We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the Trail of the Lonesome Pine ...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“On the Trail of the Lonesome Pine ...”
Reviewed 14 May 2004

Our first experience of American B&B was very special indeed. After a long flight from London and an exhausting struggle through the DC commute, the skies cleared and the evening sun lit our path to a cosy porch, an inviting room and a delightful welcome from Inkeepers, Hank and Wiley. For Brits raised on tea and toast, the cooked breakfast, complete with oodles of maple syrup and scrummy pancakes was enough to fuel us for a day's exploring. Piney Hill was a great base for seeing the Skyline Drive and the Shenandoah Valley and there were great eats to be had within easy driving distance. But best of all was the warm Southern hospitality offered by Hank and Wiley. Whatever the troubles left behind at home, sitting on a rocking chair in the warmth of a Virginian morning, all feels well with with the world. Y'all come back now!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonofagandjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    874
    12
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
632
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 April 2004

Piney Hill is a special place. Hank and Wiley are gracious hosts lending themselves and their home to a very comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. The rooms and view are wonderful. My husband and I greatly enjoyed our weekend stay.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2004

We have been to many "Bed and Breakfast" and Piney Hill is in the top 5. We could not been treated any better. The setting in the countryside was just what we were looking for. If you have ever been at a bed and breakfast or hotel that was near a busy street or where there were many rooms and a lot of noise than you would realize just how special that Piney Hill is. We are sending our positive review to Frommer and Fodor travel books.

Helpful?
Thank CandL16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 April 2004

We recently took a trip to Virginia to attend a wedding. We dicided to make it a mini-vaction since we were traveling all the way from Arizona. We looked at the various accommodations in the area and selected the Piney Hill Bed and Breakfast. The stars must have been lined up just right when we made the decision to stay at this establishment. The experience surpassed our expectations. Our hosts, Hank and Wylie, made us feel like we had come home with wonderful food, a beautiful country setting, privacy, genteel hospitality, and hilarious conversations. I think what we remember most is the genuine consideration by our hosts demonstrated through special attention to details. We feld specil and priviledged. Thank you both.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 April 2004

Review of Piney HillIt is not often that you select a place to stay from a website or brochure and find it to be nicer than portrayed, but that was the case with Piney Hill B&B. If anything Hank and Wiley undersell themselves and their wonderful farmhouse and the service they provide. Unlike the soulless chains of hotels and inns this is definitely a home from home atmosphere filled with wonderful antiques in every nook and cranny and 2 hosts who cannot do enough to please and inform you. Nothing is too much trouble for them and their local knowledge is a godsend.The Gourmet Breakfasts deserve a special mention, served and presented in such style to set your day off to a great start, followed of course by coffee on the porch whatever the weather with glorious views of the surrounding countryside.In a nutshell this is a great place to escape to and unwind, home cooked food, wonderful views, hot tub in the garden, individually designed bedrooms, but it is Hank and Wiley who make this place so special. They treat you like part of the family, you feel like youve known them for years and this is the secret of their success, they actually want to make you happy which is very rare in this day and age. We would recommend Piney Hill without reservation to anyone, it is a great place to stay and we hope to return soon!!Nigel and Ann England

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 31 March 2004

We couldn't be more pleased with the accommodations at Piney Hill Bed and Breakfast. We stayed in the Rosebud Cottage which was spacious and charming. Our hosts, Hank and Wiley, couldn't have been better. They were so helpful in giving us information about the area and did everything they could to make our stay a pleasant one. Their warmth and company contributed greatly to making our stay so very nice. A delicious breakfast was delivered to our door each morning. We will definitely make Piney Hill our weekend getaway and recommend it highly.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 March 2004

Rod set this wonderful weekend at Piney Hill up for my 50th birthday. We could not have had a more wonderful time. Beth and Amp Cobb, dear friends of ours shared this weekend with us. From the moment we walked in and saw the country antiques and the warm hospitality of Hank and Wylie we immediately felt at home. What a gorgeous location, mountains every window you looked out of. Breakfast was great and the fellowship around the table with new friends; Bernard from London, and a wonderful young couple sharing their 1st anniversary will be a wonderful memory. While Rod and I and our friends love antiquing, we found so many antique stores to visit. We could not get them all in. We plan on coming back in the spring to see the yard in bloom. Thank you Hank and Wylie for a GREAT TIME. We are telling everyone about your place and giving out the flyers with the information.In Christian Love, Tricia Phelps

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
5.0 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#2 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
6.1 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
7.7 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1048 Piney Hill Rd, Luray, VA 22835-6350
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luray VA Bed & Breakfast and Cottage Rentals in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. Home of the Luray Caverns. We are nestled on a 2 acre hilltop in the country, minutes from Shenandoah National Park with spectacular views of the Skyline Drive. We offer 2 luxury cottages in a private setting as well as 3 standard guest rooms in the main house. A full country style breakfast is served each morning. This peaceful country haven is the perfect place for a get-away whether romantic, relaxing or adventurous. Enjoy area hiking, wineries, canoeing, horseback riding, fishing, antique shopping, skiing, exploring area caverns, fine dining restaurants and so much more. Make our home your home when visiting Luray, Virginia. Special packages and gift certificates available. 2 Night min. Stay required. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Piney Hill Bed And Breakfast
Piney Hill Hotel Luray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing