We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, Well-Stocked Cabin Near Skyline Drive, Va”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to the Barred Owl Lodge!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the Barred Owl Lodge!
Hot Tub on covered, wrap-around deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Welcome to the Barred Owl Lodge!
Hot Tub on covered, wrap-around deck
Gorgeous views on the road to the Lodge.
Outdoor Fire Pit and Grilling Patio
Make memories in Shenandoah National Park!
Discover Luray Caverns!
Shop, dine, or wander along the Greenway in quaint downtown Luray!
View from the driveway to the Lodge.
Covered Side Porch leading to Outdoor Fire Pit and Grilling Patio.
Covered Front Porch leading to hot tub.
Large yard, privately situated.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lovely, Well-Stocked Cabin Near Skyline Drive, Va”
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A trip to the Skyline Drive area in Virginia in October can't be beat. Weather was wonderful. Cabin was very comfortable, very well-stocked with essentials, and near hiking areas, wineries, civil war sites, antiques. We appreciated the speedy communications with Lisa prior to the visit to confirm details. With 40 years of vacation renting and home exchanges, this experience was among the top properties for many reasons.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2017
Thank you, Barbara! You guys were wonderful guests and we hope to have you visit again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillary L
1 review
“Perfect and quiet cabin! All you need for a get-a-way under one roof!”
Reviewed 4 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed at the Barred Owl for a couple days after our wedding and it was exactly what we needed. We could not take a long trip because of work schedules but at this point, we do not regret it for a second. The place was immaculate, spacious and full of everything we possibly needed. We were able to unwind and relax from a crazy couple months at the cabin, we couldn't picture a place that would have been more perfect for us. Lisa was very responsive during booking and when we had questions through out the process. She even had a special touch at the cabin for our "honeymoon". We will absolutely be visiting again and recommending to our friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful words and for choosing us for such a special time in your lives! You were wonderful guests, I was so happy to have been able to meet you, and we will look forward to seeing you again. Wishing you an abundance of blessings as you start your lives as a married couple (:
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnMK1
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and beautiful”
Reviewed 24 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

What a lovely cabin, everything you could need. Easy trip to Luray Cavern and the Shenandoah state park, which has some lovely walks, even for us oldies. Even though there are three cabins it is very secluded. Would appreciate instructions on how to use the coffee maker and oven (they are nothing like those in Uk), but we worked it out. There is a deer that seems to wander past twice a day, and beautiful birds. No bears yet but we are hopeful and apprehensive in equal measure.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2017
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and for taking the time to visit us while in the states! We will take into account your suggestion for additional instructions for our visitors from other countries. Thank you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara F
1 review
“Perfect Cain Right Outside Luray”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The cabin was beautiful and the location was perfect. This cabin had everything I was looking for and more! The kitchen has everything you need for cooking, the beds and couches are comfortable, the bathrooms are big, and the hot tub was very relaxing! The cabin is also very easy to find and a short distance from Luray Caverns and lots of great hiking spots.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Thank you for your kind words and we're so glad you had a nice stay! Come again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry g
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This location was so perfect for us, we just needed a peaceful relaxing getaway and that is what we got. The cabin is beautifully kept and maintained with everything you need but food. The hot tub is just what you need to finish off a relaxing day. In the morning have a cup of coffee on the porch and enjoy the peace and tranquility, then go into Stanley to the Hawks bill diner for breakfast, their chip beef gravy on toast and fried potatoes are awsome. The owners are a phone call or txt away if you need them and respond quickly. We loved this place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2017
Thank you, Larry - for the wonderful review and for your business. We do hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy S
New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Everything we were looking for!!”
Reviewed 23 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We surprised our daughter for her 25th birthday. She always said she wanted to stay in a cabin in the woods!! Well she was pleasantly surprised at this beautiful cabin in the woods...The owners have outdone themselves...There was everything you could possibly imagine for your stay...Beautiful views and a very relaxing weekend..She will have many great memories of her time in Stanley/Luray Virginia!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2017
Thank you so much and we are so glad the birthday stay was a success!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wandering...
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL !!”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

There was a collective "WOW" as the four of us walked into Barred Owl Lodge. We immediately felt at home in this cozy, well decorated and immaculately clean property. Everything looks exactly as it does in the photos. The owners have thought of every detail to make for a comfortable stay. The hot tub was the perfect place to relax after a day of sightseeing. Cooler evenings were nice for enjoying a fire in the fire pit. The owners provide a wealth of information about the area ~ sightseeing ideas, things to do, locations of nearby grocery stores, restaurants and local favorites. We will definitely stay here again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2016
Thank you your kind words and for choosing us for your place to stay in the Shenandoah Valley! We will look forward to seeing you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing