We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Warning to all who visit, you may not want to leave!! My husband and I stayed at Piney Hill in the Hurley Byrd cottage, it was comfortable, clean, with 5 star breakfasts and attention to every detail. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and wished we could stay at least one more day but had other commitments. Wiley and Hank are perfect hosts and we felt welcome and at home. We can't wait to visit again. It was truly a wonderful time .Thank you !

Room Tip: cottages are private but just a few yards from house . You need to love nature, surrounded by farms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 919 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

Piney Hill was exactly what we were looking for in a B&B. Whether you're looking for a relaxing and romantic stay or an exciting adventure with hiking/tubing or just a wonderful winery/distillery getaway, Piney Hill offers it all. Hank and Wiley were great hosts and made us feel at home (without us having to do chores). They offered great suggestions for things to do (highly recommend visiting Luray Caverns) and places to eat. They even knew which establishments had what type of music on select nights, which ones needed reservations, which ones had various specials, etc. The area is gorgeous and offers amazing star-gazing opportunities as well.

The B&B itself was beautiful. All the areas were very welcoming and also spotless. Our room was extremely comfortable with an all-season fireplace. They offer amenities such as satellite TV and wifi, but I'd recommend doing without those if you can for a few days. Instead pick up one of their many games or just enjoy the serene beauty and peace on one of the porches. This is a place great for couples who look to continue to work on their relationships and develop great bonds. It's also a place where singles can venture out to - to either meet other people or just have a nice peaceful weekend without interruptions if they want.

Everybody raves about the breakfasts and the innkeepers did not disappoint. While Wiley was putting the finishing touches on our delicious options, Hank provided great ideas and suggestions for things to do. They were very helpful in recommending great options. Hank and Wiley's dedication, attention to detail, caring and friendliness will definitely have us coming back for more. We're looking for our next chance to come down.

Thanks Wiley and Hank for making our stay truly memorable! We loved staying at your beautiful home.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tom_In_Washington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and I took a trip to Piney Hill in January 2014 for an amazing weekend. The innkeepers, Wiley and Hank, were incredibly nice and accommodating. This was our first trip to the Shenandoah region and Wiley and Hank were so helpful in getting us around the region and setting us up with places to visit.

Beyond the amazing service, the B&B itself is cozy and charming. The breakfasts were delicious and the rooms were very comfortable.

We had a very relaxing weekend at Piney Hill and would recommend it to anyone looking to get away.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seth Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband and I just returned from our second weekend stay at Piney Hill B&B. We discovered PIney Hill in 2010 and vowed to return! Our second trip was even better than our first. The Emma Ruffner Rogers room was still immaculate, beautifully decorated (as is the whole house) and cozy...just as I remembered it! Hank and Wiley are the perfect hosts who have truly thought of EVERYTHING! Umbrellas when it is raining, the perfect dinner recommendations for every occasion, gourmet breakfast, quiet outdoor spots for enjoying the beautiful 360 degree mountain views, vineyard recommendations, hiking recommendations...you name it, they've got it covered! Plan a get-away to Luray just to stay here...you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathyjumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My Husband and I stayed here for our first anniversary and absolutely loved everything about Piney Hill. The warm welcome, the breakfast, view, and suggestions were perfect. We would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: Book a cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinacris99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

What a great stay! Wiley and Hank were great hosts and educated us on everything we needed to know about the area. The breakfast was amazing-- come hungry! The rooms are beautifully decorated and very cozy. If you're feeling energetic, there are great hikes and activities around town, Luray Caverns among them. If you're feeling lazy (or if the weather isn't cooperating), Hank and Wiley have a huge DVD collection, and all rooms have satellite TV.

Overall, this is probably the best B&B we've every visited. Would make a great weekend away from DC or any other city in the region.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fso1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

It has hard to add much to the 600+ well-deserved 5-star reviews, but we will try. The views of the mountains on all sides are breath-taking. The historic cabin main-house is charming and very comfortable. When we pulled up we were welcomed by Prissy--the cat welcoming committee. So sweet. Wiley and Hank are two of the most gracious and thoughtful hosts we have had at a B&B. Their gourmet breakfasts were nothing short of 4-star restaurant-quality one would expect from the best-trained chefs in the world--from innovative pumpkin pancakes one day, a perfect spinach quiche the next, and decadent peach french toast, the last. Our room was very comfortable. Our hosts gave us great advice on hiking trips and on restaurants. In short, this B&B is everything a B&B should be...and more. Come here and become part of their extended family for life.

Room Tip: The room we chose had a dedicated bathroom, but it was across the hall. It was fine, but the next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamiSay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
5.0 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,005 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
52 reviews
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
136 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
7.6 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1048 Piney Hill Rd, Luray, VA 22835-6350
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range: £125 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luray VA Bed & Breakfast and Cottage Rentals in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. Home of the Luray Caverns. We are nestled on a 2 acre hilltop in the country, minutes from Shenandoah National Park with spectacular views of the Skyline Drive. We offer 2 luxury cottages in a private setting as well as 3 standard guest rooms in the main house. A full country style breakfast is served each morning. This peaceful country haven is the perfect place for a get-away whether romantic, relaxing or adventurous. Enjoy area hiking, wineries, canoeing, horseback riding, fishing, antique shopping, skiing, exploring area caverns, fine dining restaurants and so much more. Make our home your home when visiting Luray, Virginia. Special packages and gift certificates available. 2 Night min. Stay required. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Piney Hill Hotel Luray
Piney Hill Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing