We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MayneView Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
MayneView Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Beltsville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We went for a little weekend getaway to see the Luray caverns and stayed at this B&B. There are actually 2 housed MayneView and Greentree. We stayed at the Greentree which is just across the road. The house was cute and cozy. Old but well kept. The keeper was really nice and the breakfast delicious and very southern (very large portions!) The hot tub was nice and the house quiet. Overall a lovely stay:-) The caverns were less than a mile way!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    24
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
81
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stayed here for our anniversary. Hosts were friendly and very helpful with information about the area. Room was clean and had shampoo/soap and robes provided. Nice hot tub, however we did not use it due to our visit being in the middle of summer. Room was nicely furnished with antique furniture. Bathroom was a little awkward and sink was in the bedroom, however this was adequately described in the room description. Breakfast was delicious with a variety of choices each morning.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Merlin room which is perfect for a couple and had an ensuite bathroom, however some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAS9300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We felt like we were staying with family. Paul was a wonderful host, room was perfect, good breakfast,amazing view. Could not of found a better place to stay in the area.

Room Tip: Pen Dragon room is awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We had a pleasant stay here on the last leg of our road trip. We stopped in Luray to see the Caverns and are glad we chose the Mayneview. Owners live in a cottage next door. They are friendly, helpful, and make a tasty breakfast. We are cat people and liked the friendly inn cat Molly who eagerly ran into our room to keep us company. The AC worked great and bathrooms were in good shape. Grab dinner at Artisans' Grille and make sure to get your tickets to the Caverns at a discount from Inn owner Paul.

Room Tip: all have private baths but only some have the bathrooms inside the bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chelseagrrlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We enjoyed our stay here. The hosts made sure we were well fed with breakfast and snack items. Their cat Molly was very friendly and liked attention. Nice view of the mountains in the distance and close to some good places to stop for dinner. Could have been a bit cleaner, but we have critical eyes in that respect. Easy to get to some very good hiking and kayaking/canoeing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MintGreen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed at the Greentree Inn during our week-long honeymoon road trip in Virginia. The Greentree is run by the same people as the Mayneview, but is about a block away. We had the house to ourselves, as it was not full that night. Paul made us feel very much at home and was a great innkeeper! Our room was very clean and included a private bath. It was cozy, but the arrangement of the furniture made it a little awkward to get in and out of bed on one side.

We had breakfast at the main house, which included coffee cake, fruit, quiche and tea and coffee. My husband is a vegetarian and there was a vegetarian quiche available for him. The innkeepers are cat people, as are we, and we enjoyed meeting the many cats around the property.

The Greentree also offers an outdoor hot tub. There were a few complimentary beverages and snacks in the main dining room as well.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicalw28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

A comfortable accommadation with some good extras water, sodas and nibbles. Host was very friendly with good advice on where to eat and places to visit he also gave us a discoint to visit the nearby caves. A freshly cooked breakfast each day, very tasty served in traditional dining room.

Room Tip: Nicely decorated with all imenities. Bathroom was next door but we knew that no problem as robes pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gwinnBrackley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.3 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MayneView Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MayneView Bed & Breakfast

Property: MayneView Bed & Breakfast
Address: 439 Mechanic St, Luray, VA 22835-1818
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MayneView Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Views In Luray!Over the winter we have undergone a number of upgrades and renovations! We have added mini split HVAC units to all of the bedrooms and cottage, renovated several of the bathrooms, upgraded beds, replaced the linens and towels, refinished the floors, repainted, added lighting and more! We will continue to make upgrades in the near future. Come out and see what we've done. If you are looking for a relaxed, comfortable get away, that close to everything the Luray area has to offer, we are your best choice. Our family friendly B & B, originally built in 1865 is nestled between the Shenandoah National Park and the George Washington National Forest and features stunning views of the mountains and town. We provide six guest bedrooms in the B&B, all with private baths/showers. A delicious, complete breakfast is served each morning for B&B guests. We also provide a 2 bedroom cottage, breakfast not included, which features a small kitchen, space for 6 guests and a private 8 X 30 ft deck for enjoying the breathtaking mountain views. The scenery can also be appreciated from our spacious front porch, from our 4 person hot tub, and many of our guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your MayneView Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing