We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would give 10 dots!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Best B&B ever!! Beautiful location with great views. We loved everything about the house. The rooms were nicely decorated and clean, good beds! The hosts Wiley and Hank were very hospitable, Hank makes a delicious breakfast. They're very knowledgable about the area also by their own experiences. There is something to do for everyone's liking: hiking, biking, horseriding, kayaking. Nice restaurants. Luray caverns and Shanandoah NP.
Wiley and Hank went above and beyond in making our stay very comfortable. We allready miss the breakfast. There is also have a little shop with reasonably prices at the bed and breakfast.
This stay is really worth your money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingrid b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 932 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

We enjoyed everything about our experience at Piney Hill beginning with the beautiful drive from Luray. We wanted to experience the countryside, and that's exactly what we did. We received a warm welcome from Hank when we arrived, and he immediately began giving us suggestions about things we might like to do. The house was beautifully decorated for fall, and our room had everything we needed. Breakfast the next morning (both mornings, actually) was absolutely delicious! And the culinary treat waiting in our room when we returned from our day of sightseeing was a delicious surprise. Hank and Wiley have a gift for attending to detail. Staying in their home was a delightful experience!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We can't say enough great things about Piney Hill, Hank & Wiley and the kitties! Hank & Wiley have gone above and beyond to make you feel at home and never want to leave. The food was amazing, buy the cook book! I haven't attempted anything yet but can't wait to give it a try. The peach french toast was out of this world! The cottage was wonderful! The view from the back porch was beautiful. We had a cat greet us every morning either on the back or front porch. :) Loved seeing the cows every morning and afternoon. Hank & Wiley were great and have all the details you will ever need about the area, restaurants, shops etc. We had a great time and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We loved the Hurley Byrd cottage, separate from the main house so it was great for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HLogan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I spent three nights in the Rosebud cottage which was roomy, comfortable and quiet. The two innkeepers Hank and Wiley made our stay wonderful with their great breakfasts, their helpful info about places to see and things to do, and their enthusiasm for running a great B&B. The only problem we encountered was staying in the cottage meant we couldn't have breakfasts with the other guests--something we both enjoy when traveling. However, Wiley and Hank gave us special permission two of the three nights and we enjoyed our breakfasts with some great other guests. I recommend this B&B without reservation!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobBurkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The owners, Hank and Wiley, are exceptionally attentive, providing lots of touches that made our stay so enjoyable. They were flexible about check-in time and left us an early breakfast when we needed an early check out. The breakfast were great, as was the cake we enjoyed mid afternoon. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We arrived to the warmest smiles of Hank & Wiley greeting us back at Piney Hills B&B in Luray VA.It is like stepping back in time visiting grammas & gramps home. The wonderful faint aroma of homemade sweets and decor brought back so many memories to us. When you step inside their home you’ll the everyday hectic rush just fade away and nothing but sweet serenity enters your inner space. This was our second visit to Piney Hill. We love the country life style, as that’s where we’re from. The open space, peace and quiet as we look out the door of the Rose Bud cottage, brings in the sweet smell of country air. Every morning it is a pleasant surprise, in anticipation of what will arrive at your private door for breakfast. We are country folks and it is a delight on how Wiley and Hank can make each meal like it’s a 5 star experience. Then there are the extra sweets that greet us each day when we get back sitting on the table after a day’s outing. Wiley and Hank both try so hard to make your stay so enjoyable that you’ll want to come back, and we have, and we will again. Larry & Dorothy

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We recently stayed 5 nights at the Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast, which is situated a short drive from the town of Luray, Virginia. Set in the beautiful Shenandoah Valley this country style, well equipped and spacious guest house has views of the Skyline Drive area within the Shenandoah National Park and is close to the town of Luray with its many restaurants and impressive underground caverns. This makes it an excellent place to stay for a get away from it all break, although we included a day trip to the hurly burly world of Washington DC to see the excellent sights of the capital. The hosts Hank and Wiley are just great and have created and make Piney Hill a very special and unique place to stay with a homely atmosphere, excellent food and friendly hospitality. In short the Piney Hill B&B is truly a diamond set in the jewel of the Shenandoah Valley.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel_buddy367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
5 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,017 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
58 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#5 of 9 in Luray
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
18.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
4.8 mi away
South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1048 Piney Hill Rd, Luray, VA 22835-6350
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range: £119 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luray VA Bed & Breakfast and Cottage Rentals in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. Home of the Luray Caverns. We are nestled on a 2 acre hilltop in the country, minutes from Shenandoah National Park with spectacular views of the Skyline Drive. We offer 2 luxury cottages in a private setting as well as 3 standard guest rooms in the main house. A full country style breakfast is served each morning. Our All Season lodging provides a peaceful country haven and the perfect place for a get-away whether romantic, relaxing or adventurous. Enjoy the outdoor fire pit, spectacular mountain and valley views, area hiking, VA wineries, canoeing on the Shenandoah River, horseback riding, fishing, antique shopping, skiing, exploring area caverns and so much more. Make our home your home base while visiting and exploring Luray, Virginia. Add a Honeymoon, Anniversary, Elopement, Romance, Adventure, Relaxation or Birthday package to your stay. Piney Hill Gift Certificates available for all occasions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Piney Hill Bed And Breakfast
Piney Hill Hotel Luray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing