We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs alot of work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Intown Luray
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Reviewed 5 October 2013

being handicapped, they had to downstairs rooms, though we did ask with our booking, and were told on arrival there was no guarantee. My husband was able to get me up the 14 or so steps, with use of the railings, but when we got 3 steps before the top all three remaining bolts that hold the railing were out of the wall. Rooms could be cleaner, bathrooms need painting, ceilings peeling

Room Tip: make sure than can accommodate a handicapped person on the lower level, and please be careful with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathon L, Front Office Manager at Best Western Intown Luray, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2014

I am sorry that it took a while to respond, i wanted to make sure that we had worked on all the issues . We have new maintenance and housekeeping staff, and have better trained our front desk on making sure that those with special needs get the rooms that they need.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

Before I booked I read the reviews on Trip Advisor and admit was pretty skeptical but BW Luray was the closet hotel i could find with rooms for the weekend i needed. I am sure there may have been some Mom and Pop places but being from out of state I stay at big name hotels. I was pleasantly surprised to find that our stay was no where as bad as the recent reviews. We arrived late. All three rooms I reserved were clean with plenty of towels, pillows and blankets. NO FLIES or BUGS in Oct. 2013. For a friday night it was very quiet. The hotel staff was friendly and very accommodating; from the night clerk to the nice ladies working the breakfast at the hotels restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BamaGirl1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathon L, Front Office Manager at Best Western Intown Luray, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2014

I am glad that you stay with us exceeded what you was expecting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is not a great hotel to enjoy the Park and Caverns at. Good location but that is all. Broken railings, room had odor, Wet towels were left in room and door was jammed shut when you were inside preventing exit. Management was very unconcerned as they have a contract with a group of workers that stay there weekly to work on the hospital renovations that accept the condition of the hotel. We have reported this to local agencies to Luray.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathon L, Front Office Manager at Best Western Intown Luray, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2014

I waited to respond due to looking into the issues that were mentioned, and taking over this position from the former from manger, I first want to apologize for everything. since your stay we have weeded out our staff that was not preforming up to what our guest expected. We have done many renovations to improve and upgrade our facility, and wish you would be willing to give us another try, im sure you would be pleasantly surprised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The hotel staff was friendly and polite. However, that's about where the good points end. We were attending a wedding and there was supposed to be a block of rooms at a special rate, but when we called, we were told there was no such rate. We found out later that other wedding guests had gotten a better rate. If you're about 6 feet or over, the shower head and the bathroom mirror are too low to be usable. The bed was very hard and uncomfortable. The hotel has an outdoor pool, but no towels are available at the pool, and the room only had two towels. I'm not sure what you're supposed to do if you'd like to use the pool and also take a shower. The alarm clock and one of the lamps were just not plugged in, and there were very few outlets to plug in phones and other devices. The hotel restaurant, advertised as "full service," was only open for breakfast. Parking was limited, so this would not be an ideal choice if you're driving a moving truck or towing a trailer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathon L, Front Office Manager at Best Western Intown Luray, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2014

I waited to respond due to looking into the issues that were mentioned, and taking over this position from the former from manger, I first want to apologize for everything. we have changed our computer system that helps us see what groups have been made , even if there closed or canceled. we also let the guest know at checking that the is extra towel and toiletries available at the lobby when ever needed. since your stay we have weeded out our staff that was not preforming up to what our guest expected. We have done many renovations to improve and upgrade our facility, and wish you would be willing to give us another try, im sure you would be pleasantly surprised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The room was smelly (no AC on, though we had a reservation) like they were masking a smoking smell, there were multiple flies in bathroom and elsewhere (when checking for other cleanliness, found TV remote filthy but in a sanitary holder), the cards for the door were faulty (one did not work at all), and they did not have another room to offer. After finding another place in this small town, late Sunday night, we rejected the room and asked for a refund. They refused, even after calling the owner. We objected to the charge with our credit card company, and the owner lied to them, even stating we refused another room and implying we stayed that night in the first room, though they knew we had surrendered the defective keys and left. We cannot recommend anyone support a business with such shabby cleaning and unethical conduct. Bob from Florida

Room Tip: Do not sign anything until you have inspected the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobE43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Clean room, kind and caring employees, great mattress, good location, plenty of parking, up to date television and internet...Did not try the restaurant, but I know it was a good deal, even in Luray. It was a great location in terms of the highlights of a trip to Luray and the Shenandoah Valley

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Carol A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here for the night and in that short time i found 4 crickets and lots of flys and other mystery bugs inside the room the beds were dirty and full of hair there was a ground bettle crawling on the celling and a nasty odor upon entering the room but if you love to be bit by bugs this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidkor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
0.1 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,005 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
52 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
14.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Intown Luray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Intown Luray

Address: 410 W Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1025 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Intown Luray)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price Range: £69 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Intown Luray 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Intown Luray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Intown Of Luray Hotel Luray
Best Western Luray
Luray Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing