We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place ... Relaxing...Touring” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MayneView Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
MayneView Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Syracuse
1 review
“Great place ... Relaxing...Touring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

Hosts Sally and Paul Edwards welcomed us and shared their knowledge of Luray, tourist sites and restaurants, with us. The Mayneview's central location to Civil War sites in the Shenandoah Valley was our main enticement and we discovered that Luray Caverns with its superlative auto and valley-life museums are a definite stop. Restful nights and ample breakfasts with early morning walks around the property made for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goreddragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    24
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
81
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

I visited the Mayne View with my two dogs. The innkeepers were very accommodating to both my traveling companions and my arrival schedule. The Pen Dragon was a charming room with a comfortable bed. We enjoyed the company of the other guests. And breakfast was bountiful and delicious. I just have nothing negative to say about our visit!

I've stayed at some fabulous Victorian B&Bs in Cape May and always mourned the fact that I couldn't enjoy that experience with my dogs. But the Mayne View is wonderful Victorian home with Victorian furnishings and a Victorian feel that not only allows dogs, but welcomes them. It's rare to find a true B&B that allows you to enjoy the relaxed and social vibe that you go to a B&B for, plus allows you to enjoy it with your four-legged babies. We'll be visiting the Mayne View again!

Extra special thanks to Molly the cat who gave up the free reign of her home to allow my dogs to sniff and investigate and enjoy their stay.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schmedrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

We stayed at Mayneview for 2 days. Paul was very friendly and accommodating. Sally was very nice even though we didn't get a chance to talk to her allot. From what I hear, she doesn't really come out and mingle with the guests. She is constantly busy trying to help with the inn and make breakfast in the morning. They have two sons who help out with the inn and are very friendly. The inn has a cat(Molly) Great cat. There are a few stray cats outside also. But they aren’t allowed in the house.

BREAKFAST: Overall the breakfast was nice but a little bit too formal for me. We all came, sat and ate at 9am. The table was set up nicely and Paul served us one course after another. We would have preferred the food laid out for us and we can pick and choose what we like.

PROS:
Owners- nice, friendly and very accommodating.

Location: The inn has a great view, small deck and a hot tub.
5 min -Luray Caverns
20 min - Skyline Drive
5 min - Luray Zoo

Close to Main St.

Close to allot of restaurants, stores and fast food.

Wifi

Snacks and Board games

Good Price- If you stay multiple days, you get a discount!

Fridge/microwave upstairs


CON:
Rooms -
I think the rooms needed to be updated! Especially the bathrooms. We stayed in the
Merlin and it seemed to be bigger than the other rooms. It was a nice room but we
wished the bathroom was just a little cleaner and little bit more updated. One
downside, was that the bathroom only had a tub and toilet. It was a little cramped. The sink was outside in our
room! Some might like that, but we didn't. We would of preferred everything in the
bathroom.

No TV in room: I wished we had a small TV in the room but we didn't. They had a nice TV downstairs but I didn't want to go downstairs at night to watch TV.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and we would recommend this inn. But be warned, don't come with high expectations. Another reviewer said that the room was "perfectly adequate" - he/she was correct.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nil23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayneview, owner at MayneView Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 November 2009
We appreciate the feedback from the T family as we are always seeking ways to improve our accommodations and service. However, some of the comments made were not appropriate because the family knew in advance that the room was set up for double occupancy and might be a little cramped with rollaways in it to accommodate all family members. They also knew that this room did not have a TV in it and the sink is in the room as the photos on our website clearly indicate the bathroom configuration and other features in the room. Again, thanks to the family for the review. This room will be updated over the winter with TV and newly glazed bath tub. The T family might have chosen our B&B because we are the only one in town that accepts young children.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampton, va
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

We went t Luray for my husband;s birthday. We had the BEST weekend. Paul and his wife made us feel like we were visiting friends. The room was great! We were able to relax and have fun. Paul gave us lots of recomendatons for places to visit and places to eat. Great value. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janiceandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

The owners were very knowledgeable and gave us a brief history of the surroundings as well as points of interest for our visit. It felt like home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarylandDaydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo ND
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2009

Check in and out was quick and easy. The property was perched up on a hill so the view was nice. There were snacks and beverages available at all times to guests. There were also board games.

There was a hot tub outside but I'm not sure if it was out of commission or if they just didn't want it going that particular weekend. Lots of friendly cats roaming the yard.

We stayed in the Pendragon. There was a king sized bed which consumed much of the room. There was a bathroom in the room which consisted of the toilet and sink. The shower was in the room, not the bathroom, but the bedroom. It did get warm in the room but luckily it cooled off at night so we opened the window to allow some circulation.

Breakfast was good. It was something served in a ramekin and piece of fruit. It was tasty but I'm used to a big, hearty breakfast when I stay at B & Bs.

PS. They have the cutest movie theater in Luray.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saraalison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2008

The MayneView B&B was an absolute delight. The Edwards are friendly from the moment you enter the yard, and the accommodations are well-kept, comfortable, and beautiful. They extend a level of courteousness beyond the norm, and the perks of staying there include a hot tub, free snacks & drinks, board games, and TV. The Edwards are very personal and invite you into their family during their stay, and were also very accommodating to our dietary restrictions. We loved our room (The Pendragon) and had a great time!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.3 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
1.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
14.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MayneView Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MayneView Bed & Breakfast

Property: MayneView Bed & Breakfast
Address: 439 Mechanic St, Luray, VA 22835-1818
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MayneView Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Views In Luray!Over the winter we have undergone a number of upgrades and renovations! We have added mini split HVAC units to all of the bedrooms and cottage, renovated several of the bathrooms, upgraded beds, replaced the linens and towels, refinished the floors, repainted, added lighting and more! We will continue to make upgrades in the near future. Come out and see what we've done. If you are looking for a relaxed, comfortable get away, that close to everything the Luray area has to offer, we are your best choice. Our family friendly B & B, originally built in 1865 is nestled between the Shenandoah National Park and the George Washington National Forest and features stunning views of the mountains and town. We provide six guest bedrooms in the B&B, all with private baths/showers. A delicious, complete breakfast is served each morning for B&B guests. We also provide a 2 bedroom cottage, breakfast not included, which features a small kitchen, space for 6 guests and a private 8 X 30 ft deck for enjoying the breathtaking mountain views. The scenery can also be appreciated from our spacious front porch, from our 4 person hot tub, and many of our guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your MayneView Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing