We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We recently returned from a 2-day visit to Luray and, while there, stayed at the South Court Inn's cottage, adjacent to the house. It was very roomy and comfortable, with a nice kitchen area. We were greeted with a basket of snacks as well as the chocolate covered strawberries we had ordered. They were just delicious! Each morning, we were treated to coffee and a little treat by the front door by 8:00 am, and then to an absolutely phenomenal breakfast each day. Adelheid is a great cook, and we loved all the freshly made scones, quiche with bacon, blackberry coffee cake, savory sage sausage, and apple pancakes which were not like any pancakes I have ever had, served with their own tiny pitcher of delicious syrup. Also included were chopped fresh fruit salsa and fruit salad with a variety of juices and more freshly roasted coffee. The breakfasts were so satisfying and memorable that they do not compare with any bed and breakfast inns we have stayed at in the past. We were also treated to glasses of wine and Adelheid's special homemade cookies. We felt very comfortable there, and Mike helped us work the DVD player so that we could enjoy one of the many movies offered at the Inn during our stay. We felt very cared for, and both Mike and Adelheid were personable and attentive to our needs. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the Luray area!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, Owner at South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

What a nice review! Thanks a LOT! WE are very happy you enjoyed your time with us!
:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

I never wrote a review after my husband and I stayed and were married at the South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast 8 years ago. I have to say it was absolutely beautiful and very inviting and comfortable. The marriage ceremony was both exquisite and romantic. Both Michael and Adelheid Osmers were so warm and welcoming it certainly gave credence to the "southern hospitality" adage. The rooms were so beautifully decorated and comfortable. We hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, Owner at South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Wow, that was something! Thank you so much, we really appreciate the kudos! Looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This place is amazing. We stayed from Friday night to Monday morning. The host are extremely friendly and really made us feel like we were home. Each morning we got a pot of warm coffee and a nice morning treat right outside our room door. Each morning we got an amazing 2 - 3 course breakfast that was different from the day before.
We stayed in the cottage that was not attached to the main house, so it felt more private. We still had a key to the main house which was great because every day there was a different treat that was put out along with coffee and tea. Also we had a mini fridge that was refilled with soda and water each morning.
We definitely plan to come back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, Owner at South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thanks for the super review! We are glad you felt pampered and enjoyed the extras, especially the food! Adelheid is all about the food! Looking forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is a wonderful place to get away and enjoy all Luray and the surrounding area has to offer. The owners were fantastic and spoiled us completely. We felt welcome from the moment we arrived, breakfast was healthy and delicious, and we loved every minute of our stay!! We will be back!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, Owner at South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you for the great review! We are very happy you had a wonderful time, that's what we're all about here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My boyfriend and I decided we wanted to get away from our normal routine and do something special for Valentine's Day. Staying at South Court in was just what we needed! Mike and Adelheid were very gracious hosts - they were so welcoming and accommodating. It was great to talk to Mike and hear about all the different local things to do and all the great dining options that were available. The 3-course breakfast was amazing, along with all the other snacks and treats that were out at various times! We stayed in the Ruby room which was beautiful and the mini fridge was stocked with lots of great items and the chocolates left in the room and beverages outside of the room in the morning were added bonuses. It was a perfect way to celebrate Valentine's Day (or anyday for that matter). We are playing on coming back to stay soon!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, Owner at South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you very much for the kind words! We are happy we were able to help make a special Valentine's day for you both and look forward to when you can come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We spent two nights and had a great time. The breakfasts were exceptional - well thought out, well paced, well presented, and most importantly, they tasted great! While there, one of the other guests was gluten intolerant, and the hosts did a good job of taking that into account when planning the breakfasts. They put a tea tray at our door every morning before breakfast and Adelheid's afternoon snacks were to die for - especially the flourless chocolate cake. Don't plan on dieting while there - it won't happen. We are already planning a return trip!

Room Tip: The cottage is good for groups or if you want to get away from people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, Owner at South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

We are very happy you had a nice time with us! We strive to make our guests feel at home, though as you say, dieting is not on the agenda! Guten appetite!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Mike and Adelheid were gracious and generous hosts from the welcome chocolates (made locally) to the well stocked mini fridge and welcome basket in the room. The Ruby Room was absolutely lovely with a firm bed that gave us a wonderful night's sleep. We had the biggest bathroom of all the rooms (but note there is no shower in this bath) just a 2-person whirlpool tub. We enjoyed the yummy breakfasts, the all-day tea and hot chocolate center in the sun room, and reading by the gas fireplace in the parlor. Mike and Adelheid were a pleasure to talk with. For those looking to get away from it all (a 30 minute drive from Front Royal), then this place is for you. We feel like we made new friends and we plan on going back in September for our anniversary.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGibbs1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, Owner at South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for a wonderful review! I think you'll be pleasantly surprised with how nice the area is when you come back in September and it's not winter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.3 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,021 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
59 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,334 reviews
9.2 mi away
Big Meadows Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge
#1 of 8 in Shenandoah National Park
1,169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 160 S Court St, Luray, VA 22835-1217
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range: £128 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The South Court Inn is a converted Victorian Farmhouse that is now a B&B that includes a guest cottage. Located in the Shenandoah Valley, home to Luray Caverns, Shenandoah National Park and Skyline Drive. Special packages and gift certificates are available for every occasion. We aim to be a "Gracious Oasis" in your busy life and cater to couples seeking warm, elegant surroundings and romantic atmosphere for quality time together. Canopy beds, private baths, fireplaces and queen or king beds in 4 guestrooms, 3 whirlpool tubs. The private 3-room South Court Inn Cottage offers a shower bath, 60" whirlpool tub, 35" and 20" color TVs, personal patio with pergola and up to 4 guests aged 14 and older. We are located in a quiet residential neighborhood with private off-street parking. Our multi-course candlelight breakfasts round out your special getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing