We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Serene and perfect for a weekend getaway”
Romantic Couples Cabin with Mountain Views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Romantic Couples Cabin with Mountain Views
Romantic Hawksbill Retreat private onsite fishing lake.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Romantic Couples Cabin with Mountain Views
Romantic
Hawksbill Retreat private onsite fishing lake.
Rockers
Private Hot Tubs With Mountain Views at each cabin.
Fire Pit and Seating at All Cabins.
Local winery only 1/2 mile from Hawksbill Retreat.
View of the Blue Ridge Mountains from Hawksbill Retreat.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Melissa F
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Serene and perfect for a weekend getaway”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Stayed in Cabin 6 and it was cozy, modern, comfortable, and spotless. The location of the cabin does not provide a view of the mountains, only trees, but still lovely. There are not many cabins on this property, which is a good thing, because the cabins do not sit on top of each other and provide privacy.

The cabin has a full kitchen with breakfast bar, a nice bathroom with washer and dryer, an electric fireplace, a sitting area, and a queen size bed. Outside, the front porch is spacious with a table for two. Out back is a grill and a hot tub that has privacy fencing around it. On the side of the cabin is a fire pit with the wood already in place for use.

Overall, a great experience and would visit again. Only recommendation I would make is to bring extra pillows for the bed, as only two were provided and they were not comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy
Liked least: The pillows on the bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel R
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed in Cabin 10 and were very happy with the cabin. The view of the mountains each morning as we had our coffee was breathtaking. Very quite and peaceful retreat. My spouse and I did not use the hot tub as it rained the whole time we were there, but it looked great. The shower was large with dual heads. Loved having a washer and dryer in the cabin. Cabin itself was open and airy, did not feel cramped at all.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
805lindse...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Mountains View Perfect Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I traveled here for a weekend getaway with my girlfriend. We stayed in Cabin 7 which had an amazingly breathtaking view of the mountains. The outdoor of the cabin has that rustic outdoorsy feel but once you get inside the modern decor makes you feel like you are glamping in the mountains. The unit was spotless and once you open the door your nose is greeted with a very pleasant but not overpowering air freshener aroma. The bathroom shower had two shower heads which made for a refreshing shower. The private outdoor hot tub was great to soak in and watch the sun go down. You get your own fire pit which was great to cuddle up to after our dip in the hot tub. Overall this place was wonderful to have a weekend getaway and let me emphasize on the getaway because I barely received signal while I was there. They have WiFi, but that was spotty at most times. So make sure you go to Hawksbill with someone you can stand to be around the whole time without the need to be on your devices to pass the time away. I definitely plan on going back to this glamping retreat especially in the fall when the leaves on the trees are amazing and the weather is not too hot or too cold.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The decor and cleanliness of the room.
Liked least: The connectivity of the WiFi was pretty weak.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parvathy...
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Getaway”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed in cabin #9 during the long weekend. The mornings are very beautiful in this place. We went for a walk around in the morning. The cabin has all the facilities and modern.They have a fully stocked kitchen and washer and dryer in the cabin itself. The hot tub is reasonably clean and well maintained. Wisteria Winery is very close to the cabin and there are few restaurants nearby. There is a fireplace in every cabin. The rules are very strict and we did extensive cleaning before leaving the place. Overall i would recommend this place to anyone for a romantic getaway.
Tips: Get an extra bounty for the cleaning.
Carry your own towels for use if possible.
Get your own DVD's to watch something.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
671paul_j...
Berlin, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights for an anniversary visit. Our expectations were met in every way. The cabin was spotless, well appointed and well stocked for our stay. The cabin had a front porch with a table where we had our meals and had excellent views of the mountains. The bathroom was immaculate with tiled shower and washer/dryer. There was a nice hot tub steps away from our cabin, which shared the stunning views and was warmed for our arrival. We had privacy and convenience during our stay, we were only minutes from good restaurants in Luray and a short drive from the Skyline drive and Massanutten Resort. Food stores were nearby in Stanley. Great place for a romantic retreat. I highly recommend and expect to return here again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The cover on the hot tub was a little heavy to move
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JewishRus...
Norfolk VA
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Clean and Modern with a Rustic Charm”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed in one of the cabins that did not offer a view of the mountains but provided plenty of privacy and seclusion. We booked it directly with the owners who were very pleasant and helpful. Our cabin was very well maintained with modern amenities and rustic woodsy charm. There are some strict rules to follow to avoid getting charged, but we are the kind of people that left the place the same way we came in to it. The owners sent us a clear set of directions to be able to access the property and the cabin. My Son loved the fishing pond where he caught some nice large bass. We will be back again in the winter for another wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion and the modern cabin motif
Liked least: slow internet access and the price per night was a little high.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hfritzing...
Newark, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
434 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Perfect Cabin for a Weekend Getaway!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My husband and I searched for the perfect cabin to rent for the 4th of July weekend. We were so happy to have found the Hawksbill Retreat cabins! The rental process itself was very easy and we were assigned to Cabin 8. Upon arrival, we entered the cabin to find it exactly as described. The cabin was spic and span and even smelled really nice! Included are linens, basic cooking pots/pans and utensils, basic appliances (toaster, coffee maker, can opener), and garbage bags, toilet paper, and one roll of paper towels. The fridge and cabinets are empty of anything other than salt and pepper, so we quickly headed out to the store to stock up on groceries, including condiments, charcoal, and matches.

We thought the location of this cabin was perfect as it was away from the crowds in nearby towns, but close enough that we could drive ~1 hour to the hikes we wanted to do in Shenandoah Park every day. Sitting on the porch enjoying the view and sipping beers was our favorite way to relax. There was also a really cool fire pit (one bundle of wood is included and there are spare there that you can pay for) but as it rained several times, the wood was too wet to catch. We also stopped by the Wisteria Vineyard just a minute's drive from the cabin and enjoyed a wine tasting.

If you live near enough, I would suggest stocking a cooler with basic necessities like ketchup/mustard as well bringing along extra paper towels and cleaning supplies (to wipe up any spills) so that you don't have to buy them while at the cabin. We would definitely recommend this cabin and plan on booking a return stay soon!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing