fine dining restaurants and so much more. Make our home your home when visiting Luray, Virginia. Special packages and gift certificates available. 2 Night min. Stay required. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Piney Hill Hotel Luray
Piney Hill Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing