We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, practical, cozy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cabins at Brookside
Ranked #4 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming, practical, cozy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

If you are looking for a reasonably price, practical, cozy and updated cabin NEAR Skyline Dr, this is the place. My boyfriend and I love to eat, so the restaurant next door came in handy. Food was good and reasonable, service excellent. The fall foliage was an added bonus, so were the amenities for a cabin. I agree with most of those reviews who gave it high marks. So keep up the good work!! Definitely plan to be back..

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciaobella0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    32
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
96
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

We had planned a trip to the Shenandoah mountains for late fall, not knowing anything about Hurricane Sandy at the time. When we arrived, we were unable to stay in the park as planned. My husband and I left the park very disappointed and not having anywhere to stay. We eat at the Brookside Diner every time we visit the area, because we love the peanut butter pie :), but had never stayed in the cabins. We booked a cabin for the two days we would be in town. The staff was incredibly helpful and nice throughout our visit and even provided us with water and flashlights in case we lost power. We enjoyed our stay despite Hurricane Sandy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

My husband stayed in Cabin 9 at the Brookside Cabins for a weekend getaway. The cabin was clean, cute, and very comfortable. The daily maid service was good. The cabins are at the foot of and Blue Ridge Mountains in Luray. We drove about 4 miles up the mountain to the entrance of the park, and about 3-4 miles in the other direction to the town of Luray. It was a lovely weekend!

Room Tip: There is a restaurant on site that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food is just okay, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGG50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights. The cabin was spotless. Everyone who worked there was attentive and nice. Try the restaurant next door you will not be disappointed. A bargain next to the cost of staying in the park.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Packers24421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We were here during the labor day weekend in Cabin 6. One of the primary reasons for choosing this place was that it had decks next to the brook. Well, the brook is really a very narrow stream and it is quite difficult to sit in the deck for long because of bugs. The cabins are old but neatly maintained. You might want to carry an insect repellent which might come handy. The location is very convenient as it is close to both Luray Caverns as well as the Skyline Drive. The staff at the restaurant is very friendly and the food is excellent, probably the best bargain in the area. The cabins are surely overpriced for what you would expect, but they have been in business over many years. Overall, we had a very fun filled and memorable trip.

Room Tip: Get a cabin with an elevated brookside deck, like Cabin 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soul_Searcher331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

I loved the look of this place online and the prices were the cheapest I could find, but we were a little disappointed. We stayed in cabin 4, the smallest and cheapest. It looked like it could use updating. Looked like there had been water damage, but they didn't completely finish the fix. It's not like water was leaking through the roof, but you could see that there had been water damage. It seemed clean at first, and I suppose they did the best they could, but there were always gnats or ants flying around inside. Not enough to be bothersome, but a few here and there in the bathroom made me wonder why they charged $85 a night plus tax for our "luxury" cabin. It was definitely a decent size for the two of us. Wouldn't need anything bigger. The coffee pot was dirty though, and the mugs there for us to use had some kind of residue on them, so we didn't use them. I'll be looking into the Days Inn down the road for our next stay in Luray.

Oh but the people there were always very hospitable!

Room Tip: Here's a tip, just find someplace else to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We were so blessed to stay in Cabin 4, the food in the Restaurant was wonderful, the service was excellent. The serene lovely setting of the Brookside Cabins enabled us to rest and continue on with our journey. We are looking forward to a longer stay in the future.

Room Tip: There are surprises in each cabin - we had no idea the sky lights in cabin 4 added so much charm and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheri w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
4.6 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
4.5 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
15.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cabins at Brookside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cabins at Brookside

Property: The Cabins at Brookside
Address: 2978 US Highway 211 E, Luray, VA 22835-4767
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than eighty years, Brookside has been welcoming guests from around the world in Luray, Shenandoah Valley, Virginia, USA. Our vacation rental cabins are near the entrance to Shenandoah National Park. The rear of the cabins open to decks or sun rooms which overlook a scenic bubbling brook. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cabins At Brookside Hotel Luray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing