We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fabulous getaway!”
River front cabin with beautiful forest views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
River front cabin with beautiful forest views
Living Area with Pull Out Sleeper (not shown) Enormous hot tub with river views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
River front cabin with beautiful forest views
Living Area with Pull Out Sleeper (not shown)
Enormous hot tub with river views
Kitchen with New Appliances and Cabinets
Screened in porch for evening relaxation
Master Bedroom with Queen Sleigh Bed and Dresser
Kitchen & Dining Area - Can See River from Here!
2nd Queen Bedroom
3rd Queen Bedroom
View Down River
View Up River
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dswestern
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
“A fabulous getaway!”
Reviewed 9 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Some friends and I were looking for a place to get away to celebrate a milestone birthday and found Shenandoah Stars. We are so glad we did! The photos online were not at all misleading as some can be. The main rooms were a good size, the kitchen was updated, it had a fabulous fireplace (and tons of firewood), and a spectacular hot tub (probably can fit 8 people in there if you wanted!). It rained while we were there but because the hot tub was within a screened-in porch it didn’t hamper our fun. We did a lot of cooking and the kitchen was fully stocked with literally every item we needed (of course we brought the food). The river was practically right outside our door and there was a fire pit that we planned to enjoy, but never got around to. Some of us had to work while there and found that the internet was surprisingly fast for being in the mountains. There is no cell phone service in the area but we could text and they had a landline we were able to use when needed. All in all, we had a great trip and will definitely return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana O
1 review
“Great Getaway”
Reviewed 28 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We have stayed many times over the past several years and love it every time we stay. It is our vacation home away from home! Absolutely Awesome!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunman_Da...
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
“Exactly what we needed”
Reviewed 8 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Shenandoah Stars is exactly as advertised - a perfectly maintained large rental house with beautiful views alongside a gorgeous river. In the winter the entire area was empty, providing us with the peace and quiet we desperately needed. We took in the heavenly surroundings, soaked in the hot tub, built cozy fires in the fireplace, played board games as a family, and got away from the craziness of our normal lives for one blessed weekend.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb C
Springfield, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving on the Shanandoah”
Reviewed 29 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

My husband and I have rented a cabin in Luray for many years now. This is the first time we rented the same cabin two years in a row. We have three dogs, so finding a pet friendly place on the river with a hot tub (our standard rental requirements) is not always that easy. Shanendoah Stars was perfect to meet our mini holiday vacation needs and host a small group of friends for thanksgiving. We spent the day and evening around the campfire and watching the river and Mountain View’s. The place is clean, quiet And peaceful. We suspect we will be back again (well, unless we find our own little slice of heaven to own) ☺️

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2017
Deb, I'm very glad that you guys were able to enjoy Shenandoah Stars. Thanks for spending the time to tell others.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy I
2 reviews
“Awesome rental!”
Reviewed 15 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The House was clean and well stocked with everything you need. The proximity to the river and the view was awesome!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2017
Wendy, thanks for telling others! We'll see you next time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bassn72
Colonial Heights, Virginia
1 review
“Riverside with a Smile.”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Great place to stay. Clean and comfy. Love being right on the river. Only downfall would be 1 bathroom, but the wife wanted to take the shower back home with us. Conoes on site is a plus. We would definitely return to stay. Thanks, had a great and enjoyable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2017
Thanks for the review, glad you guys were able to have a great time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JesOlson2...
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“Solid Rental, with Rustic Charm”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The rental company was wonderful to work with; kept me well-informed through the whole process, and responded very quickly when we were unsure whether the hot tub had been treated (it had-but they came to inspect it anyway). The location is wonderful and suits 8-9 people perfectly well. The two canoes were easily accessible and easy to get in the water. Note, however, that the river is quite shallow here, which is fine, but be prepared to push off of some rocks in a few places along the river as you paddle. Now, we had everything we needed, but future renter beware, this is a fairly rustic set up. The a/c worked great, the kitchen was well-equipped with basics, BUT the beds were well-worn and not terrifically comfortable (ok, so it's not a hotel...) and we had some visitors. Mice chewed through our bag of bread left out on the counter (and the rolls of spare toilet paper in the bathroom) and we had some baby frogs (or toads?) hop through the kitchen late one night. Not a deal-breaker for us; just a heads up that you are looking at a well-equipped cabin in the mountains, not a luxurious rental. The property was wonderful. We spent most of our time on the screened porch, where we could see the kids play on the river bank. The backyard is well shaded and has a great fire pit area and picnic table. The hot tub on the screened porch is nice, but treated with bromine instead of chlorine, which has a different smell than we were used to. Again, totally fine, just different. We'd definitely go again. So nice to have the amenities (e.g., porch, canoes, etc.) and the rental company was so pleasant to work with.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
We are looking into the issues you mentioned and they will be taken care of. We are pricing some new mattresses as well. Thanks for coming out, and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing