We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest folks you will want to meet!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My wife and I spent a wonderful weekend here to celebrate our 10th anniversary. We stayed in the cottage just next to the house but enjoyed a most DELICIOUS breakfast on Saturday and Sunday. I am not talking about just plain bacon and eggs either. Mr. Tom should start his own cooking show! HAHA The owners prepared the table with fine china and silver to depict the history of the house and briefly explained the pieces. What a nice added feature. You can tell they work hard to make your stay extremely enjoyable. The house was clean and decorated beautifully. The cottage we stayed in was updated with a huge whirlpool tub and flat panel tv with DVD player. There were hundreds of movies to pick from. If you are going to be visiting Skyline Drive and/or Luray Caverns or any other point of interest, we highly recommend staying at the South Court Inn!!

Room Tip: The cottage gives you total privacy and is stocked with everything you need including a small refrig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2011

We were very pleased with the South Court Inn. We stayed in the Edith Hayes room and were very pleased with it. The bed was super comfortable and the room was clean and cozy. We enjoyed waking up and drinking coffee on the front porch before breakfast.The breakfasts in the morning are quite exceptional. You won't leave the table hungry! They have a large DVD collection so spending a quiet night with a movie enjoying a bottle of wine is something we enjoyed.
This was our first say in a B&B and were very pleased. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondie4908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

One of the most beautifully furnished B&Bs/homes I have ever seen. Tom's meals were to die for. We stayed in the Edith Hayes room and were very pleased with the room and the whirlpool tub, although we had to put a towel over part of the tub while showering in order to keep water from leaking into the room below us. Overall, though, very nice stay. We would visit again.

Room Tip: While we were there, second-story shower water leaked into a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Sam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCI-Owner, Owner at South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

We're sorry the shower clouded an otherwise outstanding visit and apologized at the time. Old houses are formidable and, all too frequently, eccentric partners. Installing and maintaining whirlpool tubs and showers only add a magnitude of possible problems. Just last month we spent a good bit on the shower and will have the engineer back as soon as possible. In the meantime, we'd like everyone to know that the problem can be avoided by simply setting a hand towel on the edge of the tub closest to the shower wall to prevent the water that runs down that wall from getting out of the tub. It is a simple and easy cure when the occupant actually uses the hand towel and must be our temporary cure while we wait an esthetic engineered fix.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We had a terrific stay in Luray, specifically at the South Court Inn. We stayed in the largest room in the house, on the first floor, complete with our own king bed and canopy, beautiful furniture and curtains, and private bath. The lengths that the innkeepers went through to select their furniture and ornamentation was so very interesting. We had the most interesting breakfasts, including french toast with an exquisite Banana Fosters topping our first morning. Extra care and consideration was placed in each breakfast. The innkeeper even offered to cook eggs for those who wanted something different than the menu offered, or were still hungry (which was hard to be after such a filling breakfast.)

The house and grounds were kept in fine fashion, and the innkeepers were converting over to a fall theme the weekend that we stayed there.

I would definitely stay at this B&B again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I recommend South Court Inn for those looking to relax and unwind in a calm and quiet environment.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast while traveling in the area to do some hiking. We loved our time there. The house was beautiful with great attention to detail. The room was spotless and very comfortable after a long day of hiking. Tom's breakfasts and special coffee blend was a great way to start of a full day, We look forward to when we can return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthonyBethany_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Everything went smoothly with our wedding at South Court Inn. Owners are very professional,
breakfast was very good - best sausage i ever had. For the price you wont find

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.3 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,005 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
52 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
14.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 160 S Court St, Luray, VA 22835-1217
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range: £142 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The South Court Inn is a converted Victorian Farmhouse that is now a B&B that includes a guest cottage. Located in the Shenandoah Valley, home to Luray Caverns, Shenandoah National Park and Skyline Drive. Special packages and gift certificates are available for every occasion. We aim to be a "Gracious Oasis" in your busy life and cater to couples seeking warm, elegant surroundings and romantic atmosphere for quality time together. Canopy beds, private baths, fireplaces and queen or king beds in 4 guestrooms, 3 whirlpool tubs. The private 3-room South Court Inn Cottage offers a shower bath, 60" whirlpool tub, 35" and 20" color TVs, personal patio with pergola and up to 4 guests aged 14 and older. We are located in a quiet residential neighborhood with private off-street parking. Our multi-course candlelight breakfasts round out your special getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing