We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rustic Cabins
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Luray
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Skyland(Shenandoah National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
34
17
4
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
17
4
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstarlit viewhot tubbeautiful cabingreat roomthe blue ridge mountainschaletfosterdeckbedroomwalmartweekendescape
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We just got back from Starlit View cabin. The cabin was beautiful and as everyone else has said... the view from the deck is spectacular. We had wanted to go out to the mountains to do some hiking, find some great views, and use the cabin as someplace to come back to at the end of the day and relax.

When we got there, we realized we had probably the best view we could find. We did some hiking, but spent much of our time relaxing, sitting in the hot tub, and just enjoying the cabin.

The cabin was greatly appointed and very comfortable. It had everything we wanted and needed for a restful weekend. It was incredibly quiet and peaceful. There were 3 other cabins behind the trees, but we never knew anyone was there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twcarlson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Dogwood Mtn cabin for a weekend getaway. We had a wonderful time. The kitchen and bathroom are completely redone and really nice. There was plenty of dishes available for us to cook which was a huge plus as we did not want to spend a lot of money going out. The large deck on the front of the cabin was PERFECT. There was a grill and hot tub available and we were able to just relax and enjoy the peace and quiet. The cabin was very private - there is one other home visible from the cabin, but it is on the back side were you probably wouldn't end up spending any time. The town of Luray and the surrounding area is beautiful - we were a very short drive from Skyline Drive and spent a lot of time just checking out all of the local scenery. All in all a great trip!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clcockayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We really enjoyed the Crimson Star cabin and the views were spectacular. The owner was very helpful when we called on how to operate the gas fireplace and heat controls. The main living area and kitchen are very large and has wonderful views of the valley from every window. There are two large bedrooms and two bathrooms in this cabin. Overall this cabin is quite large and has plenty of space for a small family or two couples. The kitchen also has all of the equipment you would need to cook a gourmet meal or something simpler. There is a grill on the deck which was great except that the heat controls seem to be off a bit and we had to watch the food. However, we loved the hot tub and the views from it were amazing. The road leading to the cabin is a little rough and may be tricky for some. Unfortunately the morning before we arrived there was a huge rain fall and parts of the road had washed away which made it a little difficult to get up the hill to the cabin. I was able to make it but would recommend driving a vehicle equipped with 4x4.
The only other issues we had was that the queen mattress in the master bedroom is a little worn out and needs to be replaced.
Overall we has a fantastic weekend at this cabin and would come back again.

Room Tip: Bring your own dvd's if you enjoy watching movies as we weren't able to find a place local to rent them.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chapman2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Holiday Mountain Log Cabin was very close to where my daughter's wedding was at Khimaira Farm. The cabin was quiet, secluded, modern and clean. It exceeded our expectations. David Foster was a very good person to rent from.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Our trip started with excellent communication from David Foster. A true professional. When we arrived I have to admit, I was a little disappointed that the cabin wasn't finished downstairs. But upstairs was perfect!

Clean, beautiful views, and very spacious! Full kitchen and even a dishwasher. We love to cook so this made it feel just like home. The hot tub was amazing! Huge for our family of 4 and the iPod hookup was a great feature!

So close to the Thornton Gap entrance, we had a great time hiking all day and then relaxing all night. I slept more that week than I did all month!

Even Abigail (our mutt) loved everything!

We went and bought a Turkey call when we say wild turkeys around. That was fun as well. One even laid eggs right on the property in front of us! At night we enjoyed the makeshift fire pit on the side of the driveway.

Lake Arrowhead was right down the road so be sure to stop there!

We will definitely be returning to this cabin again in a few years. I hope all of those that stay here keep it clean and maintained well!

Thank you David!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Csistad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews