We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful and relaxing stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cabins at Brookside
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Marion, Virginia
1 review
“Wonderful and relaxing stay”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We were so blessed to stay in Cabin 4, the food in the Restaurant was wonderful, the service was excellent. The serene lovely setting of the Brookside Cabins enabled us to rest and continue on with our journey. We are looking forward to a longer stay in the future.

Room Tip: There are surprises in each cabin - we had no idea the sky lights in cabin 4 added so much charm and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheri w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    32
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
96
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We first stayed at Brookside 20 years ago and decided while in VA we would look up the place to reminience memories from years gone by. We stayed once again in cabin #5 and found it to be getting very tired looking. The interior was just as remembered, (right down to the wreath hanging on the wall) but the exterior has carpenter bees doing major destruction on this once beautiful cabin. If you are looking for rustic this is your place. To us, the cabin exteriors could use a good power washing. We chose to have dinner in the restaurant and the food was over/under cooked/tough meat and tasteless. And yes, we did mention it to the wait staff and they did remove from the buffet a couple of items we complained about. We chose not to take a chance on breakfast. I guess nothing stays the same. Just disappointed and the night we stayed we were the only residence.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roomful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

We booked at Brookside based solely on how cute the place looked as we drove by, and we were never disappointed in our choice. In fact, we kept getting more and more pleased. We had cabin 5, which was clean, plenty spacious, full of light, and, as advertised, right beside the creek. I would definitely come again, next time with friends to fill the other cabins so we could have our own adult summer camp. Loved the skylight in the bathroom! No phones or tvs in the cabins, which just adds to the charm! When you stay there, be sure to have breakfast at the Brookside Restaurant and enjoy the scene as the servers greet you with a smile and bring you delicus food, and the friendly, wonderful regulars slowly trickle in.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed in Cabin #8 which was huge for 2 people, but I wanted to be as close to the water as possible. The creek runs right beside the back deck which borders the forest and is a wonderful place to just relax. There are a lot of things I love about the cabin. It was clean, spacious, modern, beautifully furnished. It's nice to have the restaurant on the premises but the food is very average although reasonably priced. The waitstaff are friendly. The downsides are there was a faint smell of stale smoke in the cabin. I see in their listings they have a no-smoking policy, so this must have been left-over odors. I did get used to it after a while. It is RIGHT on the highway, so it is not secluded and there is traffic noise, but I got used to that as well although I would have preferred silence. There is no hospitality so it's run like a motel, but priced liked a B&B. If you're into the sound of running water, as I am, this is a great choice. It's out of the mainstream of the tourist areas, but close enough to be near a lot of attractions.

Room Tip: Cabin #8 would easily accommodate a family and the large deck by the creek is delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letsrunaway53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We have stayed in two different cabins on two separate occasions and could not have been more pleased. The accommodations were spotless,the service excellent and we truly felt welcome. We have already planned our next trip and would not think of staying anywhere else.
We visit for the fall foliage change viewed from Shenandoah National Park making Brookside convenient to the park and many other points of interest. We had several meals at the restaurant the breakfasts were especially good and the staff so friendly, a great way to start ones day.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed in Cabin No. 5 for three nights in December and loved every minute of it. Cool or cold outisde, yes, but cozy inside, and peace and quiet in abundance. Shenandoah is beautiful in winter, too. Someone has put careful attention into every inch of the cabin, and kept every inch clean and in good shape. The brook is right behind the cabin, with a deck sized just right for a couple to sit happily and appreciate the beauty. The cabins are designed thoughtfully to try to provide some privacy even while sitting on the back deck. The staff are first rate. We found this a wonderful winter getaway (at a 30 percent discount off regular rates), and it's just a few hundred yards from the entrance to the park. Be sure to drive around Luray if you come. It's a beautiful town.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeKalb, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed two nights in the smallest cabin. It was a wonderful stay. The cabin was cozy and comfortable. The cabin is recently renovated--clean and well appointed. We liked the skylights and the front porch. There is a back door, with a small deck. The brook runs behind the backyard. Easy access to Shenandoah National Park, where we hiked two days. We ate a dinner and two breakfasts in the restaurant at The Cabins and had good, basic food and excellent, friendly service.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marksleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
4.6 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
4.5 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#2 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
15.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cabins at Brookside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cabins at Brookside

Property: The Cabins at Brookside
Address: 2978 US Highway 211 E, Luray, VA 22835-4767
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than eighty years, Brookside has been welcoming guests from around the world in Luray, Shenandoah Valley, Virginia, USA. Our vacation rental cabins are near the entrance to Shenandoah National Park. The rear of the cabins open to decks or sun rooms which overlook a scenic bubbling brook. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cabins At Brookside Hotel Luray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing