We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upscale rustic comfort minutes from Shenandoah Nat'l Park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shadow Mountain Escape

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shadow Mountain Escape
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rural Ohio
2 reviews
“Upscale rustic comfort minutes from Shenandoah Nat'l Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2008

Our family (2 adults, 3 teenagers -- 2 of which came with us) lives in a timberframe house in Ohio, so Shadow Mountain's unique luxury cabins felt like home away from home for us. Everything was easy and comfortable, including our initial booking (I e-mailed Karen through her website and received a reply minutes later). We stayed in the Dragonfly, which is 1/2 of the large lodge structure. Another couple was in the other half of the cabin, but it wasn't noisy or awkward. We only saw them if we happened to come and go at the same time. The Dragonfly is listed as sleeping 4-6, but we could have brought more than that. My husband and I slept in the downstairs bedroom (next to the 1 bathroom), our son took the upstairs bedroom (which could sleep 2), and my daughter slept on the daybed off the living area upstairs. There was also a fold-out bed in the linen closet by the daybed, and the leather couch pulled out to a double bed. Eight people could fit comfortably in this cabin as long as they don't mind being cozy when it comes to sleeping arrangements and bathroom logistics. We were greeted with a basket of homemade treats (jam, chocolate chip cookies, banana bread, and M&Ms) and we found coffee, creamer, filters, and many other items we forgot in the kitchen cupboards. Then next morning, we ran into Ralph as we were leaving for the park and he gave us directions to the nearest grocery store so we could pack a picnic. Luray is a 10-minute drive and very accessible; it's a charming town with lots of little restaurants and shops. There's a Jewell Mountain Hollow access road (not on maps, Mapquest, or GPS, but it's there!) that took us directly to Rt. 211 and the park entrance. We had a great time exploring the park, the various towns and villages of the Shenandoah Valley, the caverns, and nearby battlefields. This is a great trip for a long weekend, and we recommend it to anyone who needs a getaway to a very out of the way place that still offers the comforts of home (hot showers, satellite TV, etc.) Ralph and Karen are warm, welcoming hosts, and they'll make your stay a delight. The setting is pristine, and you don't even have to leave Shadow Mountain to explore nature trails. There's also an upstairs sitting room and a basement cantina that's shared by both lodge cabins, so if it rains you can still hang out and play darts, monopoly, or whatever. (Two very minor issues: to play a DVD, you have to unhook the satellite and hook up the DVD player, and it's kind of awkward to get behind the TV. We made our son do it. Also, we had to make our beds when we first arrived; at first I thought this was odd, but then I realized it's the only way to know the linens have been changed from the last visitor, so it's actually a good idea.)

  • Liked — The unique structure and the beautiful setting
  • Disliked — No cell phone reception; no internet access; hard to find in the dark.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwlance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
131
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, WV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2008

I saw these cabins almost by accident on the internet, but "wow"! What a find!

I was hoping to find a nice place to take my bride on our honeymoon, but this cabin went far beyond any expectations! It was absolutely perfect and the treats they left us were so delicious!

What an incredible get-a-way for us both, & their friendliness & hospitality were wonderful.. We will certainly be back for anniversaries & will tell our friends and families about this place!

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrGoliath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobb Island, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2007

Thank you for making our first vacation as a "family of four" such a memorable experience. The Dragon Fly accommodated our toddler and baby perfectly. We thoroughly enjoyed everything: the nature trail, feeding the fish, grilling out, the delicious cookies and superb wine provided by the hosts, the bonfire and marshmallows, the darts in the European style Cantina and the amazing views from the Observation Tower.

Our three night stay at Shadow Mt. Escape exceeded our expectations and we would love to return next year. The property is perfectly located...down the road is the town of Luray for groceries and the caverns, and just up the road is Skyline drive for hiking and gorgeous vistas. The owners/hosts even honored our service in the Navy with a discount off our stay. I would and have highly recommended Shadow Mountain Escape to my friends and family. Enjoy!!!

  • Liked — The location is perfect, close to an entrance to Skyline Drive and hiking in the Shenandoah Nat'l Forest.
  • Disliked — No hot tub or jacuzzi on the property, would have been nice after hiking but not a problem when you can relax in the observation tower.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Love2HikeMts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2007

Our family of 4 (includes 2 teenagers) stayed at Shadow Mountain Escape while visiting Shenandoah National Park. The property was an easy drive to the Park entrance. We stayed in the "Bumblebee Cabin, which featured multiple sleeping areas, a full kitchen, and had all modern amenities. There was even a "Cantina" in the basement (shared with the other cabin in our building) featuring Darts, CD's/music, and tables for eating or playing cards/games.
We enjoyed our 3 days at SME! We came to hike in the National Park and really didn't expect to pay much attention to the accommodations....but what a surprise! It was more like staying at a friend's house than it was a hotel. Karen - the "inn keeper" made you feel right at home. The things we liked best:
*Homemade brownies
*Homemade cookies + banana bread
*Homemade jam
*Picking fresh berries outside our room for breakfast
*roasting marshmallows at the campfire
*playing CD's and darts in the Cantina (while enjoying a "cold one")
*sitting on the balcony drinking morning coffee
*feeding the fish in the pond
*having a nice Weber grill for cooking our dinner and finding all the "odds + ends" in the kitchen that we hadn't thought to bring (i.e. salt/pepper/spices)
*air-conditioning comfort after a full day of hiking in hot-humid weather
*great tasting mountain water

The cost was very reasonable for what you got........probably half the cost of staying at one of the Nation Park Cabins, but ten times better!

It's hard to believe that we spent nearly all day each day hiking through the Shenandoah National Park and still had time to make the most of the treats and activities at SME! They were great hosts, and we wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Liked — Karen the hostess
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OutdoorTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2007

Shadow Mountain Escape is the place to go! We have never seen such a beautiful cabin with European flair. The host Ralph and hostess Karen are truly the most wonderful people we have ever met. The hospitality we received was amazing... The welcome we received was the biggest surprise with homemade jams and jellies and baked breads and cookies!!! Too many treats to mention, you have to go and stay there..... We are a family of five and we rented the Bear Dance Lodge, consisting of The Bumble Bee and The Dragonfly... The cabins are separate and private, yet if you rent the entire lodge you can leave both doors open, and its like living in a huge house!!!! There are two outer doors which you lock and you have such privacy. We loved being fortunate to rent the entire lodge, and when we go back we will do it again. The timber frame home is just pristine, along with the furnishings and the Cantina, and observation tower. there aren't enough words to compliment SME!!!!! The observation tower is high up and it overlooks the property and the view is spectacular! At night you can touch the stars from up there!!! A sight you must see for yourself...
If you want privacy and need an escape please make sure your next stay is at Shadow Mountain Escape. The name says it all.
Our son had a birthday while we stayed at SME, and when we returned from driving around Luray, we had surprises waiting for us. The Cantina was decorated with ballons and hats and party horns and last but not least "an awesome birthday cake" with candles!!! Karen doesn't miss a thing ever!!!! There is much to see in Luray a great town. We went during the fair and had tons of fun. But when the fair was over we returned to Shadow Mountain Escape for peace and quiet.. Thank you Shadow Mountain Escape and thank you Karen and Ralph, we love ya and we'll be back!!!!!

  • Liked — not enough room to list just lets say it was an experience we will never forget AA+++Shadow Mountain Escape is the place to go! We have never seen such a beautiful cabin with European flair. The host Ralph and hostess Karen are truly the most wonderful people we have ever met. The hospitality we received was amazing... The welcome we received was the biggest surprise with homemade jams and jellies and baked breads and cookies!!! Too many treats to mention, you have to go and stay there..... We are a family of five and we rented the Bear Dance Lodge, consisting of The Bumble Bee and The Dragonfly... The cabins are separate and private, yet if you rent the entire lodge you can leave both doors open, and its like living in a huge house!!!! There are two outer doors which you lock and you have such privacy. We loved being fortunate to rent the entire lodge, and when we go back we will do it again. The timber frame home is just pristine, along with the furnishings and the Cantina, and observation tower. there aren't enough words to compliment SME!!!!! The observation tower is high up and it overlooks the property and the view is spectacular! At night you can touch the stars from up there!!! A sight you must see for yourself..........A+++++++++++++++++ALL THE WAY TO KAREN AND RALPH
  • Disliked — Nothing At All
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank denro1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luray, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2007

We spent only one night at Shadow Mountain Escape and wish it could have been more! To classify this place as a cabin does it an injustice. These are beautiful timber frame homes!

Karen does a fantastic job in taking care of the property and providing special little touches for her guests that you don't normally find in a cabin rental.

You feel like you are really out in the wilderness but with all the amenities, yet only a few miles from town.

There were half a dozen deer in the yard and even a bear came though. It rained the night we were there. We left our patio door open a bit so we could hear the rain coming down. It was pure heaven.

We loved our little one night get away in the mountains. Thanks Karen!

  • Liked — Peace and quiet
  • Disliked — We liked it all
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2007

My extended family of 5 adults and 2 children (9 and 10) stayed one night at Shadow Mountain Escape after touring Washington DC. Our cozy cabin and the tranquil setting was perfect for unwinding after the busy pace of the city. The children (and adults) loved playing darts in the Cantina, climbing the winding stairs to the observation tower and sitting around the bonfire that Karen, the owner and manager, thoughtfully made for us. She even provided the marshmellows! My only regret is that our schedule allowed us just one night to spend at Shadow Mountain Escape. But that one night was a perfect end to our vacation.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank WendyTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
6.2 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
4.2 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
9.6 mi away
Big Meadows Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge
#1 of 8 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Mountain Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Escape

Property: Shadow Mountain Escape
Address: 1132 Jewell Hollow Rd, (bordering the Shenandoah National Park), Luray, VA 22835-5710
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia's "Simply Charming" authentic timber frame cabins bordering the Shenandoah National Park - Luray, VA. A truly unique romantic couple's escape conveniently located in a woodland park setting on the "Blue Ridge Whisky Wine Loop"... only a few minutes from the Shenandoah National Park entrance, Luray Caverns, Lake Arrowhead and a wide variety of other attractions. Discover the ambiance of a rare timber frame tastefully arranged with quality furnishing including antiques and European décor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Escape Hotel Luray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing