We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome pet friendly B&B in the heart of the Shenandoah valley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MayneView Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Spent the night here with my 60 lb. dog on an overnight between two long dayhikes up in Shenandoah National Park. It was a great choice.

First, the location in Luray is amazing. Set just outside of the historic downtown the front yard gives you relaxing views of the town all the way to the Blue Ridge Mountains. Plenty of room to enjoy coffee, read a book, walk the dog, and even a hot tub with views! (Chose not to use this stay) There is also a fenced in area on the property down the hill to let the dog off leash!

Second, the historic home was cozy, comfortable, and enjoyable for both me and the dog. With hardwood floors, they actually wanted dogs of leash! There is a house cat on premises who is very friendly but be aware if your dog isn't cat friendly. (Mine is so no problem!)

The furnishing of both the common areas and the bedroom are historic but also with modern conveniences and extremely comfortable. I found it quite relaxing. Each bedroom does have its own reserved private bath, even if it's a couple of steps down the upstairs hallway like mine was. Everything was extremely clean and fresh. Just be aware that some rooms (at least the Guinevere room I was in) did not have AC so you rely on an open window to get any summer late day stuffy, warm air relief. Didn't bother me on this mid 80s day but it did take a bit into the evening to be as comfortable as the downstairs and front porch areas were.

The owners were friendly and live next door so they were not intrusive but were responsive to any requests! The breakfast was extremely good and tasty as well. Sleep in, or get up and enjoy coffee or tea on the porch with the amazing views as I did. The 8:30 breakfast was filled with fresh fruit, lemon poppy seed coffee cake and a choice of hot breakfast (praline French toast or ham, egg, & cheese croissant the morning I was there). Very good quality, perfect before venturing out into the Shenandoah for the day. I will definitely be back anytime I'm in the area!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayneview, Owner at MayneView Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

We want to thank this guest for the complimentary remarks but we do need to make one correction. As with all of our rooms, the Guinevere room does have air conditioning . Perhaps the guest missed this information at check-in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

We spent 1 night here on our way down the Skyline Drive. Beautiful old house set in 3 acres overlooking the mountains. Hosts were wonderful throughout and breakfast was delicious. Had our own private bathroom set along the landing from our room, but no problem. Room and bed is very comfortable with complementary soft drinks, and snacks.
Downstairs guest lounge and dining room beautifully decorated with antiques throughout, we spent a very relaxing evening sitting in the lounge with Molly, the 3rd host and resident cat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kencnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My boyfriend and I only were able to stay here for one night, but it was very nice and enjoyable. The owners were courteous but not over bearing. We stayed in the Pen Dragon, which had an especially wonderful bath tub. Unfortunately we got side tracked to the wonderful hot tub out front. We also became buddies with the house's cat Molly. Hope to visit again some time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoraFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Mayneview back in January. The house was beautiful, our room was very cozy and spotless, with an adorable little fireplace. Our bed was very comfortable and we slept like babies. Immediately upon arrival we were met by the owners who were so sweet, and very welcoming to both us and our dog. It was difficult for us to find a B&B that would accept pets, but they did and didn't just "tolerate" our dog, they talked to him and pet him and made me feel great about having him there. The breakfasts both mornings were WONDERFUL. They talked to us during breakfast, asking about our daily plans and offering advice/tips on where to go, what to do. There's a cat that stays in the house named Molly who is sweet as can be! There's a hot tub outside that has an absolutely beautiful view of downtown Luray and the mountains. It is unbelievable. Even though snow was on the ground and it was freezing, we went in the hot tub and it was AWESOME. Seeing the snow covered mountains while relaxing in the hot tub was one of the best memories of the trip. And at night, you can see so many stars in the sky.

I'm so happy we found this place; I can't wait to go back to Luray and stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmandaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed at the Green Tree Inn, but it was a B & B. We were told it is owned by the daughter of Mayneview B & B, that is out of the country, but managed by the owner of Woodruff B & B. I guess they help each other out. He made a fantastic breakfast, wow, very impressed with the feast we had. The rom was downstairs, very comfortable 4 poster bed. LR not so inviting. Great jacuzzi. We were the only ones there the first night. Second night you could hear the late night arrivals managing the narrow staircase. If you are large or have large suitcases, don't mess with trying to maneuver those steep, narrow staircase, they are ankle twisters. But the rooms are pretty upstairs.

Room Tip: Their is no pool, just a fabulous jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bella1035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a lovely weekend at this quaint little B&B! Paul was a wonderful host, sharing friendly advice about local dining options and area attractions, including how to get a great discount at the Luray Caverns.

The room we stayed in (Merlin) was spacious, clean and charming, with a fireplace and a lovely armoire. The hosts left us complimentary sparkling cider and chocolates, as well as cozy robes and slippers that came in handy when we braved the cold and headed out to the hot tub, which sits on the deck overlooking all of Luray and a beautiful mountain view. Molly, the sweet house cat, spent the whole weekend purring and keeping us company.

On the first floor, you'll find a sitting room, extra bathroom, game room and TV room with a flat screen TV and a great selection of DVDs. The kitchen is toward the back of the house, where breakfast is served buffet-style every morning between 8 and 10 a.m. Breakfast is delicious: pecan pancakes, french toast, various quiches and frittatas, breakfast meats, fruit salad, coffee cake, yogurt, cereal, milk, orange juice, coffee and tea. We are vegetarians, and we really appreciated the hosts accommodating our needs without any problems. The kitchen also has a large mini fridge, microwave and complimentary snacks and beverages for guests to enjoy.

If you're looking for a B&B that will pamper you without intruding and breathing down your neck, Mayneview is the place for you! Overall a wildly impressive value for only $99 a night. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jacquelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I've had a difficult time trying to write a review for this B&B. I guess it's just adequate. For the pros - it's in a good location in Luray, parking on premises, the room was an ok size and clean, there was no noise from other rooms, and breakfast was plentiful and there's a small fridge for guest use. However, when I stay at a B&B, I am accustomed to being pampered, both in accommdations and breakfast. Not so in this case. It's an old house with a narrow staircase going up to the rooms, so keep that in mind if you have a lot of luggage or large pieces. Some will say that the house has period furniture, which I guess it does. On this same trip we stayed at another B&B which had beautiful, inviting period furniture, but this was just old, uncomfortable and uninviting. The fixtures in the bathroom in the room should have been replaced long ago; it made for the sink & bathroom to look dirty and neglected. The shower curtain didn't close properly, so trying not to get the floor wet was a problem. Breakfast in the morning was ample, but nothing special - eggs, potatoes, sausage & muffins - same as you can make at home or get anywhere. We were supposed to all sit around the table to eat, but that didn't happen. Paul was nice enough and helpful, but we never saw his wife. If you're expectations aren't high, you will be fine here; but if you expect a B&B where you will feel pampered, this is not it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VivSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayneview, Owner at MayneView Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

As with most of our guests, this guest's experience was based on expectations. For the overwhelming majority of our guests our inn's amenities and accommodations meet or exceed their expectations (see other reviews). To be clear, we do not market ourselves as a luxury B&B that "pampers" guests. We provide cozy, comfortable accommodations and helpful, personal service to our guests. With the exception of 2 rooms, we do not have modern bathrooms; most have claw foot tubs with showers. The bathroom fixtures and showers are all functional and it should be noted that claw foot tubs were not designed with showers in mind. All of our guests are served breakfast around a large table or they serve themselves when we have buffets and eat at the table. In either case, I'm not sure what this guest was referring to by saying, "it didn't happen". They didn't see my wife as she was probably working in the kitchen and it's my job to interface with guests. I would amend the last sentence in this review by saying, "If you have realistic expectations based a review of the B&B's website and other guests favorable comments, you will be fine here; but if you want to be pampered, there are other more expensive options in the area".
Paul Edwards
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.2 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,012 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
1.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MayneView Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MayneView Bed & Breakfast

Address: 439 Mechanic St, Luray, VA 22835-1818
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range: £179 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MayneView Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Views In Luray!Over the winter we have undergone a number of upgrades and renovations! We have added mini split HVAC units to all of the bedrooms and cottage, renovated several of the bathrooms, upgraded beds, replaced the linens and towels, refinished the floors, repainted, added lighting and more! We will continue to make upgrades in the near future. Come out and see what we've done. If you are looking for a relaxed, comfortable get away, that close to everything the Luray area has to offer, we are your best choice. Our family friendly B & B, originally built in 1865 is nestled between the Shenandoah National Park and the George Washington National Forest and features stunning views of the mountains and town. We provide six guest bedrooms in the B&B, all with private baths/showers. A delicious, complete breakfast is served each morning for B&B guests. We also provide a 2 bedroom cottage, breakfast not included, which features a small kitchen, space for 6 guests and a private 8 X 30 ft deck for enjoying the breathtaking mountain views. The scenery can also be appreciated from our spacious front porch, from our 4 person hot tub, and many of our guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your MayneView Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing