We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome Rental for a large group!”
Quiet secluded comfy house in the Shenandoah Woods
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Quiet secluded comfy house in the Shenandoah Woods
Large modern hot tub Large game room with ping pong, pool and foosball!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Quiet secluded comfy house in the Shenandoah Woods
Large modern hot tub
Large game room with ping pong, pool and foosball!
Comfortable living room with gas fireplace and TV
Full kitchen with dishwasher
Dining room with other seating nearby
Master Bedroom
Master bathroom
2nd bedroom
3rd bedroom
Bunk room with sleeping for 8
4th bedroom
2nd full bathroom
Outdoor picnic area with grill, campfire and playground
Unlimited dried/stacked firewood (fee is $10/night and added to every booking)
Come, sit and enjoy your morning coffee on the front porch
Privacy on all sides, no neighbors in line of sight
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
erislee83
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Awesome Rental for a large group!”
Reviewed 1 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This house was the perfect rental for my group of 10. The house is huge and offers so many activities. The game room was great and the hot tub and fire pit also got a lot of use. The house had everything we could need. It's a short drive to Luray Caverns and very secluded.

The only thing is that the bunk bed room doesn't have a door which was kind of annoying for the couple that ended up staying in there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2017
Thanks for the great review, Eris! We really appreciated your group! Hope to see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley P
Bel Air, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old wagon lodge”
Reviewed 23 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We visited this house 4 years ago around the same time. The house really needs some upgrades. The same window that was broke 4 years ago was still broke. The floors and carpet are extremely old, have cracks, have changed to yellow. The house also needs a deep cleaning. The price went up drastically from when we were there a year ago and the house looked really runned down. We loved our time there and it is an a great location with it being isolated. Love the lay out of the house and that it is so roomy. The playground also needs some tightening up and some paint. All in all a great please just needs some money put into it and it will be perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2017
Ashley, thanks for the review. HOWEVER, couple of things you said that are false. First, the broken window just broke. You're talking about the one in the kitchen. The outside pane cracked on an extremely cold day about 2 weeks ago and we've had difficulty getting it replaced. It has not been that way for years as you said. Second, the price has not increased in the past year drastically. We bought this property from the previous owners about 3 years ago. The price has remained the same from that point to now with very slight changes. I don't know what price the PREVIOUS owners gave you (4 years ago) but it hasn't changed in the past one year. We do plan on replacing the floors in the near future. Thanks again for coming out.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie L
1 review
“Great cabin with excellent amenities!”
Reviewed 30 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My friends and I had a wonderful time at Old Wagon Lodge for a long weekend. The game room and the huge dining room table for tabletop games were big hits! I also really appreciated not having to provide linens or towels, which made packing easier. The kitchen was fully stocked with basic appliances, cookware, and lots of plates and silverware, and even some cooking oil and seasonings, which was really helpful. The place was clean upon arrival and comfortable to stay in. I also loved how great the owners were with communication - I received key info a week before check-in and then again the day of arrival, and departure information the day of departure. The information was clear and helpful and the staff very responsive to inquiries. I hope to stay there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2016
Hi Annie, thanks for the great review! We appreciate the kind words. You were great to work with - great communication and all house rules were followed. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSUTW
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazingly Peaceful”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Such a great place to escape to and enjoy friends. The amenities were fantastic and we all had such a lively experience being able to bond over old stories. The fire pit and game room were too much fun! haha. Thanks for providing such a fantastic space!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The game room
Liked least: having to leave after 2 days
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Herndon, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exactly as described”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Would stay here again in a heartbeat. The house was absolutely perfect for our large group. there was a bed for everyone, the garage full of games was spectacular for the teens AND adults. BTW The current high score on Ms. PacMan....all me!! LOL. The Hot Tub....ooooh the hot tub...A-MAZ-ING!! We used the fire pit to make smores. It's so peaceful, it's so dark the stars at night were simply breathtaking. We found the place no problem at all. Wifi worked perfectly.

The only cons is the intense gravel road you have to drive on to get to there, the house phone did NOT dial out and we had absolutely no cell phone service......BUT totally worth it!!!!!!!!

I love this house and can't thank you enough.

HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hot Tub, the Garage with games and the large jacuzzi tub in the master bathroom! YES!
Liked least: The gravel road....
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
Thanks, Jennifer, for the great review and kind words. We hope you come back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovesLV
Germantown
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family wedding in Luray”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The house was very nice. We had an extended family of 10 and there was plenty of room for everyone to sleep and enough bathrooms. Game room was great!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Roominess in house
Liked least: Wifi connection was sporadic
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
564jjj
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Serves the purpose for large groups of young people”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cabin is not of the quality of most of the neighboring cabins. We reserved it for friends of the bride and groom who were looking to economize on lodging expenses.

My one complaint is that in the checkout instructions the owner advises that ALL garbage must be taken and disposed of by the renter or else a $5 per bag fee is accessed. This feels like you are being nickeled and dimed, and I do not like surprise charges not disclosed up front.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2015
As the reviewer pointed out, this cabin is priced to economize on lodging expenses, precisely because some of its amenities are not up to the quality we prefer. This is being upgraded over time, and eventually its rates will be raised accordingly when the improvements are complete.

The trash policy is clearly noted in our rental agreement, the property binder, and by signs posted in the kitchen. Requiring guests to remove their own trash is a fairly standard practice for rental properties in the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing