We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shadow Mountain Escape
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We rented Ladybug during the Memorial Day Holiday. It was just fabulous. Karen and Ralph do a great job of being discreetly obvious -- there when you need 'em, but mostly not. Ladybug has no kitchen facility, but we managed with food we brought in and by using the provided coffee maker and microwave. The bed is just great, very comfy with 'just right' pillows. And, then there's Karen's treats -- home baked goods as a welcome gift and left for our second night as well. Just wonderful for couples who want to really get away and 'unplug' (little to no Internet - ya hoo!).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
131
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lanham, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Words cannot express how pleased we were with our stay! We have experienced so many things and made new memories that we could not have possibly done in the city, seeing all of the stars in the clear night's sky was breathtaking and it doesn't hurt that our hosts were as sweet as pie. We will be returning :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dani L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for two nights in the Butterfly Cabin. The entire property is very secluded and serene. We had deer and other wildlife outside our window daily. Karen was available as needed, but respected your privacy. We would love to return again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 27Clark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Overall: Stayed in the "Butterfly" cabin. Very clean, very private. Cabin is within sight of a few other cabins, but not so close as to feel crowded. Owners were extremely friendly and welcoming. Owners gave great directions to plently of local things to do, as well as some great restaurants.

Cabin: the Butterfly Cabin was very clean and private. It was above a storage barn of some sort (no weird barn smells or anything like that.) It came with a kitchen, full bath, queen sized bed, sleeper-sofa, DirecTV, and parking right next to the cabin. There was a very friendly cat (Felix) that lived in the area below our cabin, and we encountered a herd of deer right outside more often than not. The timber frame and exposed rafters provided a rustic feel, while still maintaining modern comfort. The cabin came with extra blankets, clean towels, beddings, and dishes, and tolietries. There are a few other cabins within sight of the butterfly, but they are spaced out and the overall feeling was very secluded.

Location: Located a very short drive from downtown Luray, Luray Caverns, and right next to the Shenandoah National Park. The owner provided a binder with maps to wineries, restaurants, and more within a 15-20 minute drive. We ate at the Griffin Tavern and the Artisan Grill, both of which offered fantastic food. We didn't get around to much hiking, but there was plenty available.

Bonuses: The owners gave us baked goods every day we were there, from cookies to red velvet cake. They also built a campfire for us, and provided marshmallows for roasting. I am a big fan of stars, and saw more outside on the patio than I have ever seen before.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Nestled in the mountains, near the base of the Shenandoah National Park and minutes from Luray Caverns. This is a perfect escape from work and life stress. Being out here makes it easy to "unplug" and just relax, but they do have wi-fi if you just have to connect :-) We were welcomed with fresh baked cookies (Delicious!) and a whole notebook full of great information about the area and sites to visit. The campfire and marshmallows added a fun and special touch. Looking forward to making a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed at Shadow Mountain Escape the first weekend of November 2013 and had such a lovely time. We stayed in the Butterfly cabin, and it was beautiful and clean with a lot of nice small touches, like extra blankets, hiking maps, nice coffee mugs, wine, homemade goodies (cookies, cake, and biscotti), marshmallows for the campfire, and even pizza delivery to the cabin. The owners really went out of their way to make us feel welcome and provided great tips for dining and hiking. The property itself is gorgeous and just off of the Luray entrance to skyline drive. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BmoreLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This was such a perfect place to enjoy my 26th birthday. It was so perfect - from the ladybug cabin and it's peacefulness to the magical hiking to hear the Christmas bells to the Gadino Winery and Griffin Tavern dinner ....it was all so perfect. We even lit my birthday candles by the fire and toasted marshmallows such wonderful lasting memories.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
6.2 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
935 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
31 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
130 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Mountain Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Escape

Property: Shadow Mountain Escape
Address: 1132 Jewell Hollow Rd, (bordering the Shenandoah National Park), Luray, VA 22835-5710
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia's "Simply Charming" authentic timber frame cabins bordering the Shenandoah National Park - Luray, VA. A truly unique romantic couple's escape conveniently located in a woodland park setting on the "Blue Ridge Whisky Wine Loop"... only a few minutes from the Shenandoah National Park entrance, Luray Caverns, Lake Arrowhead and a wide variety of other attractions. Discover the ambiance of a rare timber frame tastefully arranged with quality furnishing including antiques and European décor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Escape Hotel Luray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing