We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Romantic Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shadow Mountain Escape
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

My husband and I found the reviews for Shadow Mountain Escape when we were planning our honeymoon and decided then we wanted to go there. Karen went above and beyond our expectations. She was very helpful during the entire process from booking through our stay. The basket of goodies awaiting us when we arrived was delicious, not to mention the extra treats left throughout our stay.

We stayed in the Butterfly Loft, which was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Though the weather was very warm while we were there, the cooling unit in the cabin was more than enough to keep the room cool. The property was excellent for taking walks. Though all the cabins were filled while we were there, we never heard any of them and only saw them around the property. We saw deer each morning. We liked that the cabin had a kitchen, so we could eat in for some meals.

Ralph and Karen had excellent recommendations for area attractions and restaurants, including a notebook in the room. We would definitely visit again if the opportunity arose.

Room Tip: Butterfly Loft is a comfortable choice, especially if you would like a kitchen.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
135
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

This was our third visit to SME and it was wonderful. We stayed in the Ladybug cabin this time. We didn't miss having a kitchen since there is a fridge and microwave. We brought stuff for breakfast and to make sandwiches and ate in town the rest of the meals. The cabin is beautiful, the bed is comfortable. My boyfriend had one small wish in that it had a comfortable love seat or couch downstairs to snuggle up in. Ralph was really helpful in telling us about a hike to Mary's rock. It was challenging, but very doable and we absolutely loved it. They also suggested Thornton River Grill and we had a great dinner there. The highlight this time was probably visiting the Copper Fox Distillery. We got a great tour and picked up a bottle of whiskey to take home. It's delicious. We tell all our friends about this place and I know two other couples are already planning trips. We'll definitely be back:).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyRiverElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

You will not find a more hospitable and relaxing place to share a two or three day relaxing escape with your spouse or someone special. The accomodations are excellant and the welcoming atmospher provided by the owners is quite unique. Karen is an amazing host. Their webiste will fill you in with all the details. www.shadowmountainescape.com. Book early!

Room Tip: All their cabins are superb. We stayed int eh Dragon Fly cabin and it was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jathedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wall Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in September to celebrate our anniversary. I discovered Shadow Mountain on Tripadvisor after searching for a quiet cabin experience. We were greeting by Karen upon arrival at the Ladybug Cabin. She enthusiastically showed us our cabin and gave many suggestions on things to do in the area. Ladybug cabin is located across the deck from Karen and Ralph's home, but that is not a concern at all. They magically appear when you would like them to, but give you all the privacy you need.
The Ladybug was immaculate and the furnishings were very nice. Obviously a lot of thought (and traveling) went into them!
The baked goods from Karen were amazing! There was enough to celebrate our anniversary and enjoy at breakfast as well.
We snuggled on the deck one evening to stargaze - until it got too cold!
We walked the nature trail and stopped by to take a look at the cantina and observation tower at Bear Dance Lodge. Although our stay was not stay long enough to take advantage of these rooms, we loved getting a chance to see them.
We did see deer on the grounds every day at dawn and dusk. Lots of them!
Kind of hoped to see a bear (from a distance, anyway!) but did not.
During our stay we hiked Mary's Rock. Great hike, amazing view.
We also visited Luray Caverns. Husband loved it, I was bored. But I did like the classic car museum which was included in cavern admission.
Also highly recommend Appalachian Adventures for ATV riding. Lots of fun!
Thanks Karen and Ralph for a great anniversary celebration!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The cottages are quintessentially quaint. This hidden setting is a perfect getaway for couples. Quiet and comfortable, out in the woods. Boy, can you see all the stars from there. We stayed in the Lady Bug - too cute. Homemade baked goods were waiting for us as a welcome gift. Just off the Blue Ridge Parkway. Well worth the visit!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judybop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

My boyfriend and I staying in the Bumble Bee cabin September 13-16th. The weather was fantastic, it did get chilly at night so remember a jacket! We had the most amazing time we could have imagined. It was so nice not having cell phone service, a true getaway from the world. The property is very neatly kept and is nice to walk around. We saw Ralph putting out corn for the deer to eat, the whole deer family came right up and weren't scared! We even saw a bear outside of our window while eating breakfast! A campfire was made for us our second night there and all of the stories are true, Felix LOVES playing hide and seek, she nearly made me jump out of my skin at the campfire! she kept us company the whole time it was nice. The cabins were very very clean and just a heads up, the wood does creek throughout the night, I am glad I read that in a review or else I would have been scared. If you are looking for a fun, relaxing, romantic getaway this is the best place to be. Whenever we went somewhere and told them we were staying at SME, everyone kept talking about how great it is there. We are already planning our trip for next year!

Here is a list of things we did to help you plan your trip:
Ate dinner at Big Meadows Lodge - wasn't as great as we hoped, but it was a fun experience.
Went to Luray Caverns - awesome!
Ate at the Griffin Tavern - Fun English style bar with good people and good food and drinks.
Went to some wineries - Little Washington, Gadino, Sharp Rock, and DuCard - They were all so fun and the people were great!
Went horseback riding at Skyline - This was our first time it was fun
Hiked Stony Man trail - very easy and was a spectacular view

:)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaime L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewistown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

My husband and I just returned today from a 3 night stay in the Ladybug cabin and we loved it. We had a wonderful, relaxing stay and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet getaway with their significant other. The cabin was very clean and the goodie basket waiting for us was delightful. Thank you Karen and Ralph for having such a wonderful place to get away from the world for a bit!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
6.2 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
963 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
40 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#5 of 9 in Luray
131 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
4.2 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Mountain Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Escape

Property: Shadow Mountain Escape
Address: 1132 Jewell Hollow Rd, (bordering the Shenandoah National Park), Luray, VA 22835-5710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia's "Simply Charming" authentic timber frame cabins bordering the Shenandoah National Park - Luray, VA. A truly unique romantic couple's escape conveniently located in a woodland park setting on the "Blue Ridge Whisky Wine Loop"... only a few minutes from the Shenandoah National Park entrance, Luray Caverns, Lake Arrowhead and a wide variety of other attractions. Discover the ambiance of a rare timber frame tastefully arranged with quality furnishing including antiques and European décor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Escape Hotel Luray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing