We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene and romantic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shadow Mountain Escape
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My husband and I wanted to relax and get away for our anniversary. I'm so glad I found SME in my research! The property and the cabins are lovely. Karen met us as we pulled in, and she really is one of the sweetest people we've ever met. Her homemade treats were so yummy, and she helped us find the menu and number for the Italian place so we could order a pizza. We ate out on the deck and watched the deer and the fireflies -- so relaxing! The cabin itself (we stayed in Butterfly Loft) is beautifully constructed and decorated. I wish we could have stayed longer, but we'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CassyMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Shadow Mountain Escape
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

We enjoyed staying in the Butterfly cabin. Love the wood frame, the architecture and the interior design of the cabin. Every corner is a piece of art. The strawberry cake and cookies were so delicious that we finished them in seconds. A perfect trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobo-Paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have just had our third trip from England to what we call our little piece of heaven because thats what it feels like at shadow mountain . Karen and Ralph are wonderful hosts and the most perfect place to stay it is set within its own grounds surrounded by woodland and is so beautiful you just dont want to leave. Karen and Ralph are two very special people who make you feel so welcome leaving lovely baked treats especially the brownies!!! We have stayed in Butterfly each time which is spotlessly clean and fully equipped with everything you will need .Karen and Ralph obviously love and take great pride in what they do and we are just so pleased that they are willing to share it with others ( i would want to keep it all to my little self!!!!) If you can tear yourself away from your cabin there is lots to do within the surrounding area beautiful walks , skyline drive , luray caverns and plenty of quaint little towns to visit . If you are looking for a beautiful place to stay which is peaceful,idylic and perfect in everyway then youve found it as i know our third visit wont be our last my only regret is that it is so far away as i know we would be there as often as we could .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank michelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Wonderful place to get away from it all. Just a few minutes from the Shenandoah National Park, and about 10 minutes from Luray Caverns. SME is definitely a place you want to visit if you enjoy peace and quiet. The report only has about 4 cabins, 5 if you include Karen and Ralph's.

A very inspiring place to visit, I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Bumblebee cabin was awesome!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a lovely time staying at SME! The Butterfly cabin is comfortable + cozy - and we loved the little deck! The grounds are gorgeous - I kept thinking we'd been whisked away to a fairytale forest! They love what they do because it shows in everything we see here. We were thankful for this wonderful oasis to escape for our 5 year anniversary - we look forward to a return trip.

Room Tip: The Butterfly cabin is more secluded than the other 2, and close to the fire pit for s'mores!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparklypoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We rented Ladybug during the Memorial Day Holiday. It was just fabulous. Karen and Ralph do a great job of being discreetly obvious -- there when you need 'em, but mostly not. Ladybug has no kitchen facility, but we managed with food we brought in and by using the provided coffee maker and microwave. The bed is just great, very comfy with 'just right' pillows. And, then there's Karen's treats -- home baked goods as a welcome gift and left for our second night as well. Just wonderful for couples who want to really get away and 'unplug' (little to no Internet - ya hoo!).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Words cannot express how pleased we were with our stay! We have experienced so many things and made new memories that we could not have possibly done in the city, seeing all of the stars in the clear night's sky was breathtaking and it doesn't hurt that our hosts were as sweet as pie. We will be returning :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dani L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
6.2 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
994 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
50 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
135 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
17.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Mountain Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Escape

Address: 1132 Jewell Hollow Rd, (bordering the Shenandoah National Park), Luray, VA 22835-5710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Price Range: £122 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia's "Simply Charming" authentic timber frame cabins bordering the Shenandoah National Park - Luray, VA. A truly unique romantic couple's escape conveniently located in a woodland park setting on the "Blue Ridge Whisky Wine Loop"... only a few minutes from the Shenandoah National Park entrance, Luray Caverns, Lake Arrowhead and a wide variety of other attractions. Discover the ambiance of a rare timber frame tastefully arranged with quality furnishing including antiques and European décor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Escape Hotel Luray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing