We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Year Anniversary”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Honey Brook, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“1st Year Anniversary”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I moved from Boston to Northern Maryland May of 2010 Met my soon to be husband from Wilmington at the beginning of August. Our first trip away together was to Piney Hill B & B at the end of September beginning of October that year! We both had traveled extensively throughout the country and overseas but decided on this charming home in Luray!! We fell in love on that trip and it will be a time that will never be forgotten! We just went back the weekend of June 1-3 - our anniversary date being June 3rd and experienced the same wonderful feeling! Hank and Wiley have become good friends - sincere, caring and amazingly detail oriented. These two gentlemen are so very special - We will be there on an annual basis and plan on taking our friends in December! Side note: the breakfasts are by none one of the best I have experienced in my travels and have always met interesting, amazing people!!

Kudos to hank and Wiley - all our Best

Mary Ellen and Scott Swanson

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    874
    12
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
632
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My husband and I were looking for a B&B where we could just relax and enjoy a change of scene! We found it at Piney Hill! Not only is it in a beautiful location with lovely peaceful scenery, we got such a warm welcome from Hank and Wiley, who did all they could to make our visit pleasurable and stress free! The breakfasts were wonderful - so creative and beautifully served! We enjoyed our visit so very much, I'm sure we'll return one day! Thank you Hank and Wiley! Kathy Munds
PS. We also loved your gift shop in the barn!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunderlandgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wenonah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Piney Hill was the perfect little get away to celebrate our 25th Anniversary. We totally enjoyed ourselves. Wiley and Hank were great hosts. Very friendly and very helpful in planning our days. Loved the way they had the B&B decorated. Great country charm. We would start our day off with a wonderful homemade breakfast. Looking forward to making the recipes out of their cookbook. There is plenty to do. Hiking, Luray Caverns, Wineries. Wiley also suggested tubing down the river. I promise Wiley, we will do that the next time we are there. Also, enjoyed some quiet time on the porch looking at the farmland, hanging out with the cats and soaking in the hob tub after a tough hike. They also have beautiful gardens. We will definitely return soon. Thanks for a wonderful time!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khajna64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level Contributor
194 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This was our second year at Piney Hill. We stayed in the Rosebud cottage which I highly recommend. Hank and Wiley where great like the previous year. But this year I felt like we where going to see friends, not just innkeepers. As soon as we returned I made reservationions for next year!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Storm886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde Park, NY
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I selected Piney Hill based on the reviews which I normally use as a guide. B&B's are typically more homey than your average hotel so I have higher expectations when I visit one and especially in this case with five star ratings. Well, Wiley and Hank did not disappoint in any aspect of our stay. I could run down the list and make this post much longer than anyone cares to read but I will simply say, "Stay here!". I do have to expound on the breakfast though. I have had some at other locations that barely pass as a meal. This one is almost breakfast and lunch together. You will not leave hungry! If not for the awesome quality I probably would not have been able to finish it. Absolutely awesome!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vette1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Piney Hill is one of my favorite B&B's of those I have stayed in. It is set in a beautiful farmland area but close enough to Luray to be convenient for restaurants. Wiley and Hank were great hosts. Breakfast was excellent with more than enough to fill us up for a day's hike. One afternoon we were offered a snack of chocolate cake with strawberries. This we ate out back by the garden overlooking the mountains.
If we are in that area again we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayaker332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Wonderful, relaxing B&B. The innkeepers were wonderful. Location quiet and peaceful. The breakfasts and desserts the innkeepers made were amazing. We are looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
5.0 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
6.1 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
7.7 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1048 Piney Hill Rd, Luray, VA 22835-6350
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luray VA Bed & Breakfast and Cottage Rentals in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. Home of the Luray Caverns. We are nestled on a 2 acre hilltop in the country, minutes from Shenandoah National Park with spectacular views of the Skyline Drive. We offer 2 luxury cottages in a private setting as well as 3 standard guest rooms in the main house. A full country style breakfast is served each morning. This peaceful country haven is the perfect place for a get-away whether romantic, relaxing or adventurous. Enjoy area hiking, wineries, canoeing, horseback riding, fishing, antique shopping, skiing, exploring area caverns, fine dining restaurants and so much more. Make our home your home when visiting Luray, Virginia. Special packages and gift certificates available. 2 Night min. Stay required. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Piney Hill Bed And Breakfast
Piney Hill Hotel Luray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing