We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cabins at Brookside
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband and I stayed there in August 2013. The cabin was wonderful, clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. No phones, no TV just relaxation. Highly recommend it for great weekend getaway. Enjoyed sitting on the porches (front or back) and just watching the creek and the traffic going by.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redmtnbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    32
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
96
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

2nd time we have stayed at Brookside. Stayed in cabin #3. Very nice CLEAN cabin with fireplace, sitting room, nice large bed and best of all a hot tub in the middle of the living room. The perfect place to relax and the Brookside diner is just a short one minute walk away and they have excellent food and hospitality. Had a nice dinner. Sat out back behind the cabin at the ede of the creek and just relaxed. Will definitely go back again soon. It's a refreshing change of pace from the typical hotel/motel experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hughesville, MD
Level Contributor
362 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

For $85 a night, you can't beat it. Check in at 4pm, we arrived at 3:50p and were given our key to cabin #4, the smallest cabin. We were told to always keep the key with you because the door locks automatically when closed. There is a stream that runs behing the cabin. You have two chairs and a side porch. I tried moving the chairs to the stream but the gnats were terrible, even with the candles they provided. There is a cute front porch with two chair and no gnats. The cabin is cute, cozy and clean. The cabin is larger inside than it appears on the outside. Your bedroom, bathroom and a small area with coffee maker and small refrigerator. The bed is very comfortable but there is a skylight directly above the bed which made for early rising when the sun shined in. The window in the bedroom had blinds but no curtain to keep the sun out. There is a skylight in the bathroom but if you crack the door shut the sun should not bother you from there. The cabins are in a row close together, however, our neighbors were quiet. The cabins are on the road and you can hear the traffic but the traffic decreased at night and did not bother us while we slept. There is a window unit air conditioning that you can adjust the temperature on. I wish the AC unit was somewhere else in the room because it blows on the bed when on. Overall, we loved the cabin. We will definitely return. The restaurant in the same parking lot had great food too. Some of the other cabins were larger with large decks on the back, see there website. The cabin was about 10 minutes from downtown and 20 minutes from the park.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fishtherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I went with my friend to Brookside cabins in Luray, Virginia in December 2012. The cabins are placed on the mountains, a very cold and isolated place perfect for relaxation. The cabins are amazing; very clean, warm and cosy. The cabin had one big bedroom, a nice living room, no T.V and a big, spectacular jacuzi. The view is outstanding, right in front of the mountains where you can have a clear view of the sky.. No noise pollution of any kind.

I don't recommend it for people who are into clubbing or festives, the special thing about this place is the quietness and serenity. The cabin fits for two people, a non smoking place, there is wi-fi included but it's not the best speed because of the location of the cabin.

Me and my friend paud around 120 dollars for the night, not cheap but not over priced for those who want an escape for their holidays.

I totally enjoyed my time there. Oh, for those who like touristic spots, Luray Caverns are about 5 miles away from the cabin, I wasn't very impressed by them but still they're something if you are into geology and stuff!

Room Tip: Ask for a microwave as you check in, restaurant closes at 6 and you may starve as the nearest delive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

been going here 6 years now...the latest late 2012. have taken my parents a few times...and have gone with just my hubby and myself a few times! we just love it! the accommodations run from a small cabin with one bedroom...no living room.. private bath for about $65 per night to the biggest 2 bedroom...full kitchen...big living room with fireplace and big sunroom in back of cabin with 2 full baths and large outdoor deck for $200 per night! each cabin in landscaped....climate control for heat or air conditioning. coffee maker...coffee etc....extra pillows...blankets. behind every cabin runs a small babbling brook that in summer you can play in...deepest part maybe 1 to 1.5 feet! some small boulders to navigate if you'd like! every cabin has outdoor furniture out back on decks where you can move to beside the creek that is about 15 ft from the back of your cabin! also....there is outdoor furniture on your front deck as well...as every cabin as a deck! there is free parking in front of your cabin! the property rests at the foot of the mountains...very lovely! a restaurant is onsite....good and inexpensive food...BLD served. a gift shop onsite as well with lovely things! the ladies who clean...run the restaurant and run the gift shop....especially diane and the "resident" cat....brookside's mascot in the gift shop are a joy! we are going back again in two weeks for my birthday "weekend"!!!! by husband planned it and doesn't know i know but i do! can't wait! and you shouldn't either! it's nature at its finest! and very easy to get to! bears....deer galore!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaunaGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

My husband and I returned to Brookside Cabins to celebrate Valentine's Day and once again the staff was amazingly helpful, our cabin was impeccably clean and we immediately felt at home. The restaurant was open this weekend and our meal was outstanding; the prime rib was the best I have ever eaten and the all you can eat bar was excellent! Needless to say, we will be back again next year and the year after! Thank you Brookside Cabins for an amazing weekend!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2gether20yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stayed the weekend in the Tranquil Cottage after reading such good reviews of the cabins. We weren't disappointed at all! The cottage is about 5 minutes from the cabins tucked away in the woods. It was so nice to get out of the city for a few days.

The staff was very friendly & accommodating to everything we needed. The cottage was clean when we arrived & very relaxing. The fireplace in the sitting room was nice to have being that it was quite cold outside. The kitchen was well stocked & came in handy to cook breakfast.

We will definitely return in the fall.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdnapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
4.6 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
4.5 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#2 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
15.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cabins at Brookside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cabins at Brookside

Property: The Cabins at Brookside
Address: 2978 US Highway 211 E, Luray, VA 22835-4767
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than eighty years, Brookside has been welcoming guests from around the world in Luray, Shenandoah Valley, Virginia, USA. Our vacation rental cabins are near the entrance to Shenandoah National Park. The rear of the cabins open to decks or sun rooms which overlook a scenic bubbling brook. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cabins At Brookside Hotel Luray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing