We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic accommodations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Doswell, Virginia
11
Reviewed 8 June 2005

Not my first trip...........but my first trip shared with someone who will return often with me. Hank and Wiley provide the most wonderous setting and service for enjoying a restful time in the country. Their friendship to everyone is amazing and there is never a moment that you do not feel welcome and part of "the family" Thanks, Thanks, Thanks!
Sonny & Ken

Stayed: May 2005
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

853 - 859 of 932 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Mechanicsville, VA
11
Reviewed 7 June 2005

My wife and I celebrated our first anniversary at Piney Hill. Hank and Wiley were excellent hosts. Everything was top notch. The food was excellent and was the best we have ever had. They were gracious enough to pack up the leftover blueberry muffins for our day trip to the surrounding area. They even handled receiving some special gifts that I ordered online and had them shipped directly to PHBB and had them nicely laid out in our room wth fresh flowers and some special treats. Wish we had not missed the "sticky buns" so I guess we will have to visit again soon with a special request in mind.

Stayed: June 2003
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2005

Hank and Wiley have encompassed the very essence of hospitality. Everything that we could have possibly asked for was already in motion. From the delectable breakfast, (we're still raving over the sticky buns!), to the extra effort put forth into making our trip very very special; Hank and Wiley didn't miss a beat.

Guys thank you so much for making me and Stef's trip one to remember. You helped me give Stef a great "mainland" experience! She may not want to leave Hawaii, but I know where she wants to go when she comes to see me!!! :)

Thanks again,

Jeantelle

P.S. The stars were a hit in Norfolk!

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ideofmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington, DC
1
Reviewed 6 June 2005

We have stayed at the Piney Hill B&B about 10 times in the past few years, and we're already planning our next visit. Hank and Wiley have created an ideal spot to get away from work and city cares. Rocking on the porch while looking at the mountains and sipping coffee is pure pleasure. The house is off the beaten path, but just a few minutes drive to the restaurants, movies, and antique shops in downtown Luray. The rooms are exceptionally comfortable and always immaculately clean; the breakfasts are legendary (bring your appetite!); and the whole experience just washes away the stress of our daily schedules. Try to book the cottage if you can -- spacious, ultra quiet, the perfect romantic hideaway.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
richmond,va.
1
Reviewed 6 June 2005

Delightful in all ways. We plan to return.

Stayed: May 2005
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Baltimore, MD
11
Reviewed 5 June 2005

This was a perfect location for us to get away from the hustle and bustle and visit the sites in Luray, VA. We went down for 2 nights Memorial Day weekend and were pleasantly surprised at the quietness of the area and friendliness of both the innkeepers (Hank and Wiley). They were both very helpful when we had questions as to where we wanted to go - whether it be to eat or site see, and were able to give excellent directions to places that vistors might not know about.

We stayed in the Walter Rogers room. It was on the 1st floor in the front of the house, which was perfect. There was a nice electric fireplace which we could either use for heat, ambiance, or both. They provided a wide array of videos for the in-room TV. We had wonderful views of the mountains, and although we never used them, we wee given two bathrobes for the hottub outside.

Their breakfasts were fantastic. They made sure to have the beverages of our choice, whether it be hot chocolate, regular, or decaf coffee. We had a spinich casserole the first morning, semi-frozen fruit cocktail, ham slices, and a sweet lemon popiseed cake. The 2nd day they served stuffed french toast with a blueberry topping, a fruit cocktail, and sausage patties. If one serving wasn't enough for you, you could always go back and have more.
They were also more than willing to give out their recipes (just make sure that if you want your loved one to fix it, he/she is not in the room when you ask for it).

There is no doubt that we will be back soon (probably for the fall to drive through skyline drive).

Stayed: May 2005
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Woodbridge, VA
11
Reviewed 31 May 2005

My wife and I have traveled to many B&Bs over the course of our 16 year marriage. To say Piney Hills was the best is a true understatement. We stayed for a romantic weekend over the Memorial Day weekend. From the very beginning, you are made to fell like family, a welcome guest and the owners do everything to make the stay worth while. The views are spectacular! Want a quiet getaway? This is the place! We counted, maybe, three cars passing by during the day, and one was a visitor at Piney Hills. My wife and I enjoyed a couple's massage, chocolate covered strawberries, fresh fruit trays, and many more services available to us. Hot tub was clean and comfortable. Rooms are beautifully decorated (as well as the entire house), beds comfortable and the video collection the envy of all. And the food was very tasty, well prepared, and beautifully served. Wiley's French toast with fresh farm sausage was the best! We booked reservations for a come back visit in October...we cannot say enough. A MUST stay!!!
John and Missy

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
5 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,017 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
58 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#5 of 9 in Luray
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
18.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
4.8 mi away
South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piney Hill Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1048 Piney Hill Rd, Luray, VA 22835-6350
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range: £119 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luray VA Bed & Breakfast and Cottage Rentals in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. Home of the Luray Caverns. We are nestled on a 2 acre hilltop in the country, minutes from Shenandoah National Park with spectacular views of the Skyline Drive. We offer 2 luxury cottages in a private setting as well as 3 standard guest rooms in the main house. A full country style breakfast is served each morning. Our All Season lodging provides a peaceful country haven and the perfect place for a get-away whether romantic, relaxing or adventurous. Enjoy the outdoor fire pit, spectacular mountain and valley views, area hiking, VA wineries, canoeing on the Shenandoah River, horseback riding, fishing, antique shopping, skiing, exploring area caverns and so much more. Make our home your home base while visiting and exploring Luray, Virginia. Add a Honeymoon, Anniversary, Elopement, Romance, Adventure, Relaxation or Birthday package to your stay. Piney Hill Gift Certificates available for all occasions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Piney Hill Bed And Breakfast
Piney Hill Hotel Luray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing