We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful 25th Anniversary!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
wenonah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful 25th Anniversary!”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Piney Hill was the perfect little get away to celebrate our 25th Anniversary. We totally enjoyed ourselves. Wiley and Hank were great hosts. Very friendly and very helpful in planning our days. Loved the way they had the B&B decorated. Great country charm. We would start our day off with a wonderful homemade breakfast. Looking forward to making the recipes out of their cookbook. There is plenty to do. Hiking, Luray Caverns, Wineries. Wiley also suggested tubing down the river. I promise Wiley, we will do that the next time we are there. Also, enjoyed some quiet time on the porch looking at the farmland, hanging out with the cats and soaking in the hob tub after a tough hike. They also have beautiful gardens. We will definitely return soon. Thanks for a wonderful time!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khajna64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    872
    12
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
630
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Level Contributor
191 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This was our second year at Piney Hill. We stayed in the Rosebud cottage which I highly recommend. Hank and Wiley where great like the previous year. But this year I felt like we where going to see friends, not just innkeepers. As soon as we returned I made reservationions for next year!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Storm886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde Park, NY
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I selected Piney Hill based on the reviews which I normally use as a guide. B&B's are typically more homey than your average hotel so I have higher expectations when I visit one and especially in this case with five star ratings. Well, Wiley and Hank did not disappoint in any aspect of our stay. I could run down the list and make this post much longer than anyone cares to read but I will simply say, "Stay here!". I do have to expound on the breakfast though. I have had some at other locations that barely pass as a meal. This one is almost breakfast and lunch together. You will not leave hungry! If not for the awesome quality I probably would not have been able to finish it. Absolutely awesome!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vette1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Piney Hill is one of my favorite B&B's of those I have stayed in. It is set in a beautiful farmland area but close enough to Luray to be convenient for restaurants. Wiley and Hank were great hosts. Breakfast was excellent with more than enough to fill us up for a day's hike. One afternoon we were offered a snack of chocolate cake with strawberries. This we ate out back by the garden overlooking the mountains.
If we are in that area again we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayaker332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Wonderful, relaxing B&B. The innkeepers were wonderful. Location quiet and peaceful. The breakfasts and desserts the innkeepers made were amazing. We are looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We spent our 10th anniversary at Piney Hill B&B. What a lovely experience. Wiley and Hank ate truly the nicest innkeepers. They made our stay in the Luray area a delight. The breakfasts are first class, and I am so glad that we got a copy of their breakfast cookbook. They made sure that we knew everything we needed to know about the area to make our visit exceptional, from the best restaurants to the local wineries to visit. Don't miss the opportunity to treat yourselves to this outstanding experience. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Try the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Piney HIll. Hank and Wiley excellent hosts. We particularly liked our evenings on the verandah with the lovely views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Need a good appetite for the breakfasts which were beautifully presented. The cake on our first afternoon was a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Racingfollower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
5.0 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
935 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
30 reviews
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
130 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
7.7 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1048 Piney Hill Rd, Luray, VA 22835-6350
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luray VA Bed & Breakfast and Cottage Rentals in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. Home of the Luray Caverns. We are nestled on a 2 acre hilltop in the country, minutes from Shenandoah National Park with spectacular views of the Skyline Drive. We offer 2 luxury cottages in a private setting as well as 3 standard guest rooms in the main house. A full country style breakfast is served each morning. This peaceful country haven is the perfect place for a get-away whether romantic, relaxing or adventurous. Enjoy area hiking, wineries, canoeing, horseback riding, fishing, antique shopping, skiing, exploring area caverns, fine dining restaurants and so much more. Make our home your home when visiting Luray, Virginia. Special packages and gift certificates available. 2 Night min. Stay required. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Piney Hill Hotel Luray
Piney Hill Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing