We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shadow Mountain Escape
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Luray
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skyland(Shenandoah National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
192
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
192
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature trailladybug cabintimber frameshenandoah national parkbaked goodsthe dragonget awaybeautiful timberskyline drivemy husband and ilives up to its namedelicious pastriesevening bonfirefull kitchenbrowniecompletely fell in lovecovered patio
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My husband and I came to Shadow Mountain Escape to celebrate my birthday and have a mini getaway for just the 2 of us. This place is only 1.5 hours away which was perfect in case of an emergency (we had a 7 month old being babysat at home).
It was a great natural escape from the city atmosphere. The owners were very friendly and had great advice about what to do, while giving us enough space (we are not bed and breakfast people).
The cabin/rooms themselves were very charming along with a deck with views of the woods. I would recommend this place to anyone who likes the outdoors. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed in the Butterfly cabin and just loved it. All this gorgeous woodworking, but all new, clean, and uncluttered. The bed was so comfy. We enjoyed our walk around the property as well, and of course it's very convenient for hikes in the Shenandoah and also for Luray Caverns, which we visited as well.

We were also very pleased with how accommodating Karen and her husband were. We brought our 18-month-old with us, and even though Shadow Mountain is mostly a romantic couples resort, Karen was happy to welcome us and even loaned us a pack n play. She also gave us an early check-in with no difficulty. We would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazelbigwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

For seven years I have been surprising my daughter and son-in-law with reservations at Shadow Mountain Escapes-I booked for their honeymoon and every year after for their anniversary! The cabins are on the edge of the Shenandoah National Park and provide a great romantic escape for them! The special celebration touches that the Riddles provide are priceless!
HOT TIP: Find a babysitter so you can enjoy the romantic escape.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We could not have asked for more during our trip to Shadow Mountain escape in February. We went up for our anniversary weekend and has an absoluetly amazing time. From how beautful and unique the cabins and property are to the hospitality and little extras from the owners really made our trip complete. They even made us a delicious little red velvet cake and other homeade goodies to enjoy. We highly recommend going on the nature trail and even taking the owners recommendation to hike up church bell hill. We did and it was breathtaking. We even renewed our vows at the top of the mountain. There is no better way to put it than we could not have asked for more. What they have up there is a little piece of heaven :)

Room Tip: Each of the cabins are unique and offer something different. We stayed in the bumble bee cabin which was amazing but I dont think you can really go wrong here.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slandis2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

My wife and I spent a long weekend here in January 2012 and had an excellent experience in the LadyBug cabin. We love hiking in the Shenandoah's and getting away from the hustle and bustle of the city and thought we'd give this place a try. It's on the short list of places we'd like to go back to. Overall, I'd recommend spending some time on their informative website picking out a cabin that best fits your tastes. The experience promised was exactly the experience delivered. Some special points warrant mention:

Karen (owns the cabin with her husband Ralph) was one of the friendliest and enthusiastic folks I've met. Upon arrival, she had freshly baked cookies, chocolate brownies, biscotti, as well as a bottle of freshly carbonated spring water (from a well on their property) ready for our enjoyment. After a quick walkthrough, she brought us some kindling for the wood stove and marshmallows for the campfire she was going to set-up for us at sundown. The wood stove added a great ambiance to the cabin and roasting marshmallows over a campfire in the crisp mountain night was a great way to kick off our experience.

The cabin itself looked almost brand new. The downstairs was a large dining area with mini-fridge, microwave, and wood-burning stove. The upstairs was a large bedroom with beautiful views of the surrounding mountainside and a private bathroom. The exposed timber frame is quite a sight to behold and complements the decor of the cabin well. The only thing I missed was a nice big tub to soak in, but I understand some of their other cabins do have this feature. I might have to give that a try next time.

We had a great time walking around both the nature trail that goes around the property and taking a longer hike down Jewell Hollow Road that forms the border with Shenandoah National Park. For meals, our favorite part was taking a short drive into downtown Luray. Uncle Buck's is a great little diner for breakfast and the rest of Luray has a bunch of interesting little stores that warrant an hour or two of exploring.

In summary, this place delivers a quiet, peaceful retreat that seems ideal for couples looking to get away for a long weekend. The website sets high expectations and delivers on them.

Room Tip: Check their website to find one of the three cabins that best fits your taste.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schlies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews