We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crimson Star is 5 Stars!”
Review of Rustic Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rustic Cabins
Ranked #9 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Richmond, VA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Crimson Star is 5 Stars!”
Reviewed 21 November 2010

My husband, two daughters and myself stayed the weekend at Crimson Star. What a FABULOUS cabin! Gorgeous from every angle! The view of the valley is one of the best in the area! We truly felt relaxed and at home while there. We grilled, enjoyed the hot tub and appreciated the beauty of the all wood cabin. The floors are beautiful! Granite tops in the kitchen, high end appliances, comfy and clean furniture....the list goes on. We are returning in February 2011 and can not wait! Strongly recommend this cabin for a getaway! ENJOY!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teamobx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    17
    3
    4
    7
See reviews for
17
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, VA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We booked all 3 Top-of-all-Views cabins for 6 couples. The location is very secluded and private yet not too far from the towns of Luray or Front Royal. All 3 cabins are identical and very luxurious with all the modern amenities! The decks are large with brand new jacuzzis offering a breathtaking view of the valley from top of the mountain.

AT&T, Verizon and Sprint all worked very well. T-Mobile coverage was bad.

We've all stayed at many cabin locations but everyone in the group fell in love with these!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kahmedsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2010

There are no words in the Webster's Dictionary to describe the feeling that my wife and I experienced as we approached this beautiful view and cabin. Pictures can say a thousand words, but in this case it has to be ten thousands. The Crimson Star cabin has not only met our expectations but exceeded them. Dave Foster has been more than gracious. He has been very accessible and catering. If you want a lifetime memory of beauty and tranquility, this is the place to go!
Not only can you spend your time mesmerized by the view but there are many outdoor activities to go along with this beautiful place. We enjoyed the horseback riding, cavern tours and golf. We also had the experience of meeting a gracious neighbor of the cabin named Donna, who is just down to earth and a pleasure to talk to. It is our desire to revisit this piece of heaven on earth as many times as we can.

Tim and Maggie
NJ

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie46321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, MD
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We selected this cabin because of the modern amenities and great view and were very pleased with our stay.
We were snowed in (2-3') and had no problems with the anything in the cabin the entire time. Getting out on the road the day after the big blizard was a bit of a challenge, but that is to be expected with a record breaking snowfall. The owner arranged for prompt snow removal and did come up to the cabins to check on us.
David is very accomodating and friendly. I recommend this cabin for a weekend getaway for couples. We'll be going back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antennaewaving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

We stayed in the Crimson Star Log Cabin. Our view was breathtaking, especially at sunset! We had no trouble getting there via GPS and the directions sent by Mr. Foster were very clear. We drove a Chevrolet Impala up the final hill with no trouble, even on a rainy day. The cabin and hot tub were all very new and clean and our host even went to the trouble to have the hot tub warmed up and ready for us! Please realize that this is not the Ritz Carlson - there are a few annoyances. We had to take out our own trash, which really wasn't a problem since we took it with us each day (in small bags). The dishwasher is not bolted into the wall, so it will fall slightly forward while loading. All appliances and the TV were top of the line. The bathroom pedistal sink (downstairs) is not bolted down - be careful with that! The upstairs bed did not have sheets or pillowcases and no extra sheets could be found anywhere. We didn't see a single ladybug until our last day there when it warmed up. There were ALOT of them! They fly away when the sun goes down. I don't think the owner can do much about them - just something you have to live with if you want to enjoy a beautiful view in a quiet place. Best time to go is during cooler Fall months. I don't think they like cooler weather. The other cabins are within view, but we still felt that we had privacy. We will never see those people again anyway! Note to owner - pls put curtains on upstairs bedroom window. My husband said the outside lights from the upper cabin came in through the window and he had to stack pillows up to keep the light out of his face @ night. Also, there a very few instructions as to how things work. The owner left a hand written note w/instructions for lights/fans. However, I noted from the journals that alot of visitors had trouble figuring out the hot tub radio and the satellite TV. The owner needs to include all instructions in a notebook for guests. All in all, despite a few annoyances, we are glad we had time there to unwind and enjoy the vew. It was so peaceful....

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houstongal43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Can't say we enjoyed our stay at Rustic Cabins "Mt. Laurel" cabin especially after being locked out & left in the dark for several hours because we were given the wrong key. We should have at least been given a follow up courtesy call apologizing for our inconvenience......The cabin is very much over priced and needs lots of TLC....the entry screen door has trim sticking out on the bottom and I scraped my foot on it (could have been a nasty cut)....something had exploded in the fridge freezer left from previous guest (wasn't clean)....the charcoal bbq grills were full of old coals and really unuseable...the gas grill's burner is bad...and we never did find that porch swing or telephone as advertised. don't expect a return visit or a recommendation from us...I sent this note to the owner but did not receive a reply.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gypsyroseboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Sunset View, and yes, there was a gorgeous view of the sunset but that's the only positive thing I can say. First of all, in the description it says that the cabin is private and not in a subdivision with cabins all around it. Once we finally made it up that AWFUL driveway, we were extremely disappointed to see several cabins around ours. With a cabin directly across the way from us, having the hot tub on the front deck for everyone to see was not our idea of a romantic getaway. Not that we even WANTED to go in the hot tub once we took off the cover. It was a weird green color - no telling how long between cleanings. The on-line description also emphasizes the cleanliness. HA - we found numerous dirty dishes and silverware, the counters were clearly dirty, but worst of all, the bathroom was just disgusting. I contemplating using the outside shower rather than stepping in the shower in the bathroom. The towels were musty smelling and there was not even any hand soap. The instructions asked that we wipe down and vaccum the entire cabin before leaving. Why the heck are we paying all this money if we have to do all the cleaning? Clearly the people before us left it unclean - it is up the proprietor to ensure cleanliness before each guest. The proprietor may also benefit from sort of class in decorating. There was not one picture, vase, piece of pottery or other such item that may have dramatically improved the sparse and gloomy ambience. The furniture was a joke - it looked (and felt) like the couches had been pulled off of someones porch. Thank goodness we only stayed 2 nights - we would not have been able to tolerate this place more than that. And i'm STILL cleaning mud off my tires from that steep dirt/mud ravine they call a driveway.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichmondChihuahua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
1.2 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
984 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#2 of 9 in Luray
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
1.2 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
6.2 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rustic Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rustic Cabins

Property: Rustic Cabins
Address: 903 E Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1619
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Rustic Cabins Hotel Luray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing