We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great escape!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shadow Mountain Escape

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shadow Mountain Escape
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A great escape!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2006

Just returned from a weekend at Shadow Mountain Escape. It truly lives up to its name. Very private and relaxing, the "cabins" are really two condos inside one building, but because of the way they are built there are no adjoining walls, and you feel like you have the place to yourself. Even better than pictured on their website.

Our cabin, the Dragonfly, was very well appointed and spotlessly clean. Leather sofas and deck off the upstairs den were added bonuses. We were greeted warmly by Karen, the owner, and then left to enjoy the property and relax. We didn't participate in the evening bonfire, but it would be great for families. We did walk the short trail, and the deer appeared as if they were scheduled.

Two couples or a big family would have plenty of room here. It would also make a great rendevouz point for friends. Access to Shenandoah Nat'l Park and town of Luray is excellent. We'd recommend the Artisans Grill for lunch or a light dinner, and a Moment to Remember for cappuccino.

We will absolutely visit again.

  • Liked — Every detail was top notch
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank RDfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
131
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plano, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2006

If you are seeking a quiet, secluded, scenic place to relax and chill out, you cannot do better than Shadow Mountain Escape. Karen & Ralph have created an environment which immediately makes you feel welcomed and at ease. The property, with an abundance of trees, nature trail, pond, and evening campfires offers a unique experience. We especially enjoyed sitting outside on the elevated deck of the Butterfly loft. The deck afforded a peaceful view of the night sky, as well as a great place to linger a little longer over the delicious basket of pastries with morning coffee on those early fall mornings. You should know that Karen is a blue-ribbon-winning baker then you will understand our delight when tasting the plum cake!

With so many interesting local activities, I appreciated Ralph’s recommendations on the nearby wineries, Luray dining, Shenandoah Forest hiking/driving, and the Caverns, even though there were plenty of detail brochures in the cabin.

I have traveled a fair amount and spent my share of nights in a variety hotels & lodges. Shadow Mountain Escape now ranks at the top of my list! I highly recommend it! I dare you to be disappointed!

  • Liked — Quiet, secluded, embedded in forest
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gsmith4100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2006

Shadow Mountain Escape is just that-an amazing escape. We went there for our honeymoon and we could not have asked for a more relaxing, romantic atmosphere. I had read great reviews and spoken to Karen (the owner) prior to going so my expectations were high and I was not dissappointed. We were greeted by Karen's husband (sorry can't remember his name), who was working outside the Butterfly Loft where we stayed and before we could circle the yard Karen was bounding up the road. What a perky and happy lady! She showed us our cabin and the grounds and left us alone. The Butterfly Loft is perfect for romance and atmosphere. Karen baked us some goodies, gave us a bottle of champagne and it just set the tone for our stay. The loft has everything you will need, kitchen, dining table, bed, couch, dvd player, towels....just too much to list. She made sure our honeymoon was perfect. The area is a wonderful escape from the world for a while. Cell phones don't work but Karen let us use her home phone to let family know we had made it there safely. I could write a book about the place but l won't I will just say if you are looking for a get-a-way be it with your significant other or larger group, this is the place to stay. Shadow Mountain escape will always be our one great escape!

  • Liked — The beauty of the lodge and surrounding mountains.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you have good brakes!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stacy2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2006

12 people from our office came to stay here for our retreat. There was more than enough space at this beautiful location. The interiors were gorgeous, Karen was incredibly hospitable (thanks again for the delicious baked goods prepared on our arrival and setting up a fire for us!)

We couldn't have asked for a better place for our retreat. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank piersonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2006

I have one daughter and four daughters-in-law! We wanted a place affordable, quiet, and unique to have a gals' retreat. We didn't want to do any work, just a place to hang out, talk, shop and have fun! This place fits the bill to a T. The owners are so gracious and inviting and oh those lovely little treats left on the kitchen table. Definitely a 10 and a go-again. Thanks so much!
Oh, found this place by crusing the web, some of us are from Canada, it ismuch more than the pictures show!

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank a1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2006

This retreat met our expectations and our expectations were high. The atmosprere was serene and the European country style architecture was exquisite. Karen, the energetic proprietor, saw to our every need. We highly recommend this peaceful sanctuary to all who are seeking a quiet "get-a-away".

Dan and Nora Berkery, Newport News, VA

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2006

I have been to Shadow Mountain Escape once in the fall and once in the sprintime for the last three years. Sometimes I've gone with friends and we've rented the entire property.

I stayed in the Butterfly this spring with my fiance. This is one of the most romantic places I've ever been, in any season. The proprieter takes care of her guests as if you've known her forever. It is so peaceful/ You never have to leave the grounds, but if you do, there is much to do outside the property, such as hiking the gorgeous Shenandoah Park, antiquing in town, or eating a quiet dinner in town.

The place accomodates families, couples, singles, weddings, bachelor parties, fishing groups. You name it, they do it. They go out of their way to accomodate any request you have. The proprietor is a fabulous baker, too - you won't want to miss her cookies as you arrive!

My fiance fell in love with the place,and when we were discussing what we'd do for our honeymoon he suggested we take a few days at Shadow Mountain, in the Butterfly. It is truly a place where stress leaves you and memories are made.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heffernelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
6.2 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
4.2 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
9.6 mi away
Big Meadows Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge
#1 of 8 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Mountain Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Escape

Property: Shadow Mountain Escape
Address: 1132 Jewell Hollow Rd, (bordering the Shenandoah National Park), Luray, VA 22835-5710
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia's "Simply Charming" authentic timber frame cabins bordering the Shenandoah National Park - Luray, VA. A truly unique romantic couple's escape conveniently located in a woodland park setting on the "Blue Ridge Whisky Wine Loop"... only a few minutes from the Shenandoah National Park entrance, Luray Caverns, Lake Arrowhead and a wide variety of other attractions. Discover the ambiance of a rare timber frame tastefully arranged with quality furnishing including antiques and European décor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Escape Hotel Luray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing