We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Family Retreat”
Large roomy house in the Blue Ridge mountains with ridiculous views of Skyline Drive behind
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large roomy house in the Blue Ridge mountains with ridiculous views of Skyline Drive behind
Large open floor plan around kitchen and dining area Living room with flat screen TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Large roomy house in the Blue Ridge mountains with ridiculous views of Skyline Drive behind
Large open floor plan around kitchen and dining area
Living room with flat screen TV
Master bedroom with great lighting, private deck and TV
Extra twin bunkbed sleeping area in master bedroom
Master bath with large tub and shower
2nd private bedroom with queen and bunkbed
Bunk room with spacious (full size) bunk beds
More bunk room beds
Additional bunk room, great for small groups
Full bathroom next to bunk rooms
Third full bathroom attached to private bedroom
Spacious modern hot tub that can fit 6-8 with beautiful views of the mountains behind
Game room!  Pool, air hockey, ping pong!
Playground for the kids
Campfire and picnic area
Unlimited dried/stacked firewood nearby (firewood fee is $10/night, added to every booking)
Another game room for card games adjacent to living and dining rooms
Large laundry area
The second/backup kitchen and laundry area downstairs
Sit and have your morning coffee looking at this view
Spectacular views off back decks and yard
Total seclusion and privacy on top of a mountain (this picture was taken by drone)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hayden A
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Retreat”
Reviewed 19 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

My friends and I who live in DC have been renting a house for the last several years as a fall weekend getaway. As our families have gotten bigger its been harder to find a place that meets all our needs. I think we found a keeper in the sunridge retreat. It fit 8 adults and 7 kids no problem. The master suite is especially nice with an on suite bathroom. The kitchen and living room areas are spacious and large. There is even a bonus game room with ping pong, air hockey and foosball. Outside there is a nice playground area and fire pit and there is a jacuzzi on the back deck. I really could not ask for much more. A few minor inconveniences were a large number of stink bugs, some higher grade pots and pans, and maybe a few more ktichen suppliers. Otherwise it fit our needs perfectly. We will likely be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2017
Hayden, that's wonderful! Thank you for the spreading the word
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felicia A
1 review
“Large family friendly home”
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The view from the house and surrounding areas is spectacular. The house is large and can sleep 20+ people with a lot of room to spread out. There were toys for the kids and our little ones loved the swing set. If you do have little ones bring a baby gate because we ended up blocking off the stairs with chairs to prevent accidental tumbles. The furniture and decor are a bit outdated but it didn't stop us from having a good time. Very secluded home in the woods with private gravel roads leading in. We saw a bear on our first day but it kept its distance. Also saw lots of birds, bunnies and tons of stink bugs. We had an issue the first day with the hot tub and they send someone right over. We would definitely rent this house again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2017
Felicia, thanks for the feedback. That's awesome that you guys got to see a bear! What a wonderful experience for the kids! We'll see you next time. Oh - any thing we could have done better to get that 5th star off you?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L
1 review
“Great Space!”
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This place was amazing! We had a pretty big group (around 16 people) and there was plenty of space for all of us to have our own beds, but there was also enough common space for all of us to be together when we wanted to (we could all have meals together which was nice). The views are incredible from the back porches and the hot tub and the fire pit are really nice additions. I would definitely recommend this place!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
Sarah, thanks for coming out! You guys were great! Hope to see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane H
2 reviews
“Great for large groups”
Reviewed 17 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Stayed with a large group of friends to hike the Old Rag Trail on a windy but gorgeous fall day. The location was absolutely breathtaking in daylight but a bit of an adventure for us to find in the dark. The directions from the owner were spot on and essential.

There was plenty of space for people to lounge around and have quiet conversations as well as large communal areas where we could hang out together. The fire pit was great and being able to see the stars without much background lighting was wonderful. The kitchen is spacious and fully equipped. Please be advised that there is literally no cell reception from most cell phone providers. The wireless was a bit overwhelmed by the number of people connected but otherwise okay. Also, there was a relatively loud noise coming from the backyard at short intervals, but we eventually got used to it.

Paul and Emily were very responsive to any questions we had. They were also very accommodating when our numbers kept changing. Also, there was a glitch in the payment system, but they caught it and promptly worked to get it resolved.

Overall, a great experience with the owners, and a relaxing stay for a short weekend getaway from the city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2016
Jane, thanks for leaving a review and we're glad you guys were able to enjoy the local nature and hiking!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Womelsdorf, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chris M
1 review
“Great site, spacious, clean, economical”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I had a pleasant stay at the Sunridge Retreat over the holiday weekend. The website covered all of the essential details and there were no surprises when I arrived. The site was clean and all set up for us upon arrival. Communication with the owner was always clear and prompt.

Sunridge Retreat is secluded and has a stunning view. There are plenty of options for your party to stay entertained (without a television or computer). Even with a large group it was possible to sneak away for some privacy if you desired. I'd certainly recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I had plenty of questions along the way and they were always addressed in a timely fashion
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coronel31...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“great place to relax and hang with friends”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

this place has been our preferred weekend escape for the last two years. Such a comfy and relax place to bring a group of friends. I highly recommend this place to others who are looking for weekend getaway out in the shenandoah area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the size and commodities
Liked least: relative distance to river
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing