We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shadow Mt. - I kept calling it Secret Mt.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shadow Mountain Escape
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Long Island, NY
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Shadow Mt. - I kept calling it Secret Mt.”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I wouldn't want to keep SME a "secret" from anyone... if you are planning a visit to the Shenandoah National Park, this is the place to stay. Convenient both to the town of Luray and the entrance to the park. The property is off the access road - be sure you follow Karen and Ralph's directions - not your GPS! And once you've turned onto their dirt drive, you'll know that you're home! We stayed in the Ladybug and were so impressed with the cabin, the craftsmanship, the loving care that was used to create this property. We were off early each day and enjoyed our hikes, the Luray Caverns, and visiting several of the TA rated restaurants... our favorite was actually on the other side of the park - in Sperryville - the Thornton River Grill... a must eat!

So - enjoy this secret place - and say hello to Karen and Ralph (and Lola, too!)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisinItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
136
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Absolutely amazing place and awesome people. Great scenery and close to all sorts of adventures, a definite must-stay! Very clean, spacious, and stunning views. The property and cabins are immaculate!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ev d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeville, Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We were looking for a place to celebrate our 25 year anniversary, and found Shadow Moutain Escape. It was everything we wanted, we felt relaxed by the peaceful surroundings of the mountains and it is set within the Shenandoah National park. The owners are so welcoming, there was not one day that I didn't see Karen with a huge smile! Not to mention her wonderful treats left for us every day. We stayed in the Dragonfly, which was gorgeous! Everything is beautiful, the view from our deck was serene. There is plenty to do around Luray if you are up for that, or if not just stay around the grounds and relax. We will definitely be back! This is a couples retreat away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coryj300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sayville, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

A peaceful setting, nestled in the corner of Shenandoah National park. Beautiful cabins with all the modern conviences (except dishwashers). Close to natural wonders, Luray Caverns. Very relaxing & romantic. There is a nature trail on the property. Nightly campfires, weather permitting, complete with marshmellows. The Innkeepers Karen & Ralph were very friendly and extremely helpful. I cannot say enough good things about them or their property. I am already planing my next trip there.

Room Tip: the cabins in bear lodge have a communal rec. room with a dart board.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Our stay occurred during heavy rain storms on May 6th when we got stranded. Our hosts hospitality really came out in the care they took of us. The place was beautiful and cozy. We also felt more like family friends than just guests. Too bad the service rating stops at 5! These folks are a 10 !! We're ready to do it again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tbfhimself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

What an amazing place this is! We’ve enjoyed the coziness and surrounding treasures from their time spent abroad! After full days of hiking and exploring the area we couldn’t wait to get back to the Bumble Bee cabin to relax. This was a wonderful escape and a memorable way to spend my 30th birthday. We truly appreciated all the special touches – from the birthday cake to all the great goodies.

Room Tip: I believe there are four cabins available at SME. We stayed in the Bumble Bee cabin so can only real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noizboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We absolutely loved everything @ SME!! The hospitality is beyond words. We have stayed in many different resorts throughout the years and can honestly say that SME topped the list! The cabin is gorgeous and the land is both charming and serene. This is definitely the hidden jewel of the Shenandoah! Both Lola and Felix are adorable and the perfect hosts. We loved the campfire, it was the most perfect and magical evening for us. All the recommendations were excellent. Our 7th anniversary is one that we will always cherish - they bring a piece of serenity to this chaotic world.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladythorn001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
6.2 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
983 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
46 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
132 reviews
4.2 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,257 reviews
9.6 mi away
Big Meadows Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge
#1 of 8 in Shenandoah National Park
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Mountain Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Escape

Property: Shadow Mountain Escape
Address: 1132 Jewell Hollow Rd, (bordering the Shenandoah National Park), Luray, VA 22835-5710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia's "Simply Charming" authentic timber frame cabins bordering the Shenandoah National Park - Luray, VA. A truly unique romantic couple's escape conveniently located in a woodland park setting on the "Blue Ridge Whisky Wine Loop"... only a few minutes from the Shenandoah National Park entrance, Luray Caverns, Lake Arrowhead and a wide variety of other attractions. Discover the ambiance of a rare timber frame tastefully arranged with quality furnishing including antiques and European décor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Escape Hotel Luray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing