We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon Spot!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shadow Mountain Escape
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 January 2008

I saw these cabins almost by accident on the internet, but "wow"! What a find!

I was hoping to find a nice place to take my bride on our honeymoon, but this cabin went far beyond any expectations! It was absolutely perfect and the treats they left us were so delicious!

What an incredible get-a-way for us both, & their friendliness & hospitality were wonderful.. We will certainly be back for anniversaries & will tell our friends and families about this place!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrGoliath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2007

Thank you for making our first vacation as a "family of four" such a memorable experience. The Dragon Fly accommodated our toddler and baby perfectly. We thoroughly enjoyed everything: the nature trail, feeding the fish, grilling out, the delicious cookies and superb wine provided by the hosts, the bonfire and marshmallows, the darts in the European style Cantina and the amazing views from the Observation Tower.

Our three night stay at Shadow Mt. Escape exceeded our expectations and we would love to return next year. The property is perfectly located...down the road is the town of Luray for groceries and the caverns, and just up the road is Skyline drive for hiking and gorgeous vistas. The owners/hosts even honored our service in the Navy with a discount off our stay. I would and have highly recommended Shadow Mountain Escape to my friends and family. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Love2HikeMts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2007

Our family of 4 (includes 2 teenagers) stayed at Shadow Mountain Escape while visiting Shenandoah National Park. The property was an easy drive to the Park entrance. We stayed in the "Bumblebee Cabin, which featured multiple sleeping areas, a full kitchen, and had all modern amenities. There was even a "Cantina" in the basement (shared with the other cabin in our building) featuring Darts, CD's/music, and tables for eating or playing cards/games.
We enjoyed our 3 days at SME! We came to hike in the National Park and really didn't expect to pay much attention to the accommodations....but what a surprise! It was more like staying at a friend's house than it was a hotel. Karen - the "inn keeper" made you feel right at home. The things we liked best:
*Homemade brownies
*Homemade cookies + banana bread
*Homemade jam
*Picking fresh berries outside our room for breakfast
*roasting marshmallows at the campfire
*playing CD's and darts in the Cantina (while enjoying a "cold one")
*sitting on the balcony drinking morning coffee
*feeding the fish in the pond
*having a nice Weber grill for cooking our dinner and finding all the "odds + ends" in the kitchen that we hadn't thought to bring (i.e. salt/pepper/spices)
*air-conditioning comfort after a full day of hiking in hot-humid weather
*great tasting mountain water

The cost was very reasonable for what you got........probably half the cost of staying at one of the Nation Park Cabins, but ten times better!

It's hard to believe that we spent nearly all day each day hiking through the Shenandoah National Park and still had time to make the most of the treats and activities at SME! They were great hosts, and we wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OutdoorTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2007

Shadow Mountain Escape is the place to go! We have never seen such a beautiful cabin with European flair. The host Ralph and hostess Karen are truly the most wonderful people we have ever met. The hospitality we received was amazing... The welcome we received was the biggest surprise with homemade jams and jellies and baked breads and cookies!!! Too many treats to mention, you have to go and stay there..... We are a family of five and we rented the Bear Dance Lodge, consisting of The Bumble Bee and The Dragonfly... The cabins are separate and private, yet if you rent the entire lodge you can leave both doors open, and its like living in a huge house!!!! There are two outer doors which you lock and you have such privacy. We loved being fortunate to rent the entire lodge, and when we go back we will do it again. The timber frame home is just pristine, along with the furnishings and the Cantina, and observation tower. there aren't enough words to compliment SME!!!!! The observation tower is high up and it overlooks the property and the view is spectacular! At night you can touch the stars from up there!!! A sight you must see for yourself...
If you want privacy and need an escape please make sure your next stay is at Shadow Mountain Escape. The name says it all.
Our son had a birthday while we stayed at SME, and when we returned from driving around Luray, we had surprises waiting for us. The Cantina was decorated with ballons and hats and party horns and last but not least "an awesome birthday cake" with candles!!! Karen doesn't miss a thing ever!!!! There is much to see in Luray a great town. We went during the fair and had tons of fun. But when the fair was over we returned to Shadow Mountain Escape for peace and quiet.. Thank you Shadow Mountain Escape and thank you Karen and Ralph, we love ya and we'll be back!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank denro1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2007

We spent only one night at Shadow Mountain Escape and wish it could have been more! To classify this place as a cabin does it an injustice. These are beautiful timber frame homes!

Karen does a fantastic job in taking care of the property and providing special little touches for her guests that you don't normally find in a cabin rental.

You feel like you are really out in the wilderness but with all the amenities, yet only a few miles from town.

There were half a dozen deer in the yard and even a bear came though. It rained the night we were there. We left our patio door open a bit so we could hear the rain coming down. It was pure heaven.

We loved our little one night get away in the mountains. Thanks Karen!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2007

My extended family of 5 adults and 2 children (9 and 10) stayed one night at Shadow Mountain Escape after touring Washington DC. Our cozy cabin and the tranquil setting was perfect for unwinding after the busy pace of the city. The children (and adults) loved playing darts in the Cantina, climbing the winding stairs to the observation tower and sitting around the bonfire that Karen, the owner and manager, thoughtfully made for us. She even provided the marshmellows! My only regret is that our schedule allowed us just one night to spend at Shadow Mountain Escape. But that one night was a perfect end to our vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank WendyTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2007

I recently took my fiancee to Shadow Mtn. Escape for her birthday. We stayed in the "butterfly loft". I cannot describe in words how amazing this trip was for us. The subtle quaintness of the cabins, the european influenced design and architecture, and the overwhelming beauty of the surrounding wilderness all amounted to a trip that was nothing less than pure relaxation. The thing that impressed us the most was the very personalized way in which Karen (owner / operator) helped us so tremendously in setting this whole thing up....with her correspondance and help, she really went above and beyond in making this a special weekend for us. I strongly recommend Shadow Mtn. Escape for anyone looking for a relaxing, romantic getaway, and a special experience with their significant other. Thank you Karen!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank WHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
6.2 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,005 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
52 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
136 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Mountain Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Escape

Address: 1132 Jewell Hollow Rd, (bordering the Shenandoah National Park), Luray, VA 22835-5710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Price Range: £125 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia's "Simply Charming" authentic timber frame cabins bordering the Shenandoah National Park - Luray, VA. A truly unique romantic couple's escape conveniently located in a woodland park setting on the "Blue Ridge Whisky Wine Loop"... only a few minutes from the Shenandoah National Park entrance, Luray Caverns, Lake Arrowhead and a wide variety of other attractions. Discover the ambiance of a rare timber frame tastefully arranged with quality furnishing including antiques and European décor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Escape Hotel Luray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing