We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights at South Court Inn and loved it! First of all, Adelheid and Mike are very kind and attentive and make you feel really at home. We also really enjoyed meeting there daughter, Anika (sp?)- she was lovely and a delight to talk with and gave us a tour of the garden and beautiful property.

If a good breakfast is important to you when you travel- you will not be disappointed. The breakfasts here were amazing!! The first course was a blueberry scone and I am not exaggerating when I say it was the best scone I have ever had in my life! (I love scones and yes, she was kind enough to give me the recipe as well as tips on how to prep the dough)--after fresh fruit and scones came the hot, main course. The dining room is grand with a beautiful table and place settings, fresh flowers, and plenty of hot coffee. And, if you are a coffee drinker- a tray with hot coffee is left outside your room before breakfast. We did not need to eat lunch after this filling breakfast- and if we did get a little hungry later in afternoon or after dinner, there were plenty of available snacks in our room and in the sunroom/ indoor porch. If you are as lucky as we were you will get to enjoy some of Adelheid's home-made cookies :)
We stayed in the room downstairs with a king size bed where I had the best nights sleep that I have had in a long time. I am not really a good sleeper and usually don't sleep well when we travel. This bed was actually more comfortable than my own bed at home. The room itself was spacious and there was a little mini-fridge also. My favorite room in the common area of the house was the sun room. Lots of comfy furniture and a good place to curl up with a book and a few cookies :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuddenSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, Owner at South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you so much…you are not the first to report the bed is better than 'at home', they are really, really nice, good thing breakfast is at 9!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    49
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
413
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here one night before heading to Sperryville for a wedding. It was the perfect quiet retreat to help us prepare for the busy-ness of my best friend's wedding. The Ruby room has a great two person jacuzzi which we enjoyed, the bed is draped with cloth, making it very cozy and romantic. The sheets were the softest I've ever slept on. We enjoyed walking around the yard and checking out the garden that contributed some of the ingredients for our delicious breakfast. Location is perfect, close to the main street, and easy to get to the Wisteria winery, the closest to the town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suitejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, Owner at South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you very much, we hope you'll decide to stay with us a bit longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at South Court Inn for a wedding weekend in Luray. It was our first experience at a B and B an we just loved it! The innkeepers are a friendly couple that really make you feel at home. Breakfast is yummy and then there are the baked treats that show up at the sun room! Highly recommend this beautiful, friendly and yummy home!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariamvega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, Owner at South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The South Court Inn takes you back in time and to another place that is such a relaxing break from the stresses of everyday life. The high ceilings and tastefully historic decor characterize this B&B's spacious and charming feel. The innkeepers are especially hospitable and accommodating, even taking into consideration special dietary needs, while maintaining the absolutely delicious standards for breakfast foods as well as pastries made a available throughout the day. The reasonably priced package deals that include tickets to the caverns, in room massage, wine, chocolate covered strawberries, roses and more, are certainly worth considering if a pampering getaway is the goal.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank st10394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We recently returned from a 2-day visit to Luray and, while there, stayed at the South Court Inn's cottage, adjacent to the house. It was very roomy and comfortable, with a nice kitchen area. We were greeted with a basket of snacks as well as the chocolate covered strawberries we had ordered. They were just delicious! Each morning, we were treated to coffee and a little treat by the front door by 8:00 am, and then to an absolutely phenomenal breakfast each day. Adelheid is a great cook, and we loved all the freshly made scones, quiche with bacon, blackberry coffee cake, savory sage sausage, and apple pancakes which were not like any pancakes I have ever had, served with their own tiny pitcher of delicious syrup. Also included were chopped fresh fruit salsa and fruit salad with a variety of juices and more freshly roasted coffee. The breakfasts were so satisfying and memorable that they do not compare with any bed and breakfast inns we have stayed at in the past. We were also treated to glasses of wine and Adelheid's special homemade cookies. We felt very comfortable there, and Mike helped us work the DVD player so that we could enjoy one of the many movies offered at the Inn during our stay. We felt very cared for, and both Mike and Adelheid were personable and attentive to our needs. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the Luray area!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, Owner at South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
What a nice review! Thanks a LOT! WE are very happy you enjoyed your time with us!
:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I never wrote a review after my husband and I stayed and were married at the South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast 8 years ago. I have to say it was absolutely beautiful and very inviting and comfortable. The marriage ceremony was both exquisite and romantic. Both Michael and Adelheid Osmers were so warm and welcoming it certainly gave credence to the "southern hospitality" adage. The rooms were so beautifully decorated and comfortable. We hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, Owner at South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Wow, that was something! Thank you so much, we really appreciate the kudos! Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This place is amazing. We stayed from Friday night to Monday morning. The host are extremely friendly and really made us feel like we were home. Each morning we got a pot of warm coffee and a nice morning treat right outside our room door. Each morning we got an amazing 2 - 3 course breakfast that was different from the day before.
We stayed in the cottage that was not attached to the main house, so it felt more private. We still had a key to the main house which was great because every day there was a different treat that was put out along with coffee and tea. Also we had a mini fridge that was refilled with soda and water each morning.
We definitely plan to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, Owner at South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thanks for the super review! We are glad you felt pampered and enjoyed the extras, especially the food! Adelheid is all about the food! Looking forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.3 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
6.6 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 160 S Court St, Luray, VA 22835-1217
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The South Court Inn is a converted Victorian Farmhouse that is now a B&B that includes a guest cottage. Located in the Shenandoah Valley, home to Luray Caverns, Shenandoah National Park and Skyline Drive. Special packages and gift certificates are available for every occasion. We aim to be a "Gracious Oasis" in your busy life and cater to couples seeking warm, elegant surroundings and romantic atmosphere for quality time together. Canopy beds, private baths, fireplaces and queen or king beds in 4 guestrooms, 3 whirlpool tubs. The private 3-room South Court Inn Cottage offers a shower bath, 60" whirlpool tub, 35" and 20" color TVs, personal patio with pergola and up to 4 guests aged 14 and older. We are located in a quiet residential neighborhood with private off-street parking. Our multi-course candlelight breakfasts round out your special getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing