We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shadow Mountain Escape is Outstanding!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shadow Mountain Escape
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
Virginia
16
Reviewed 17 March 2006

We found Shadow Mountain Escape by accident, but it has turned out to be a place that my husband and I plan on visiting yearly (maybe more)!

Shadow Mountain offers the perfect getaway. They have a natural trail to walk on the property, a pond, a spot for building outside fires and it is just minutes from the entrance of Skyline Drive and more.

Your hosts offer you extensive information on activities, restaurants and shopping close by. We have stayed in both the "Bumble Bee" cabin and "Dragon Fly". This is definately not roughing it - both offer wonderful accomadations including a fire place and beautiful furnishings. You won't want to leave!

The hosts are the nicest people you will ever meet, when you meet them it feels like you have known them forever. I have stayed in many Inns/Bed & Breakfasts and the hospitality here is exceptional! When you arrive they welcome you with a "Welcome Basket" full of homemade goodies, this is just another added touch that makes this place great.

If you want a romantic getaway or a family vacation, Shadow Mountain is the place to stay.

My husband and I have made a promise that if we move far away, we will still make a trip to Shadow Mountain!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Shadow Mountain Escape
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 193 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Houston Texas
16
Reviewed 17 March 2006

My wife and I took our three grown children, their spouses and our three grandchildren to Shadow Mountain Escape for a week last summer. We had the most wonderful time. The site is really beautiful. There is room for kids to run and around and play. Karen and her husband have decorated their cabins with exquisite taste, and they maintain them as perfectly as we could do in our own home. They are also the kinds of gracious hosts who also become friends because they make their guests feel so at home. Each day we drove the very short distance to the entrance to Shenandoah National Park where we hiked extensively. All in all, it was an ideal vacation. We give it our absolutely highest recommendation.

Daniel and Karol Musher
Houston Texas

Stayed: August 2005
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2006

We stayed at Shadow Mountain Escape for the weekend. It was WONDERFUL!! Karen and Ralph were very friendly and incredibly helpful. The Butterfly lodge was great for two people or four. The grounds lead right into the Shannahdoah National Park. There are great wineries in the area, lots of hiking and trials at the National Park and breath-taking views!! Karen goes out of her way regarding hospitality. She leaves you a cookie welcome basket and marshmellows for the campfire. The area the people are all very warm and friendly!! We are planning a return trip at the end of the summer!!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank GoingOverThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2006

What an amazing place. Peaceful, quiet, and a beautiful setting. We rented out all 3 cabins, and everything was in perfect order. The rooms were all clean, comfortable, and well stocked (and the fresh homemade cookies were a nice touch). The owners, Karen and Ralph, were more than willing to help us out with anything that we needed during our stay....All said, well worth every cent.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VAtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2006

Shadow Mountain Escape was fabulous! We loved the place with its unique decorations/structures and beautiful, peaceful setting. The only things we'd suggest is that they add a bathroom in each cabin, and some extra couches/comfortable sitting space in the common rooms. We shared the Bear Dance Lodge with 3 other couples and while it was really great and fun, we felt the bathroom shortage and ended up hanging out in the large dining room most of the time.

Stayed: September 2005
2  Thank CindyV10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2006

Shadow Mountain Escape is the most charming hideaway! The cabins are beautiful timber frame construction and are decorated to the tee with authentic collections from the owner's travels. The cabins are so unique in their design and the lodge has a great common room in the tower for a beautiful view of the mountains. The cabins are spacious enough for families, but still quaint and cozy. Our family of eight actually rented both cabins and enjoyed the entire lodge to ourselves. It has all the amenties of home including a washer and dryer and the entertainment room in the basement was in the process of being completed. Our cell phones did not work at the cabins, but a few minutes on the road towards town and they were back in service. The cabins have phones provided for local service and credit card for long distance.

The location is gorgeous, nestled down in a small hollow. The property is laid out beautifully with a nature trail, pond, stream, and woods for exploring. We easily accessed the area in a large van and without 4 wheel drive. The mountain roads are well-maintained. While at the cabins you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere, yet you are just a few miles from everything you need. It's close enough to go into town for dinner and a movie, or to tour the Luray Caverns or enjoy a fun-filled frolic through the Garden Maze. The opposite direction has the breathtaking Skyline drive just 5 minutes away. D.C. is less than two hours away---a perfect day trip. An hour south is Massanutten Ski Resort with great tubing!

The part that makes Shadow Mountain Escape stand out amongst any other place---the wonderful, personal attention and care given by the owners, Karen and Ralph. They have built their dream here and you can see the passion in the way they treat their guests. Karen is there for whatever you need and you feel like family with her. She had fresh baked goods when we arrived, prepared a bonfire for us, had all the details of things to do in the area, checked on us regularly, and even had some little goodie bags for all our children when we left. Our kids loved her and couldn't believe how sweet she was.

I highly recommend Shadow Mountain Escape to families or couples looking for a mountain get away. We found them on the internet and discovered it was even better than the website claimed!


  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Momta6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Purcellville, VA
16
Reviewed 16 March 2006

We stayed at the Bumblebee and Butterfly. It was wonderful! Karen (the owner) took care of our every need. The cabins were absolutely beautiful and full of gorgeous finds from Karen's time in Germany. Very comfortable and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
6.2 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
993 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
49 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
134 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
17.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Mountain Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Escape

Address: 1132 Jewell Hollow Rd, (bordering the Shenandoah National Park), Luray, VA 22835-5710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Price Range: £122 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia's "Simply Charming" authentic timber frame cabins bordering the Shenandoah National Park - Luray, VA. A truly unique romantic couple's escape conveniently located in a woodland park setting on the "Blue Ridge Whisky Wine Loop"... only a few minutes from the Shenandoah National Park entrance, Luray Caverns, Lake Arrowhead and a wide variety of other attractions. Discover the ambiance of a rare timber frame tastefully arranged with quality furnishing including antiques and European décor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Escape Hotel Luray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing