We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shadow Mountain Escape
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 December 2011

The fascinating decor and beautiful location make up for a few missing items in the bathroom. The kids loved the upstairs loft and the pond. It was so quiet and dark each night (don't try to find the first night after dark, you can't see a thing on the roads). The campfire was very nice, and being able to wash your smokey clothing so nice! Yes, provide your own shampoo etc, but the kitchen has a variety of spices etc, and the baked goodies divine!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5travelingmonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Shadow Mountain Escape
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2011

Our stay at Shadow Mountain Escape was truly wonderful! The Ladybug cabin is beautiful and the thought put into every detail shows the care that Karen & Ralph have for the land and their guests. The cabin was cozy & warm and very energy efficient. The woodstove was a delight, especially since we had an early fall snow! We loved looking through the observation tower and the cantina. It made us feel we were back in Germany again! The baked goods were out of this world and the campfire was wonderful! Every detail, down to the coffee mugs, was a special treat. What a wonderful way to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The Ladybug Cabin is the smallest and newest cabin on the property. It is very clean and charming. T...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Stayed two nights here in October in the Ladybug Cabin.
Great value for money t $165/night, but felt that the cabin could have done with a little more thinking through. For example there was no bedside light so had to have the main lighting on, then get out of bed and turn it off before stumbling back to bed in the dark.
Also there was no clothes storage space, eg. a hanging rail.
The cabin was cosy enough and well heated.
No kitchen facilities but a phone and a few take-away brochures were enough to keep us catered.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOLITAFELIX, Owner at Shadow Mountain Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

We appreciate the review and we're glad the guest recognized the value and comfort of our newest and smallest Lady Bug timber frame cabin. As with all our customer reviews on trip advisor, we will utilize the feedback as we continually upgrade our cabins. We encourage our customers to see all of our TripAdvisor reviews. The Lady Bug timber frame cabin is consistently recognized by vacationing couples as a comfortable and charming romantic get-a-way. Although of highest quality and charming, the Lady bug cabin is very unique and, relative to our other cabins, smaller in size - please see our web site for detailed photos and further description. For guests travelling with a large amount of baggage and/or expecting a kitchen, our large timber frame Dragonfly or Bumblebee Cabins would be the best choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

This place was beautiful. The cabin was wonderful with its stone fireplace and hard wood floors. Beautifully decorated and well equipped with essentials like coffee and spices for cooking. Please be aware to bring your own shampoo and conditioner though. I was surprised this wasn't included in our stay, yet hand soap and dish soap is included. Everything was extremely clean except for the dishes in the cabinets. Almost everything we took out to use needed to be washed again.

The couple running this inn are extremely personable and welcoming. The wife is a blue ribbon baker and a very good one! She baked me a birthday cake and left other goodies in our cabin upon our arrival. Her husband gave us a thorough tour of our cabin and gave us excellent recommendations on where to dine and what to do in the area.

The landscaping is beautiful around the cabins. Very peaceful and quiet area. I definitely would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 39Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My husband and I just got back from our belated anniversary trip where we stayed the weekend at SME in the Bumble Bee cabin. It was unbelievably charming and the owners, Ralph and Karen, were so helpful, friendly and kind. They were more than happy to help us and went above and beyond to accommodate our requests.

The location is very close to the Shenandoah National Park (3 miles away) and we went hiking there each day. Everything in the cabin was comfortable and clean. I loved that there was a fireplace in the Bumble Bee cabin -- it was the first fire of the season but Ralph was more than happy to build us a fire and make sure we had starter, kindling and wood. I also liked the full kitchen because I had premade all of our food at home and brought it down.

The Bumble Bee cabin is in the same building as one other cabin but we never heard the occupants. It was very romantic and peaceful!

Also, they have a 10% military discount which we appreciated very much. Finally, use their directions to get to the cabin! They're detailed instructions and I don't think our GPS would have found it well.

Room Tip: If you like fires, definitely choose the Bumble Bee cabin! It has a lovely stone fireplace that my h...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freeswim15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I booked a (surprise) trip to Shadow Mountain Escape for my parents to celebrate their 50th anniversary. I cannot say enough about how Karen went out of her way to make sure my parents would have a memorable weekend. From the wonderful baked goods she sent to me (along with a lovely gift certificate to present to my parents), to the 50th anniversary cake she baked to welcome them. Every detail is thoughtful and special.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissambz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend in August 2011 and absolutely fell in love with the charm of the place. The owner, Karen, promptly appeared as we pulled in and quickly gave us a run down of the property and local places to visit. Then she disappeared and we were left with peace and privacy for the rest of the weekend. She had even baked some delicious pastries for us and dropped off marshmallows for a campfire. The Butterfly is such a pretty and comfortable cabin and we felt totally relaxed there. We went hiking on Skyline drive and had a couple of meals in Luray (both were good). The drive from the DC area was short and picturesque (as you got closer to the property). This is a must visit escape and I know we'll be back. Can't say enough good things!

Room Tip: We loved the Butterfly.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank SunnyRiverElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
6.2 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
994 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
50 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
135 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
17.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Mountain Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Escape

Address: 1132 Jewell Hollow Rd, (bordering the Shenandoah National Park), Luray, VA 22835-5710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Price Range: £122 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia's "Simply Charming" authentic timber frame cabins bordering the Shenandoah National Park - Luray, VA. A truly unique romantic couple's escape conveniently located in a woodland park setting on the "Blue Ridge Whisky Wine Loop"... only a few minutes from the Shenandoah National Park entrance, Luray Caverns, Lake Arrowhead and a wide variety of other attractions. Discover the ambiance of a rare timber frame tastefully arranged with quality furnishing including antiques and European décor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Escape Hotel Luray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing